Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
For emergency repairs only
 from San Diego, CA,  Dec 15, 2009

This tool basically consists of a hollow needle which pushes a T shaped plastic fastener through the hole it punches. Since the needle is rather big and the plastic fastener small this won't last long and depending on the fabric will leave an unsightly hole. There are plenty of fasteners and buttons included in the package, but the buttons look VERY cheap. You can use the tool with store bought shank buttons which at least would make them look nice- still not very sturdy though.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Need darker fasteners
 from Michigan,  May 1, 2011

It works. But, I used it on a pair of black pants ans the white plastic is definitely unsightly. There should be dark and light plastic fasteners.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Waste of Money
 from Shiloh, IL,  Mar 27, 2011

I just purchased this product and I am extremely disappointed in Singer for putting their name on this. I had a buttoneer years ago that was fantastic. The attachments were stronger and the hand-held machine was very simple to work. I just wasted two fastners because they broke trying to use this machine they are very cheaply made. They need to be the strength of the fastners on tags in the stores. I rarely return things I am not happy with; but I will return this as I am very very disappointed in Singer. What happened don't you have any pride and want to maintain your reputation.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not worth it
 from Illinois,  Jan 21, 2011

I am an avid seamstress. I have made anything from basic everyday child clothes to prom dresses to quilts. This item appears to be great but it truly isn't all that practical. There are buttons that this needle will not fit through the opening. It's also bulky. I would recommend having a small emergency sewing kit. You have a few needles, tiny pair of scissors, thread...plus it takes up less space then this item. I certainly wouldn't recommend using this on silk. I used this against my better judgment as it is what my sister had with her and it ruined her blouse.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bad buy
 from North Carolina,  Mar 4, 2010

Cheap. Poorly built. Hard to use. Can't get re-fills. Not worth ordering. Hand sewing of buttons works best.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Piece of Garbage
 from atlanta, ga,  Aug 15, 2013

piece of garbage, dont buy. Came with these plastic ties supposed to act as thread, not good quality, waste of $.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as simple as they lead you to believe.
 from North Carolina,  Jun 28, 2013

I thought by what I read that this would be simple to use, but it's not. I bought 4 thinking this would be something to travel with and keep handy for emergencies. It's more trouble than it's worth.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? image was correct, but it was still a pain to use and I never did get it to work.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not at all what I was hoping it would do. It's just as easy to hand sew on a button.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sewing kit as shown
 from Asheboro, NC,  Nov 29, 2011

The product was received in good share and appeared as advertised.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? as shown
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quailty
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very useful kit but better instructions needed
 from Center Valley, PA,  Jul 3, 2013

I figured out how to use this product and now have full functionality with it. Please consider a you tube clip that covers its usage for those using for the first time. If we can see how the threads are loaded it would be more helpful than the very small print you currently provide.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Reasonably close
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality product
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Learn to sew the old fashioned way
 from Ohio,  May 28, 2013

The Singer Button Magic Easy wasn't easy and certainlt wasn't magic. The quality is poor, the product doesn't work and the instructions were worthless.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was accurate but who cares
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? well the product didn't work
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it was junk
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Useless
 from Pottstown, PA,  Jan 18, 2013

I used to trust the Singer name but this is the second device to let me down. The needle was bent and no answer on the customer service #. Earlier this year I bought the hand held mender that is supposed to make a chain stitch and it too was useless. I am out almost $30 but Singer is out a former customer of 50+ years.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Bought in store
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? N/a
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Useless to me needle was broken upon opening box
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer No-Sew Repair Kit
 from St. Louis, MO,  Jan 15, 2013

I do not like this product! Very difficult to load (stuck myself in the finger with the needle when attempting to load plastic threader)! And very hard to get needle and threader thru cotton fabric material.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This product actually was sold?
 from Fort Worth, TX,  Dec 5, 2012

I was looking for a quick way to fix buttons. This is not the tool. I could not even load this tool. I am not the smartest guy but am usually pretty handy. By the time I get a button loaded on this tool, I coudl have hand sewn four of them. What a waste of money! No wonder they sent me two of them. I would be looking to dump them also.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Not detailed enough.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Impossible to use.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer Button Magic easy no-sew repair kit
 from Connersville IN,  Nov 14, 2012

A+ .

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not So Easy No-sew Repair Kit
 from Virginia,  Apr 17, 2012

It wasn't very easy to manipulate the tabs into the device. Not only that, but it was difficult to find the right clasp to hook the button to an outfit. It took less time to hand sew than it did to use this product. Luckily it wasn't expensive, but it was still a waste of money.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not a good product
 from FL,  Feb 29, 2012

Being a male, I bought this product hoping to be able to sew on lost buttons on pants. I was wrong. This product is hard to put together, instructions are hard to understand, and when I did get it working, it broke the first time. Do what I did, watch an online video on sewing (not hard and easy once you get the hang of it. I was able to sew 2 buttons back on in the same time it took to figure this thing out.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fair
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Cheap
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't buy the Button Magic
 from Provo UT,  Feb 21, 2012

The wife and I love Overstock. This is the first time we've been disappointed in 12 years. Saw this thing in the stores for 17 bucks, and O.com had it for 9 (12 with shipping). Singer's name was on it, so seemed like a reasonable gamble. This thing is so shoddily designed that I couldn't get it to work after ruining 5 of the cheap plastic attachers that are so soft they wouldn't hold a button on anyway. Bummer. Oh well, I'm only out 12 bucks. Back to the needle and thread. I just hope O.com will stop selling these and sullying their good reputation.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looks O.K.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Sounds Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Doesn't work even a little.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Piece of Trash
 from Easton, MD,  Dec 4, 2011

This tool might be alright for attaching small buttons for arts and craft projects, but no way can it be used for everyday clothing. The flimsy fasteners can't handle the stress. In the time it took me to attach several fasteners to one button on a pair of shorts, I could have hand-sewn four buttons, and with less problems. If the fasteners were not lined up exactly, the tool destroyed them in the attachment process. Just a tiny tug at the newly "attached" button and the fasteners broke loose. I tried again, but after sticking my fingers, I got fed up and my Button Magic now sits in the trash can waiting for the next pick up.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's garbage.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
button machine
 Jan 1, 2010

machine impossible to work, a piece of junk, worhless not recommended for anyone

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BACHELOR TOOL
 from SCOTTSDALE,AZ,  Aug 21, 2009

GAVE IT TO MY BACHELOR SON THAT HE MAY PUT HIS OWN BUTTONS BACK ON HIS SHIRTS AND NOT HAVE TO BRING THEM TO MOM. HE WAS THRILLED WITH IT!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Singer Stitch Sew Quick
Today $18.99
Compare $28.60
Save 34%
(34)
Micro Stitch Starter Kit
Today $22.99
Compare $24.10
Save 5%
(15)
Back to top