Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Sizzix Big Shot Pro Machine Quilting Edition
 from South Carolina,  Mar 21, 2013

Nice, heavy machine, needs designated space. Wheel is easy to crank. I like that the Sizzix machine also accepts Accuquilt dies.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous product!
 from Orem, Utah,  Jan 14, 2015

This is an excellent, sturdily-built piece of equipment. It is heavy, weighing about 44 pounds and needs a sturdy, dedicated space to live on in your craft or sewing room. (It does have cutouts for handle to use when you need to move it...but it is heavy!). My review is targeted to the use of this machine for cutting fabric pieces (although it will cut paper, thin balsa wood, aluminum cans, etc. with ease). It works with both the Sizzix quilting dies and the Accuquilt Go! dies, along with all sorts of Sizzix papercrafting dies (some accessories may be required to use thinner dies and the Accuquilt dies). It cuts perfect quilting shapes of fabric up to 8 layers thick. The quilting dies allow for a 1/4" seam allowance. It takes very little effort to crank the die through the machine. It can be very confusing as to which version of the Big Shot PRO to purchase. Know that the quilting edition is the same exact machine as the regular Big Shot PRO - the difference with the quilting edition is that it comes with an longer or "extended" cutting "tray" in order to use the the 25" long dies. For cutting long strips (length of fabric), and 8 layers x multiples of common quilt patches, the 25" long dies work great! The extended tray set-up is interchangeable with the standard tray set-up, though, so whichever you order, you can always get the other tray later. This is not a very portable machine to take to quilting club or class - if you are looking for something to transport or if you have very limited space, consider the Big Shot - it will handle many of the quilting dies and the 25" dies (but not the extra wide dies). The dies can be expensive....from $15 to $60 or more each, but these are handcrafted cutting dies and they cut with precision and should last for thousands of cuts. You cannot use the machine without purchasing the dies. Whenever you see that a die will fit the "Big Shot," know that it will also fit the Big Shot Pro. Another confusion is about the cutting mats. The mats are a must for the machine and they are a consumable item, so you want to order extra mats. The quilting version comes with the large, extended mats. I recommend purchasing a set or two of the standard mats to use with the majority of the quilting dies and perhaps the 25" slimmer mats for the strip dies. The cutting mats are an acrylic-like material that feed through the machine and provide the pressure for the die to cut the fabric. The die also cuts into the cutting mat (as it is designed to do) so the mats eventually wear out. I love this machine because it allows me to quickly cut precise pieces with the seam allowance. (I can never get precise cuts using my rotary cutter). I can cut out 8 layers of a quilt piece in a few seconds!! There is very little waste if you plan the placement of your fabric. It was a bit pricey and was a luxury item for me as I am a casual quilter. The value compared to the costwould more likely be fully realized by someone who creates quilt kits to sell, is a highly prolific piecer, or who has physical limitations that do not allow for the use of scissors or rotary cutting. I am happy with my purchase though and recommend it to fellow quilters.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The ultimate in cutters
 from Central Florida,  Aug 19, 2013

Overstock had the best price on this tool for my scrapbooking. I had priced it for months and finally went with overstock because they had the best price and FREE shipment. This tool is the one that every serious papercrafter needs...and wants. It is not mobile when cutting and the crank turns like a dream. And that is important to someone who has a touch of arthritis in the shoulders. One great feature is that you can cut multiples of dies at the same time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Feels like butter!!
 from Arizona,  Feb 8, 2014

I am a scrapbooker and a quilter. I chose this machine because it would run the accuquilt dies and the sizzix dies through it. (it will also run the smaller Quickutz dies but this machine is a beast!!) This machine is wonderful!! I have a little Big shot, and you can really feel it as you bulk things up it. The Big shot PRO - no. I put my fabric/paper on there and sometimes have to add shimmys because of the different manufacturers, and it still EASILY runs through the machine. The handle turning part is easy. I do not have to really pull on it like the little machine. Wow! I love this machine. I will warn you - IT IS HUGE!! Really research if you need the extra length the quilting version gives you. I may have been happy with the Big shot pro alone. This one adds extra length for longer quilting dies. Do your research and make sure that you are going to be using the longer dies before you get this one. Did I mention HUGE? I ordered some quilting dies from Accuquilt and I haven't needed the extra length yet. But this machine is so nice, I am happy happy happy with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This big shot pro is awesome!!!
 from MO,  Dec 25, 2013

This big shot pro is just what I was wanting it to be. I great product!!! I'm super excited to use it and it's a wonderful product. Is recommend this to anyone that sews, scraps, or quilts! The price was the best I found anywhere!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A+ so happy
 from sacramento, ca,  Sep 10, 2013

im very happy with overstock. it only took 6 days to get to me. thats fast. the box was super heavy, they did a great job cushioning the product. the only negative thing i have to say, is everything smelt sorta musty. im thinking the warehouse maybe has a musty smell to it. but i was extremly happy with overstocks customer service. they helped me alot. even gave me a credit. i cant be more thrilled. and of course i will be buying from them again. thanks so much overstock

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I have another cutter (FF) that I thought was the best until I purchased this one. The Big Shot Pro is as smooth a cutter as it gets. I use to cut fabric mostly and it takes the bulk of fabric with easy. It does take more room than another cutter that may fold up, but it is worth the space. The price at Overstock was by far the best I've seen anywhere on-line, too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I can not use this product with the dies I have ordered because it is missing the Adapter Pad. I shows that it comes with one in the book but I did not received one.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My New Best Friend in my Quilting Studio
 from Illinois,  Dec 6, 2014

I've been making quilts for almost twenty years and have been hesitant about purchasing a die-cutting machine. After much research, I decided on the Sizzix Big Shot Pro Machine Quilting Edition because of the flexibility of being able to use other manufacturers' dies and it would also meet my needs/purposes. I purchased this from Overstock because it had the best price and service. I did have problems with the first unit received, may have been a defect, but I contacted Overstock and they sent a replacement and I returned the unit with no problem. I am absolutely in love with my Big Shot and I have only begun using it. The pieces I have cut so far have been perfect and I can see a difference.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awsome item
 from sparks md,  Feb 4, 2014

Product is awsome, but 2 pieces were missing. I contacted customer service and they shipped out replacement, still not right.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
happy
 from Houston, Texas,  Nov 27, 2012

Great so flag I purchased sizzix. Instruction book stated folding tool was included but it was not. Sizzix needs to redo booklet .

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellant cutter, totally satisfied
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought