For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Amazing Machine
 from Fort Myers, FL,  Sep 2, 2014

This is product is one good sewing machine. Cant beat the price. Love it

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
solid machine
 from Corryton, TN,  Aug 21, 2014

I had a Singer for 30 years. It finally died. I bought a Bernina that was terrible. I was so spoiled with the drop in bobbin and ease of switching attachments. I have a textile fabrication business that I run out of my home and I sew 10-16 hours a day. This machine has kept up for a year so far and it sews upholstery fabric and lightweight fabric beautifully. I can't use an industrial machine because I put in invisible zippers in all of my products. The adjustable needle placement is the bomb. It enables me to get very close to the zipper teeth with a regular zipper foot. The only negative I have is the paint chips off the machine easily. It's ugly but boy does it work. NOTE: I take it apart and clean and oil it about every two weeks--that may be the secret.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer sewing machine
 from Arizona,  Jul 30, 2014

not sure why it's called "commercial grade heavy duty" as it still is difficult to repair jeans, however it did allow me to replace a jeans zipper.. Light is not bright enough or situated well enough, as with all sewing machines, I have to put a lamp right on my work in order to see adequately.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
this is NOT heavy duty
 from dryden mich,  Jun 24, 2014

NOT heavy duty at all, I got one and was very diasappointed but not from Overstock. It's just a lousy marketing ploy. Plastic everything, breaks if you even try anything rather than thin cottons etc. FYI other than that I love O.com, they just didn't know. Just do regular non heavy sewing, even then, there are much better machines out there. Buy an oldie but goodie from the 70's or older for the money, other than than a GOOD new one? expect to pay over $XXX. cheap=junk used from a reputable shop is best if your low on dough

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality sewing machine
 from Baltimore, MD,  May 22, 2014

I bought one of these sewing machines for my son and he gave it such great reviews that I bought one for myself a few months later. I absolutely love it. You feel the quality when you pick it up, and love the ease of use!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to use for first time sewers
 from Huntington Beach, CA,  Apr 6, 2014

So satisfied with my Singer sewing machine. Easy to use..yet durable. Fast delivery service too!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, but not Commercial i
 from Long Beach, Ca,  Mar 5, 2014

Although this seems to have a bigger motor than the machines I have for quilting use, we have struggled to use it to mend sails. Really heavy thread does not work in it. After filling bobbins, it does not want to go back into "gear" easily so that you can start sewing. Frequently have to play with it for several minutes before the wheel turns properly again. I might recommend it for denim, but not for sails or leather.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOT commercial heavy duty.
 from Las Vegas,  Jan 24, 2014

This is definitely not a heavy duty commercial grade machine. This is a light weight in every aspect. I returned my purchase and bought a ***.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Work Horse
 from Rockport Texas,  Dec 5, 2013

This machine is a fast work horse that I am using for sail repair. It breezes through several layers of sail cloth with ease. Also love the speed and the simplicity. Have yet to experience any jams. This was well worth the purchase. The only con is the very dim built in light. I have to aim a bright light at the sewing area. The auto needle threader does not work as well as it does on my Singer 9960. Have to work with it to get it through the needle.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love!
 from Newark, DE,  Nov 10, 2013

I got this machine intending to make home decor items, but found myself making a costume and this machine is a dream. The manual is clear and the machine is easy to adjust. The machine is powerful--I don't have to do anything other than lightly guide the position of the fabric. I recommend this highly.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this machine
 from Brookfield, VT,  Oct 28, 2013

I do a large amount of sewing in the fall so I need a machine that will hold up. I spent about a week doing online research and even checked with a local alterations shop before deciding to purchase the Singer CG590. I got my machine 3 weeks ago and have spent 5 to 8 hours a day sewing, I LOVE this machine, it lives up to being heavy duty. The needle glides through the heavy material, and not having to adjust the thread tension is great feature when transitioning between material thickness. Easy to thread and operate.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The sweing machine stitches very well. I love it.
 from Omaha, NE.,  Oct 17, 2013

I just have to get use to the snap on foot. It is a little difficult to snap back on once I have taken one off.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This sewing machine is easy to use.
 from Michigan,  Sep 25, 2013

Very lightwieght and runs quietly. It is much lighter than my older model. The only problem I have had is the lightbulb was broken in shipping.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what I wanted at the best price
 from Central valley, CA,  Jul 18, 2013

I have used singer for years and trust the quality, but it was time to upgrade my old machine. I am not disappointed in this purchase, it is exactly what I want and expected at the best price I could find anywhere else. This was my first O purchase and I was surprised at the fast shipping and superior customer service!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous find!
 from Round Rock, TX,  Jul 17, 2013

I've been sewing for years and am so excited to have found this machine at this price. It stitches like a dream and functions flawlessly at high speeds. The only issue I have found is in regard to the instruction book. It doesn't have a detailed instruction manual like my other machines, which is why I would not recommend this as anyone's first sewing machine, but if you are familiar with sewing you will be fine. I like mine so much that I just purchased a second so I can keep one home and one in my shop. Well worth the price.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This sewing machine has done a great job.
 from Fort Walton Beach, Fl,  Jun 4, 2013

This heavy duty sewing machine does the job that it is need for and i am very satisfied with what it is capable of doing.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer CG590
 from New York,  Apr 3, 2013

This machine clogs constantly. I have had to replace the bobbin case which is made out of plastic. The bobbin holder does not sit correctly and keeps moving, then breaks off a piece of the plastic bobbin holder, which snags the thread and it clogs. I have written singer and sent two emails requesting a return with no response. I have been sewing for 30 years and thought I was upgrading machines. After ten months of trying to coax this machine into performing, I am giving up It is NOT worth the aggravation. I am so frustrated, I will be returning this machine.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? looks the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? the site's definition was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
completely happy!
 from Santa Fe NM,  Mar 21, 2013

Completly happy and the delivery turned out very quick!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exceeded all my expectations!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer machine
 from Cave Creek, Arizona,  Feb 27, 2013

Easy to use and very heavy duty use along with everyday use. Thanks

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Sewing Machine
 from Stafford, VA,  Feb 25, 2013

I'm using the machine primarily to quilt. It does a wonderful job and I've completed two quilts already!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top