Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 30 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Works like magic
 Jan 4, 2016

I've never owned or sewed on a serger before. I was warned not to get such a complicated machine. I absolutely love it. I took one entire day off and played with it. Threading trial stitching, pulling out the threads, rethreading stitching again. I tried many of the stitch options with no goal other than to familiarize myself with this intimidating-looking machine. And that worked for me. I am not afraid of it now. I just get excited when I have a project.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
To Whom Ever
 Dec 29, 2015

I give you 5 stars, no need to say any thing else

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent machine for the price
 Nov 8, 2015

Yes, it takes some practice to learn how to thread it. Make sure you learn where each looper is and what it does. The workbook on the included CD is essential. It makes a beautiful coverstitch, which was my main reason for purchasing. The only disadvantage is that it doesn't have a free-arm.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Investment for my Sewing Room
 Nov 4, 2015

This thing is a BEAST! it works great. Take time to look through the workbook provided on DVD and you'll be zipping through professional looking projects in no time! - would NOT suggest for a first time or novice user. Get your miles in on a 3/4 thread and then move up.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Might be a great serger for someone
 Aug 11, 2015

I am so sorry that I didn't get a chance to use this sooner. I am sure it would be fine for someone who has all the time in the world to constantly thread it but I don't have that luxury. This serger, while offering great stitch selections, is terrible when you want to change selections. Threading is cumbersome and instructions confusing. I have been sewing professionally almost 40 years and have owned many machines and this is by far the worst I have ever owned.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
happy w/ serger/coverstich combo
 Jul 27, 2015

I had bought the brother 1034 serger prior to this. I discovered I would use a coverstich more than just serging. I think the quality of the machine is nicer than the brother. It does not sound as harsh. It is difficult to thread compared to the sewing machine, but it is worth it to go to the website and print out the workbook. I think it sews well and glad I purchased it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
serger
 Apr 21, 2015

Maybe your eyes are better than my eyes,but be warned this machine is extremely difficult to thread and keep threaded.even though there are ways to help to th read it it is extremely picky about how you do it. Disappointed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, but not professional
 Jan 7, 2015

This is a home machine. I wouldn't call it 'professional'. Even so, it's capable at what it does. Threads easily enough, works well enough. Threading isn't hard, once you figure it out. Comes with a CD with fairly detailed instructions on how to set up each of the various stitches. The additional presser feet are a nice addition. Auto tension works fine. There are some points of design that I found lacking: *Lighting isn't very good. I added a sewing machine light to it. You almost need a flashlight for threading some parts of it. *The tray that holds the thread cones is a little low-and in the way. Getting your hand on the 'fed' side of the fabric isn't as easy as it should be. I bang into that tray all the time. *The telescoping thread guide (wire thing that raises up above the thread cones) is kind of spindly and fragile. *No on board storage / storage is lacking. It comes with a little box for the small pieces, but there's still presser feet and the cutter cover and cover stitch covers that are loose. Two largish chunks of plastic that need to fit into the sewing box. *The scrap bin doesn't attach. The little tray that catches cuttings just slips under the front. If you pick up the machine, that tray stays behind. *Tension adjusters move too easily. There are some levers for fine tuning tension, and they move if you brush against them (which messes up the auto tension settings). *Cutter cover and cover stitch cover snap in place. You have to slide one off and the other on to change over. They feel like they'll be the parts that break first. *Cover stitch cover isn't flat. This is the surface to the right of the needles. There's a small raise in it (because the upper looper doesn't retract enough). That means that your fabric goes up over a bump on the right side, about parallel to the needles. A little disconcerting. *Presser foot lift lever isn't convenient. You flip it down to raise the foot, and up to drop the foot. It's between the back of the overarm and the thread . Getting used to it though. Even with the above 'issues', I'm happy enough with the machine. It's relatively inexpensive for all the things it can do. Overlock stitches are all functional and work well. Cover stitches are great. It's two machines in one. Changing over from one mode to the other takes a few minutes, so planning out your sewing in advance is helpful. And, it seems like it's of reasonable quality. I don't know what a 25 year warranty means for it. 90 days parts and labor looks like the reality of it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer Serger
 from san diego,  Dec 21, 2014

You really must read the direction on how to correctly set it up. Once you set it up its really easy to use. It's a work horse.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Serger for a great price
 from Arizona,  Nov 20, 2014

This is an amazing Serger! Download the user manual and go through all of the stitches before starting a project. Once you understand how to thread the machine it's pretty simple to go from one stitch to another. Keep a binder with the stitch directions & make sure to write down any minor adjustments for future reference.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent buy
 from Fort Myers, FL,  Sep 2, 2014

This machine is really good. Good bang for your money. Need time and patience to switch from one position to another one. But the professional finish is really good. You are going to love this machine...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine!
 from Holt, MO,  Mar 28, 2014

I absolutely love my new Singer Serger. It runs like a dream. There is a learning curve with all that it does, but with a little patience I was on my way. Can't wait to see all of the new things I can do with the many functions of this machine! I mainly use this for making gymnastics leotards so the serging feature is very important, but I can't wait to put the overstitch and seam lock options to use.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Serger ~ not so great illistrations
 from Sunny Central Oregon,  Jan 8, 2014

I have been using a Serger for years and love the results: This Serger is a great value for the price I paid, however Singer could improve their product in the following ways: This Serger has 3 lower loopers, the illustrations which you print out, are not very clear and could be greatly improved if each looper would be highlighted in the photo's. (As is, you can't see the details and understand which looper they are discussing). Also the 3 loopers need to be color coded, not just the threading guides(which are color coded). But the actual looper Self-Threaders should be colored RED, GREEN, and BROWN as they are in a very tight space. I had to watch YOUTUBE instruction video's over and over to figure out how to thread it correctly, as the Singer illustrations really are confusing. Also, the Knife Cover and Seam Guide Plate are pretty fragile plastic, (I broke the Knife Cover withing the first week of using it). (My previous Serger was a Singer also and it was easier to thread and understand the manual.) I use my Serger daily and love it, these are just some things which would help to improve it. If anyone is looking to purchase this product, I would say it a great deal, just plan on spending a week or two getting to understand it. It would ideal to have a professional help you through the first setup and explain how everything works. I am afraid some purchasers will give up and never get the opportunity to see what fun a Serger can be.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Price
 from Texas,  Dec 17, 2013

I am sure I will like this machine....I only wished I had waited to buy because the price went down by $xx.xx with the discount coupon and even though I have not opened the box and only got it last week, Overstock would not give me the difference. I could return it and pay return shipping, then reorder but that is a bit risky in case they do not give me a complete refund for some reason even thou it is not opened. I tried twice to chat with them about it and neither rep was helpful. I think they should honor the new price, and am willing to even take a reduction for the "return shipping" without returning it. It's still a $xx.xx difference. I hate it when companies make a "cyber" deal for a low price and then make the price even lower a week later. I WILL NOT BUY AGAIN NO MATTER HOW GOOD IT SEEMS...I WILL WAIT. This purchase was a want, not a need.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
IT'S A GREAT SERGER
 from Sunny California,  Dec 4, 2013

It's a great serger but it did take awhile to figure out the threading. So, I'll give you several suggestions, 1) paint the metal the color of the dots where you thread through 2) Read the manual and go to Singer.com and look at the support section, there you will find "frequently asked questions" there you will find a color schematic on how to thread. 3) There are TWO levers inside the machine that will help you thread the red and the brown looper, the brown lever (it's silver and it has a half round at the end, I call it the brown lever since it threads the looper designated with a brown path. is almost directly behind the plastic that faces you when the serger door is opened, the one that controls the threading for the red looper is easier to find. That is the worse there is, it's finding those levers, now that you know, it will be easy to find and easy to thread. This machine has better lighting than the Singer stylist but the tweezers that comes with it may have an issue since it hasn't the smooth finish and you'll know it's a problem if you try to thread the needle and it catches on the tweezer, I just got myself a better tweezer and it made a world of difference. IT DOES NOT COME WITH FIVE CONES OF THREAD!!!! It has a small thread card and the machine is set up in a coverstitch configuration. Study it, Use the tie thread method the first times you want to use the machine, I suggest you use the same color thread as the color of the dots. Five colors: Orange, blue, green, red and brown, I think. I also labeled all the parts and I also labeled the order that you thread the machine, Note there's two orders of threading. 1) for coverstitch, the other for overstitch. It doesn't have a free arm, that's why I got a Singer stylist too, it does have a free arm but the lighting isn't as good on that machine as the Pro 5. If you are new to serging and don't want alot of headaches with threading you might want to get the Singer stylist, it has a GREAT CD on threading, . The pro 5 comes with a CD but it's a workbook not a video on how to thread. I think Singer would not have so many complaints on this machine had they included a how to thread CD with it. I trained on a Baby lock serger and the stitches on both this Singer and the Baby lock are comparable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Singer serger
 from ny, ny,  Oct 15, 2013

this is an excellent product as to be expected from singer. arrived in a timely fashion. requires a bit of time to learn but once you do its quite easy to use. great price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Serger
 from Rockford, Michigan,  Oct 13, 2013

I had a 4 thread serger but got this one for the cover stitch capability and the chain stitch it can do. I am a man, by the way, whose mother taught him to sew (thanks Mom!) when he was a young boy over 50 years ago. Never had a serger until recently. This serger is a bit more complicated to thread than the 4 thread serger I had. Not impossible, it just takes a few minutes to read the manual and make sure the threads are done in the correct order and are in the right place before stepping on the pedal. There are a lot of moving parts in there that have to be set up properly. I have not mis-threaded it yet. That said, it serges flawlessly and the auto tension settings seem to make things very easy when sewing. They can be adjusted if the stitch isn't balanced in the material you are using. Serging is a great way to finish fabric seam ends quickly and professionally, but you really ought to understand how the stitch works and what you are trying to do with it, then do test runs on scrap before working on a garment. Most negative reviews I have seen of this machine seem to point out the user has not threaded the machine properly. (They don't say that specifically, but the way they are written it is pretty clear.) Many say they have had sergers in the past with no problem, or it never worked right, etc. In most cases it's pretty obvious that the person wanted to just take off and go without any preparation. Overstock has a great price on these and it's pretty hard to get a 5 thread serger anywhere in this price range.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pro serger
 from Ripley, MS,  Jul 9, 2013

Just love the machine, such a good value. Now my sister wants one.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does Everything
 from WV,  Jun 11, 2013

Wanted this for the longest but it is not the easiest machine to learn. Does everything but setting it up for the different functions is difficult.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Fine. I knew it was what I wanted as soon as I saw it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK because it was rebuilt.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!
 from Virginia,  Jun 4, 2013

If you are looking for a serger, you cannot find a value like this anywhere else. You have 1-5 thread capability, with all stitches from tiny rolled hems to 5 thread super overlock AND you have a cover stitch which is easy to change over to. You won't need a cover stitch machine. Everything is color coded, so making the switch is easy. Threading is simple, with a color chart on the inside. The thread guides have color coding, and the tension modules are automatic with lay in threading.The book is clear and there is a CD with a workbook as well. By the time you follow along with the workbook, you will have mastered this machine. It will handle anything from organza to upholstery fabrics.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? very clear
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a very sturdy machine. It handles all fabrics well.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 30 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought