Your coupon has been activated.
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Singer Professional 5 Serger
 from Anchorage, AK,  Jul 7, 2012

I got the serger home first thing i did is printed out the PDF file instructions put them all in a binder and started testing out the machine. In front of the Machine A thru K took me a minute to figure out that the colored dots are the ones you need to thread an you need the PDF manual that tells you were to set your Seam width, spreader, that’s simple.... flatlock the reason i got this serger that’s more complicated... took me a long time to figure it out wish there was better instructions, its got real pictures but you really cant see what they talking about wish they like circled it or something. Upper looper lower loop??? ( Flatlock Tread the blue top, green bottom, red bottom.) What confused me is for the green it says upper looper engaged and threaded… the upper is what confused me it took me a while but once I figured it out its easy simple… The green can be treaded thru the bottom or the top. Changing from the cutter or straight plate is hard to snap off I feel like im going to break it, hope it smoothes out with time and get easier to take off or im taking it off wrong… it defiantly takes time i went thru all the You tube demos and HSN videos Singer site videos ... but once you get the stitch to work its awesome... i got the rolled hem, and took a hour to figure out the flatlock and then forgot how to do the rolled hem need better notes for self.. but over all once you get passed figuring it out ... you will be happy with it... but if you don’t have time to sit with it, or don’t like to mess with stuff, I wouldn’t recommend it. I have lots of patients and even i got frustrated a few times... its very complicated but once you figure it out its easy…does lots i haven’t even tested the other feet. But with time im sure it will come easy.,,,

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Product looked exactly as the picture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate to the T
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Serger itself is awesome, built to last but I only had it for a couple weeks
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer Professional 5 Serger
 from Utah,  Feb 15, 2013

I total love my new serger. I love the Cover Stitch capabilities! It was not hard to figure out or thread, I studied it step by step, took notes and made samples of each stitch. Take time to learn about the machine and its capabilities before diving into a sewing project. The step by step book is very helpful. I don't think you need professional classes to figure it out, but you definitely need to do learn about the different techniques first.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Good Tool
 from Oregon,  Jan 4, 2013

This is my second serger. It helped to already be familiar with sergers. As other reviewers said, the threading required practice and careful reading of the manual. As complicated as this machine is, I think the manual was fairly well written. I had a few questions at first and thought I was going to have to call their customer service number, but as I worked on threading the machine for different stitches and trying them out, I figured out pretty much all I needed to know. It's a great machine. The chain stitch makes fitting garments much easier since you can just pull a thread to remove an entire seam. I'm looking forward to using the cover hem on knit garments. I will still use my older serger for regular serging -- that will save me from having to re-thread the new one so much. It will mean buying a few more cones of thread but I can handle that.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It!
 from DFW Texas,  Apr 21, 2012

I love this machine. The manual is a must and needs to be read through several times before tackling this monster machine. I traded up from a 1970's Bernette and thought I knew what I was doing. There are settings that involve the transmission and the blade that were new to me and I am so happy with how many new options I have with this awesome machine. My Mother came to my house and tried it and ordered herself one that same day. My aunt is a Viking/Huskvana dealer and she was impressed with the singer machine and the price. It's equivilant viking is over$2000. Buy it, you will love it!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I don't know how I lived without this!
 from Minnesota,  Sep 10, 2012

Excellent machine, but be aware that it does take time to get setup and threaded correctly for it to work. If anything is misthreaded, it will not sew properly. That said, I have enjoyed this machine and the professional finishes that it gives to the garments that I create. It saves so much time too (after it's setup!). I'm not sure how I lived without having a serger like this in my sewing shop!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
IT'S A GREAT SERGER
 from Sunny California,  Dec 4, 2013

It's a great serger but it did take awhile to figure out the threading. So, I'll give you several suggestions, 1) paint the metal the color of the dots where you thread through 2) Read the manual and go to Singer.com and look at the support section, there you will find "frequently asked questions" there you will find a color schematic on how to thread. 3) There are TWO levers inside the machine that will help you thread the red and the brown looper, the brown lever (it's silver and it has a half round at the end, I call it the brown lever since it threads the looper designated with a brown path. is almost directly behind the plastic that faces you when the serger door is opened, the one that controls the threading for the red looper is easier to find. That is the worse there is, it's finding those levers, now that you know, it will be easy to find and easy to thread. This machine has better lighting than the Singer stylist but the tweezers that comes with it may have an issue since it hasn't the smooth finish and you'll know it's a problem if you try to thread the needle and it catches on the tweezer, I just got myself a better tweezer and it made a world of difference. IT DOES NOT COME WITH FIVE CONES OF THREAD!!!! It has a small thread card and the machine is set up in a coverstitch configuration. Study it, Use the tie thread method the first times you want to use the machine, I suggest you use the same color thread as the color of the dots. Five colors: Orange, blue, green, red and brown, I think. I also labeled all the parts and I also labeled the order that you thread the machine, Note there's two orders of threading. 1) for coverstitch, the other for overstitch. It doesn't have a free arm, that's why I got a Singer stylist too, it does have a free arm but the lighting isn't as good on that machine as the Pro 5. If you are new to serging and don't want alot of headaches with threading you might want to get the Singer stylist, it has a GREAT CD on threading, . The pro 5 comes with a CD but it's a workbook not a video on how to thread. I think Singer would not have so many complaints on this machine had they included a how to thread CD with it. I trained on a Baby lock serger and the stitches on both this Singer and the Baby lock are comparable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this machine!
 from Denver, CO,  Jan 31, 2013

I got it threaded right away without any problems. It's a bit tricky, but if you follow the manual it will be just fine. Changing to Coverstitch works great too. Sometimes you have to play with the auto-tensions though, depending on the fabric you are using. I always test on a scrap piece of Fabric before actually serging the piece I am working on.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great Serger/Coverstitch machine compared to more expensive models
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer 14T968DC Serger
 from Clyde NY,  Oct 9, 2012

I was a little bit worried about buying the machine, with a couple of the reviews written that were bad. So, I don't always go by reviews. I took a chance and bought it, and I love it. I want this machine because of the cover stitch and chain stitch that it does. I was really impressed with the stitching, I was a little worried about the threading, because of one of the reviews. Had a little trouble at first, and it was because all the threads have to be thread like it tells you in the book, if you break a thread, then re-thread the whole machine, for no problems. I really love this machine and I really enjoy working on it. It runs beautiful, will write another review, when I have owned it a little longer, and use all the different stitches that it does. So far it is excellent.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as the Photo.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent price for the product.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is a home machine. I wouldn't call it 'professional'. Even so, it's capable at what it does. Threads easily enough, works well enough. Threading isn't hard, once you figure it out. Comes with a CD with fairly detailed instructions on how to set up each of the various stitches. The additional presser feet are a nice addition. Auto tension works fine. There are some points of design that I found lacking: *Lighting isn't very good. I added a sewing machine light to it. You almost need a flashlight for threading some parts of it. *The tray that holds the thread cones is a little low-and in the way. Getting your hand on the 'fed' side of the fabric isn't as easy as it should be. I bang into that tray all the time. *The telescoping thread guide (wire thing that raises up above the thread cones) is kind of spindly and fragile. *No on board storage / storage is lacking. It comes with a little box for the small pieces, but there's still presser feet and the cutter cover and cover stitch covers that are loose. Two largish chunks of plastic that need to fit into the sewing box. *The scrap bin doesn't attach. The little tray that catches cuttings just slips under the front. If you pick up the machine, that tray stays behind. *Tension adjusters move too easily. There are some levers for fine tuning tension, and they move if you brush against them (which messes up the auto tension settings). *Cutter cover and cover stitch cover snap in place. You have to slide one off and the other on to change over. They feel like they'll be the parts that break first. *Cover stitch cover isn't flat. This is the surface to the right of the needles. There's a small raise in it (because the upper looper doesn't retract enough). That means that your fabric goes up over a bump on the right side, about parallel to the needles. A little disconcerting. *Presser foot lift lever isn't convenient. You flip it down to raise the foot, and up to drop the foot. It's between the back of the overarm and the thread . Getting used to it though. Even with the above 'issues', I'm happy enough with the machine. It's relatively inexpensive for all the things it can do. Overlock stitches are all functional and work well. Cover stitches are great. It's two machines in one. Changing over from one mode to the other takes a few minutes, so planning out your sewing in advance is helpful. And, it seems like it's of reasonable quality. I don't know what a 25 year warranty means for it. 90 days parts and labor looks like the reality of it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pro serger
 from Ripley, MS,  Jul 9, 2013

Just love the machine, such a good value. Now my sister wants one.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does Everything
 from WV,  Jun 11, 2013

Wanted this for the longest but it is not the easiest machine to learn. Does everything but setting it up for the different functions is difficult.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Fine. I knew it was what I wanted as soon as I saw it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK because it was rebuilt.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!
 from Virginia,  Jun 4, 2013

If you are looking for a serger, you cannot find a value like this anywhere else. You have 1-5 thread capability, with all stitches from tiny rolled hems to 5 thread super overlock AND you have a cover stitch which is easy to change over to. You won't need a cover stitch machine. Everything is color coded, so making the switch is easy. Threading is simple, with a color chart on the inside. The thread guides have color coding, and the tension modules are automatic with lay in threading.The book is clear and there is a CD with a workbook as well. By the time you follow along with the workbook, you will have mastered this machine. It will handle anything from organza to upholstery fabrics.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? very clear
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a very sturdy machine. It handles all fabrics well.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DO NOT BUY
 from HOPKINTON, MA,  Dec 17, 2011

I purchaed this machine. After 15 hours of trying to get the machine to work I encounter the following problems: right needle breaks/constantly skipping thread jams left needle fell off a flashlight is needed to thread the machine flimsy machine not conistant stiching - sometimes great - most of the time poor when I used a scrap piece of material worked great Then I inserted the the piece to sew and I ruined a piece of clothing that costs $50.00 !!!!! I just spend 2 weekends from 8-5 Satuday/Sunday trying to get the machine to work You will be sorry if you purchase this machine!!!! I have been sewing for years - this is a complicted machine that takes all your time with poor results!!!!!!!!!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? GREAT
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. POOR
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer Serger
 from san diego,  Dec 21, 2014

You really must read the direction on how to correctly set it up. Once you set it up its really easy to use. It's a work horse.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Serger for a great price
 from Arizona,  Nov 20, 2014

This is an amazing Serger! Download the user manual and go through all of the stitches before starting a project. Once you understand how to thread the machine it's pretty simple to go from one stitch to another. Keep a binder with the stitch directions & make sure to write down any minor adjustments for future reference.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent buy
 from Fort Myers, FL,  Sep 2, 2014

This machine is really good. Good bang for your money. Need time and patience to switch from one position to another one. But the professional finish is really good. You are going to love this machine...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine!
 from Holt, MO,  Mar 28, 2014

I absolutely love my new Singer Serger. It runs like a dream. There is a learning curve with all that it does, but with a little patience I was on my way. Can't wait to see all of the new things I can do with the many functions of this machine! I mainly use this for making gymnastics leotards so the serging feature is very important, but I can't wait to put the overstitch and seam lock options to use.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Serger ~ not so great illistrations
 from Sunny Central Oregon,  Jan 8, 2014

I have been using a Serger for years and love the results: This Serger is a great value for the price I paid, however Singer could improve their product in the following ways: This Serger has 3 lower loopers, the illustrations which you print out, are not very clear and could be greatly improved if each looper would be highlighted in the photo's. (As is, you can't see the details and understand which looper they are discussing). Also the 3 loopers need to be color coded, not just the threading guides(which are color coded). But the actual looper Self-Threaders should be colored RED, GREEN, and BROWN as they are in a very tight space. I had to watch YOUTUBE instruction video's over and over to figure out how to thread it correctly, as the Singer illustrations really are confusing. Also, the Knife Cover and Seam Guide Plate are pretty fragile plastic, (I broke the Knife Cover withing the first week of using it). (My previous Serger was a Singer also and it was easier to thread and understand the manual.) I use my Serger daily and love it, these are just some things which would help to improve it. If anyone is looking to purchase this product, I would say it a great deal, just plan on spending a week or two getting to understand it. It would ideal to have a professional help you through the first setup and explain how everything works. I am afraid some purchasers will give up and never get the opportunity to see what fun a Serger can be.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Price
 from Texas,  Dec 17, 2013

I am sure I will like this machine....I only wished I had waited to buy because the price went down by $xx.xx with the discount coupon and even though I have not opened the box and only got it last week, Overstock would not give me the difference. I could return it and pay return shipping, then reorder but that is a bit risky in case they do not give me a complete refund for some reason even thou it is not opened. I tried twice to chat with them about it and neither rep was helpful. I think they should honor the new price, and am willing to even take a reduction for the "return shipping" without returning it. It's still a $xx.xx difference. I hate it when companies make a "cyber" deal for a low price and then make the price even lower a week later. I WILL NOT BUY AGAIN NO MATTER HOW GOOD IT SEEMS...I WILL WAIT. This purchase was a want, not a need.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer serger
 from ny, ny,  Oct 15, 2013

this is an excellent product as to be expected from singer. arrived in a timely fashion. requires a bit of time to learn but once you do its quite easy to use. great price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought