Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Singer CG590
 from New York,  Apr 3, 2013

This machine clogs constantly. I have had to replace the bobbin case which is made out of plastic. The bobbin holder does not sit correctly and keeps moving, then breaks off a piece of the plastic bobbin holder, which snags the thread and it clogs. I have written singer and sent two emails requesting a return with no response. I have been sewing for 30 years and thought I was upgrading machines. After ten months of trying to coax this machine into performing, I am giving up It is NOT worth the aggravation. I am so frustrated, I will be returning this machine.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? looks the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? the site's definition was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
VERY NICE
 from Columbus, Ohio,  Dec 27, 2012

This machine sews well, easy to use, heavy so it stays put...The only down part is that it is difficult to thread and the instructions are not clear.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good Quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer CG590
 from Pa.,  Dec 17, 2012

I so happy when it arrved, but very disappointed when I unpacked the machine to start sewing. The needle was out of place and kept hitting the plate on the buttom. I called singer to make sure I was not doing something wrong and they said no that it was the alignment, the alignment was way off. Told me to send it back and I did.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? As shown
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, but not Commercial i
 from Long Beach, Ca,  Mar 5, 2014

Although this seems to have a bigger motor than the machines I have for quilting use, we have struggled to use it to mend sails. Really heavy thread does not work in it. After filling bobbins, it does not want to go back into "gear" easily so that you can start sewing. Frequently have to play with it for several minutes before the wheel turns properly again. I might recommend it for denim, but not for sails or leather.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what I wanted at the best price
 from Central valley, CA,  Jul 18, 2013

I have used singer for years and trust the quality, but it was time to upgrade my old machine. I am not disappointed in this purchase, it is exactly what I want and expected at the best price I could find anywhere else. This was my first O purchase and I was surprised at the fast shipping and superior customer service!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous find!
 from Round Rock, TX,  Jul 17, 2013

I've been sewing for years and am so excited to have found this machine at this price. It stitches like a dream and functions flawlessly at high speeds. The only issue I have found is in regard to the instruction book. It doesn't have a detailed instruction manual like my other machines, which is why I would not recommend this as anyone's first sewing machine, but if you are familiar with sewing you will be fine. I like mine so much that I just purchased a second so I can keep one home and one in my shop. Well worth the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer machine
 from Cave Creek, Arizona,  Feb 27, 2013

Easy to use and very heavy duty use along with everyday use. Thanks

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Sewing Machine
 from Stafford, VA,  Feb 25, 2013

I'm using the machine primarily to quilt. It does a wonderful job and I've completed two quilts already!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sewing machine
 from MD,  Nov 14, 2014

The operations of this machine aren't as smooth as I hoped. It is sturdy and excellent for taking to sewing classes, road trips etc. In other words it can handle a beating from traveling in a car.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOT commercial heavy duty.
 from Las Vegas,  Jan 24, 2014

This is definitely not a heavy duty commercial grade machine. This is a light weight in every aspect. I returned my purchase and bought a ***.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This sewing machine has done a great job.
 from Fort Walton Beach, Fl,  Jun 4, 2013

This heavy duty sewing machine does the job that it is need for and i am very satisfied with what it is capable of doing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sewing Machine
 from Colorado Springs,CO,  Feb 12, 2013

I was disappointed that there were no attachments with the machine, and trying to find them at the local store is not always available. After I had taken the machine out of the packing and used it for a while, I noticed that the arm cover was cracked on the back side and I probably would not have found it if some material had not gotten caught in the crack and pulled some threads of the material. Threader does not work so it is useless, otherwise I like the machine.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description of the machine was accurate as stated in the write up.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
solid machine
 from Corryton, TN,  Aug 21, 2014

I had a Singer for 30 years. It finally died. I bought a Bernina that was terrible. I was so spoiled with the drop in bobbin and ease of switching attachments. I have a textile fabrication business that I run out of my home and I sew 10-16 hours a day. This machine has kept up for a year so far and it sews upholstery fabric and lightweight fabric beautifully. I can't use an industrial machine because I put in invisible zippers in all of my products. The adjustable needle placement is the bomb. It enables me to get very close to the zipper teeth with a regular zipper foot. The only negative I have is the paint chips off the machine easily. It's ugly but boy does it work. NOTE: I take it apart and clean and oil it about every two weeks--that may be the secret.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer sewing machine
 from Arizona,  Jul 30, 2014

not sure why it's called "commercial grade heavy duty" as it still is difficult to repair jeans, however it did allow me to replace a jeans zipper.. Light is not bright enough or situated well enough, as with all sewing machines, I have to put a lamp right on my work in order to see adequately.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Work Horse
 from Rockport Texas,  Dec 5, 2013

This machine is a fast work horse that I am using for sail repair. It breezes through several layers of sail cloth with ease. Also love the speed and the simplicity. Have yet to experience any jams. This was well worth the purchase. The only con is the very dim built in light. I have to aim a bright light at the sewing area. The auto needle threader does not work as well as it does on my Singer 9960. Have to work with it to get it through the needle.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great right from the box
 from Tacoma,Washington,  Dec 17, 2014

My sewing machine of 25 yrs quit.replaced with a $**** machine that was way beyond what I wanted or needed..This is not my previous machine but no one should worry about buying this machine...easy to use....has every stitch the average sewer will use with stitch positioning...very nice machine.....I sew between 400 and 500 scrub tops a year and this really does sew 1100 stitches a minute,,,,I am happy

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tough Machine
 from Springfield, OR,  Oct 31, 2014

Excellent alternative to super expensive leather sewing machines. Using for up to 3 layers with very little problem.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine!
 from Texas,  Oct 22, 2014

Very easy to use right out of the box, just unpack and start sewing. (especially if you are familiar with Singers.) I would have been happy with just a straight stitch, but it has easy to use decorative stitches as well. Great machine for the price! Thank you Singer and Overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lived up to expectations
 from Kansas City, KS,  Oct 2, 2014

This machine has lived up to the expectations that I had for it. Even though it is primarily for household use, it does have the commercial grade capability as advertised.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing Machine
 from Fort Myers, FL,  Sep 2, 2014

This is product is one good sewing machine. Cant beat the price. Love it

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought