Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
DON'T WAIT TO PURCHASE THIS!!
 from North Canton, OH,  May 10, 2011

This is absolutely the most wonderful machine I have owned. I didn't hesitate purchasing it from Overstock.com because I've always gotten quality merchandise, shipped fast with a good return policy. As a professional crafter for over 35 years, I have owned 3 other big name brands that couldn't come close to the Janome. I'm very sorry that I waited so long to make the purchase. When I think of the projects that I struggled with and wasted time on - only because I didn't know they could make a machine to stand up to my tasks. This machine is the quilter's best friend with all the decorative and applique stitches it does. When I construct tote bags and purses, I put a high demand on my machine by going over 6 to 8 thick layers of fabric and batting, etc. That is what took its toll on my other machines. The Janome just smiles and quietly proceeds. I can make everything in half the time. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the thread-cutting feature - a real time-saver when you don't have to pick up scissors everytime you finish a seam. I've even monogrammed my name on the products I make, and they look very professional! Can't wait to use the knee lift feature when I machine quilt and some of the special feet that were included. Well, I'm going to get back to my sewing now - I consider it "playtime" with my new Janome!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AWESOME machine
 from TN,  Feb 5, 2011

I love this machine. It has more stitches than I'll ever use, but very nice to have! I've had it for a year, and I've quilted tons of quilt, purses, etc on it. If you aren't a manual reader (me!) it's really easy to figure out on your own. But the manual is so easy to read. Much easier than some of the other sewing machine manuals i've tried to read.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine
 from Texas,  Feb 24, 2010

I love this sewing machine! I've been using it for a few weeks now and it is just terrific. It is a very sturdy workhorse. Much nicer than the usual dinky little sewing machines. I've already used it to make clothes for my kids and three quilts. It has a large assortment of decorative stitches and comes with many useful presser feet. It is simple and easy to use if you've had any experience with sewing machines. The manual is clear and easy to understand. The separate bobbin winding motor is very practical and saves a lot of time when you don't have to stop and rethread the machine after winding a new bobbin. The thread cutting feature is also very practical. I truly LOVE this machine!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sewing Machine
 from Falls Creek, PA,  Jun 2, 2010

I too absolutely love this sewing machine. This was a gift I bought for myself last Christmas. It has so many wonderful features that make my quilting and crafter projects even nicer and easier to produce than ever before. The feature I love to show off the most, is the button that cuts your thread at the end of your stitching. I LOVE THAT !!! I can't imagine what else a sewing machine could do that this one does not. The only disappointment I have is, I want the floor table/cabinet/stand that is designed to hold this sewing machine. Everywhere I look on the internet it is very expensive, for all there is to it. I am hoping that Overstock will locate some and offer it for sale to us as well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome 6500
 from Las Vegas, NV,  May 27, 2010

I love this machine! I bought it based off reviews only, and I am so happy I did. This machine has more features than I'll ever use. It has a wonderful seam stitch. I love the bobbin winding feature; being able to have a separate thread and motor to do this is awesome! The button hole stitches are very nice too. I quilt and sew clothing, and this machine is wonderful for all. It has a very large area to accomodate quilts. I previously owned a Pfaff and this machine is so much nicer!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for quilting; not so good for other items
 from Long Beach, CA,  Jul 21, 2011

I am an intermediate sewer who sews patchwork quilts, applique quilts, handbags and clothing. My introductory sewing machine broke after many years of sewing abuse and so I wanted to upgrade. I especially like the larger throat that makes free motion quilting easier and the substantial weight of the machine means that I won't have to worry about simultaneously moving my machine when quilting. However, I realized belatedly that this machine does not have a free arm so that makes sewing bags, linings, sleeves, and other things that are round in diameter much more difficult so I'll likely have to get another machine with a free arm. Set up was easy and figuring out the features was quick with the enclosed user's manual. The alphabet sewing is a nice touch for personalizing quilts. I did have some initial problems with the automatic thread cutter; it kept jamming so I had to re thread the machine and put in a new bobbin. I also find that the pressure foot on this machine is quite heavy and I do have to lighten the pressure foot more than recommended in the manual. Also, this machine has a difficult time sewing through dense or thick material and I have to actually pull the fabric to help it move along the feed dogs. This is a good machine, but for the cost I expected it to be stronger than my introductory sewing machine, but it's not. Maybe I just had a very good introductory sewing machine.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality; heavy; seems substantial
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine!
 from MD,  Aug 26, 2010

I can't think of one bad thing to write about this machine. I love it! I've been cranking out the quilts since I bought it. Makes quilting a true pleasure.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome 6500P
 from Georgia,  Jun 11, 2012

I don't think I will ever purchase another machine from Overstock. I had the machine for 3 weeks and it needed repair. I looked up the information on the web and "thought" I found an authorized repair shop. After paying for the repair, I called Janome and was advised that I would have had to ship it back to NJ from GA, absorb the cost of shipping. I was very disappointed. Sorry.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It looked like the one on the site
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was accurate as far as the product
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great sewing machine
 from San Diego, CA,  Nov 15, 2011

I have been sewing for 25 years on the same Bernina. I wanted something that would last as long with a few more options. Janome is proudly American made which I really liked. The good: Very powerful and can go through many layers of fabric, somewhat quiet though not as quiet as I was expecting, easy to use, large cone thread holder, comes with many feet, very forgiving when using different thread sizes in bobbin and top thread, easy to thread, easy to adjust tension. The bad: when free motion quilting, the tension had to be adjusted about every 5 minutes because it pulled bobbin thread on the curves. (However, this is a common problem with most machines) I had to send the first machine back because the thread cutting mechanism was defective. My second machine works flawlessly.The lack of a hard case is REALLY irritating to me at this price point. The last somewhat "bad" thing about this machine is when you first start sewing it goes slow and then jumps into hyperdrive so that has been something to get used to (a lot of picking out seams due to jumping my fingers out of the way lest they get ran over). Overall an excellent machine. I would definately buy again.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
janey
 from Coudersport, PA,  Dec 1, 2010

I love this machine, I wasted the last ten years babying along my old very expensive machine, resisted change but this machine is so easy to learn. It has so many great features. I am a quilter and love the 1/4 inch foot and the machine applique stitch (looks like a hand done stitch). Ordered on a Saturday and arrived on Tuesday, what great service. Thanks, Janey

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sewing
 from washington,  Nov 2, 2009

I love my new sewing machine,my sister loves my new sewing machine,my friend loves my new sewing machine.I was worried about purchasing on line,no problem would do it again

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE THIS MACHINE
 from Long Beach, Ca,  Oct 6, 2009

I love this machine.Let me repeat that, I LOVE this machine.It is a relatively powerful machine that sews faster than any other janome I have (and I have quite a few....MC 4500, MC 9000, Janome Jem, etc) and is so smooth. I used it first in a class, then in a free motion quilting class and I am sooo in love!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome 6500
 from Southwest Oklahoma,  Oct 11, 2011

After conferring with several of my quilting friends and relatives, I chose Janome. I wanted a machine to do basic quilting on with a few extras. So far, I have quilted three small quilts but have not mastered free motion quilting to my satisfaction. I love the knee-presser foot release and the thread cutter feature.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The image compared very favorably
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love to sew
 from Cool, CA,  Aug 2, 2011

I had a New Home 6000 MC wich was purchased my Janome. This machine is really close to origional with a few more bells and whistels. It has a good walking foot for quilting and all embroidery are easy to use. Two things that need to be improved is the light (does not shine in the front where the foot is) and the threader (comes from the back and misses the needle.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? execllent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? vary good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It made with sewing in mind.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Raving Review
 from Kansas City, MO,  Jul 14, 2011

I immediately opened and set up the machine effortlessly ~ from the time I've plugged it in and been using it has performed better than any other machine I've had or used. I would recommend this to anyone the quality is amazing and does everything and more than I expected ~ Love Love Love my new machine Happy Quilting

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I based my purchase on other reviews and was extremely please with my purchase
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome Memory Craft 6500P gets my vote
 from Eureka, CA,  May 25, 2011

I received my Janome 6500P sewing & quilting machine in good condiction. Set it up right away and LOVE it. Its all I expected and then some. My old machine was 35 years old and finally broke, so glad I choose the Janome to replace it. Easy instruction to follow, I've used several of the sewing modes and they all seem to be easy to follow. I like that so many accessories came with the package

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
In LOVE
 from New York,  Feb 23, 2011

This was a very big purchase for me! I had not been planning on buying a new machine, but, the machine I had inherited which is a ver good machine, did not seem to have a quilting foot that functioned properly. I did a lot of research and so many people had geat things to say about this Janome Memory Craft machine. I took it right ou of the box and was testing it out within an hour. I am so happy with this sewing machine it has made quilting so much easier for me. I highly recommend it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
In Love with this Machine
 from Lake Charles, LA,  Dec 15, 2014

This was my second upgrade from my original Singer. I make quilts and clothes. I needed something faster than my NewHome that sews 700 sps. Donít let this price tag or all the buttons intimidate you. It is well worth every penny. This machine is extremely easy to learn and sews like a dream. I love the extra width lots of room to maneuver around. It is heavy so it wonít move around while working with big heavy quilts. The mechanism is smooth and steady. It is surprisingly quite for as fast as it goes. As long as I clean it every so often it doesnít jam or have problems. One of the best things I ever bought for myself is this machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This machine is beautiiful
 from Little Rock, Arkansas,  Feb 14, 2014

I cannot begin to tell you how wonderful this machine is. For all of you quilters out that that are searching for the best machine for the best price, look no further. This machine is awesome. From the moment I removed this machine from the box, I knew it I had found a real jewel. It's heavy because unlike other machines that are made of plastic on the inside, this one has a steel frame which means that it will not break down easily in the future. It is so well made. The instruction manual is printed very clearly and very easy to follow. The machine is easy to thread with an automatic needle threader. It comes with the extension table. The work area is very large for any quilt The screen when you select what mode and what stitch you want tells you what stitch it's been adjusted to, what foot to change to, the stitch length and width, and you can edit this stitch and save it with their save mode. You can even add additional stitch patters to this so it will change back and forh automatically between the stitches. Very easy to assemble. I just can't say enough good things about this machine. Do not hesitate purchasing this machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought