Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Perfect for home!
 from Mobile, AL,  Mar 14, 2013

I love love love this machine! It is perfect for hems, curtains, and touch ups around the home and it is small enough to store easily! Great machine in a little package!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome mini
 from Seattle, Washington,  Feb 6, 2013

I use this machine mainly for card making....the "stitched" look is always a nice touch to a card. This machine is perfect for this application- its lightweight and small and easy to store. Highly recommend!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality for the price
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for little ones learning to sew!
 from Chino Hills, CA,  Dec 18, 2012

The machine sews slowly which is exactly what I wanted as I teach my grand-daughter how to sew. It is light to carry. It is a tad noisy but not as loud as I was thinking it was going to be. There is no light but that isn't a problem for my new little sewing partner! It is easy to thread and also to fill the bobbin. The stitch selector is easy to use also.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was exactly as shown
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate. I was glad the description included the fact that there is no light and that the machine is a tad noisy so I was prepared.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I love how it looks and it will last a long time.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does exactly the job I needed it to do!
 from Waretown, NJ,  May 8, 2014

Read the reviews prior to purchasing this sewing machine. The reviews were on spot! The machine is perfect for the sewing project I needed it for, is slightly loud but, is simple to use. I was very impressed with the instruction booklet, simple to read & understand, with pictures to assist. As stated in some reviews there is no light, but all you need to do is place the machine on a surface & position a light in front of it, simple. For the price a great buy. This machine is NOT for a professional sewer, but is great for the needs of an occasional sewer, :)

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great little sewing machine
 from Atlanta, GA,  Apr 29, 2014

It works perfectly, just like other reviews said, a bit slow but that is better for me

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I purchased this item for my 11 year old granddaughter and it is just the right size for her to start learning on. It does not come across as if it is a toy. It is the real thing, and that made her feel grown up when I gave it to her. It is light weight, easy for her to set up without waiting for Mom or Dad to get it out for her. Easy to thread and do the bobbin. It was easy for her to learn how to take care of and use her machine with the instruction book enclosed with her Janome SewMini. A life long learning tool.I am a very happy Grammy.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this machine
 from Dow City, IA,  Feb 10, 2014

Bought this to use while sitting in my recliner to sew rag strips together. Works really well, just put the foot peddle on the arm of the chair and use my hand on it. The stiches look great. Very easy to thread. I have had no problems at all with it so far and it's really a cute little machine. It was as described.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for beginner!
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Sep 18, 2013

This sewing machine is great! I have basically no experience sewing and was able to wind the bobbin and thread this machine with ease using the accompanying instructions. I do wish the plate at the bottom had the markings for the seams and there were more metal parts instead of so much plastic. Still for the price and ease of use I give this little machine a 5-star rating. My daughter (age 8) and I are both learning to sew on it. I guess for more experienced seamstresses it might be too slow, but for me it's great. I believe it sews around 300 stitches per minute.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome SewMini
 from Oregon,  Jul 24, 2013

I live in a mobile home ...not much space and this little sewing machine is an answer to my problem, I can lift it and move it anywhere I want and the sewing part is good too, slow enough for a senior citizen fast enough to get the job done. great product !

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect machine to learn on.
 from San Francisco, California,  Jun 18, 2014

I purchased this for my young grand daughter. She was so disappointed & frustrated trying to learn on toy sewing machines that I looked for a machine that would actually sew but at a speed (it has one slow speed) that she could handle and light enough for her to move around. This machine is perfect for her; it actually sews well at a safe speed and she can move it. It is a little noisier than some other machines but not too loud and since it has no light she needs to use it where there is sufficient light but not a big deal for a young, eager child.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great little sewing machine!
 from NC,  Jun 25, 2013

I love this little sew mini machine! It works very well and is so much fun to use. I never really enjoyed sewing until I started using the sew mini!! I do wish it had a light for when sewing at night and to aid in seeing to thread the needle, but I can not complain because the overall function and quality of this machine is awesome. Love it!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Product exactly as described!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was spot on!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great product for a very reasonable price. Quality of the sew mini is very good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great little machine so far :)
 from San Antonio, TX,  Jun 4, 2013

We just received this yesterday. Previously I purchased the "sew fun" kit that had a case, sewing fabrics/notions and the little purple sewing machine. I'd read some good reviews on that machine but the one we got had NO tension on the bobbin so while the stitches worked nicely on the top, there was a loopy, tangled, ugly MESS! We returned that one (Overstock was fantastic about the return but we did have the extended warranty too). SO, back to the "drawing board" I went. My daughter was very eager to sew but I didn't want to spend a lot of money on a machine given the nature of kids...interested one day & then on to the next thing quickly. Well, I looked at reviews here & on other sites & also checked out videos on youtube. This machine in particular had a great set of instructions (a 4 part series) on youtube. It's a GOOD thing because when we opened the box for this the only instructions are in FRENCH! Not to worry, the videos helped us through the set up. Also, my daughter has just finished a sewing segment in her FCS (Home Ec) course & they had the Janome "classmate" machines. This machine (according to her) has a LOT of similarities. She likes this machine better as the arm on it lets you get sleeves & such up close to the needle without bunching up as it did on the classmate machine. Anyway, both of use sewed several things last night. mostly experimenting with stitches & such on scraps. The various stitches all work very well. The tension is just right but if it gets off somehow there is a way to adjust it on this little dynamo! It would be nice if there was a light near the needle area & markings on the plate under the needle would be nice. I will end up marking the plate with a sharpie or tape. Overall VERY happy with the purchase. It's a great value! Easy set up, easy bobbin loading, simple threading of the machine and nice smooth stitches. It does not move as fast as some machines so if speed is super important to you, you may want to spend a little more for another machine. I personally like the slower, steady stitching. I hope this has helped you make your decision :) Oh! For years my Mom was a sales person in a nice sewing shop where they sold everything from simple sewing machines to top of the line embroidery machines. Janome was in her top two favorite brands & now I see why!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mostly plastic but pretty sturdy for the price
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for my 8 year old granddaughter!
 from Diamond Bar, CA,  Jul 3, 2014

I would have given it an Excellent rating, were it not for the fact that it did not have a light, making it a bit difficult for someone like me to use. However, it was perfect in every other way.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great little machine
 from Bountiful, Utah,  Feb 22, 2013

This little machine is fantastic. My granddaughter loves the machine and it is easy for her to sew with. She wanted to sew with my machine but I was reluctant to have her use my Bernina. This machine does a nice straight stitch and a great zigzag stitch. It sews at a slower speed which is just right for a seven year old learner. I was having difficulty threading the machine and she said let me try and it was immediately threaded. We look forward to sewing together a lot.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top