Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 109 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Deal
 from California,  Nov 16, 2010

Nice, solid, working equipment. Does a good job. Great buy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
All good!
 from Bay Area,  Nov 9, 2010

This is the first product I've ordered from Overstock, and I have to say, first, that the service was excellent. It came in less than 48 hours - I ordered in the evening and received it two days later in the morning. The machine itself is fantastic. It's indistinguishable from brand new, except that the instruction manual is a photocopy, it runs like a dream, and I am thrilled with its sewing capabilities. The first thing I did was try every type of fabric combination, from silk chiffon to three layers of denim, and everything came out perfectly because of the fine adjustments that you can make. Also, the instructions are quite clear and very helpful. My "old" machine (only a few years old, a more expensive *****) had such incomprehensible directions for the button holing that I had to go back to the store for help. Definitely worth every penny. Thanks. Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome 11574-Refurbished
 from Barnegat, NJ,  Nov 5, 2010

Smooth and easy transaction; received in good condtion and pretty fast shipping. I have used the machine for simple stitching (only for testing) and it seems to work nicely. I have yet to practice and try other features of the machine. I only hope it will not disappoint me. So far so good.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great little machine!
 from MI,  Oct 19, 2010

I've been using this machine for a couple of weeks now and love it. Have been sewing for 20+ years on a very basic little Simplicity and this new machine is such a treat! So many stitches (although who really uses most of them? But they're still fun to have.) Took about 1/2 hour to read the manual and get familiar with all of the new features, then I was off and sewing. It's produced perfect seams every time, even through several layers of canvas - sewed through them without even flinching and no skipped stitches. For the money it's a great buy and I'm sure it will last me through many years of sewing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value, good purchase
 from Arizona,  Oct 19, 2010

I have just started to use this new machine but so far it has been good. Took a little time to figure out the settings for stitches but once found they are nice and the heavy duty aspect is accurate. It is easy to transport which was one of my goals in buying it. I also was looking for the free arm feature. I am pleased that it will hold my large commercial size thread spools. All in all a good purchase and certainly a good value

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just my luck!
 from Toronto, ON,  Oct 12, 2010

I have bought this machine twice and I will be returning it twice. As soon as I take it out of the package and start using it its fine. Around the third or fourth time I use it, it starts making a grumbling noise. I returned the first one because of the same reason, thinking it was just defective. But now with the second one having the same problem, I'm thinking twice about this whole "refurbished" idea. Buy with caution.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beyond Awesome
 Oct 12, 2010

I have been sewing since I was a young child and have gone through several machines over the years. With my last one, it seemed I had to try and coax it into working every time I wanted to do anything, and then it resented me for making it work. Not this baby. Smooth, easy sailing. Whatever you throw at it, it handles with ease. Mending towels? No problem. Gather a delicate sheer fabric? Done. I am in love.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome 1157
 from Ohio,  Oct 12, 2010

We have owned three Janome sewing machines, and this Janome 1157 Heavy-Duty is by far the best we have ever had. We decided to buy it through Overstock.com and are very pleased we did. You would never know that it's 'refurbished', the only thing is one very small scratch on the back, which doesn't worry me one bit as I'm not looking at that when I'm sewing. It pulls thick denim through without any problems, sews stretch beautifully and I'm sure it will do fine needlework well too. The delivery was fast and we're just very happy that we decided to buy another Janome and even happier that we bought it through Ovestock.com

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value!
 from Knoxville, TN,  Oct 11, 2010

After much research, I decided to purchase the Janome 11574. I am a complete novice to sewing, but wanted a good quality machine that would hold up well. The metal gears of this machine, and the reputation of Janome machines in general, made me decide to order the 11574. My order came quickly in three days. I had a few concerns about ordering a refurbished machine, but was very pleased with the condition of the product. It was very well packaged, and looked brand new out of the box. All parts that is was supposed to come with were included. The manual is fairly easy to follow, and I was up and sewing very quickly. This machine is a great value, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sewing Machine
 from Shetland Islands Scotland,  Sep 29, 2010

Excellent speedy service. The refurbished machine is great for the price. Came half way across the world in 10 days! Would recommend this company and this product to everyone who wants a strong, solid good quality machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased
 from FL,  Sep 26, 2010

I purchased this machine as a back up to my two computerized machines. I must say I am very pleased with the performance of this sewing machine. The stitches are perfect. The machine is very quiet. The needle threader and auto button hole is not bad for a mechanical machine. I would purchase this again and recommend without hesitation.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine
 Sep 25, 2010

I was so excited to find such a great deal on this heavy duty machine. I've been looking for one for a while now, and was prepared to spend almost 3 times as much as this one cost. I couldn't be happier.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Cabot, AR,  Sep 16, 2010

I love this machine! My grandmother taught me to sew 25 years ago when I was a teenager. I wanted to try my hand at sewing once again and was recommended a Janome by my friend. It does not disappoint! This machine is easy to use, light weight and fun. The instruction manual came with the machine (even though it was refurbished) it was easy to read and follow. The only way I could tell this machine was refurbished was the label on the back saying so, it looks brand new. Great experience and I would recommend this machine!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this machine
 from Fillmore,Ca,  Sep 12, 2010

I orderd my machine on a Tuesday and it arrived on Saturday, nice and quick, I was very anxious to try it out but decided to read the instructions first as I am mechanicly challanged. After reading all the instructions I tried it out. WOW!!!! I make dog harness/vest's and my old machine just didn't have the power to sew through several layers of fabric. No problem now and there are so many different stiches to choose from I can be very creative with the stiches or just do plain ones they are all so easy to work with. This is truly a dream machine, and the self threader is wonderful. I am having a great time trying different things and I would recomend this machine to anyone that is looking for a reasonable priced machine that does everything I need it for. I am looking forward to trying new projects now that I have a machine that can do it all.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Surprise for my sister!!
 from St. Charles, MO,  Sep 7, 2010

I purchased this machine as a surprise for my sister in Iowa. Her old klunker had worn out and she was sewing on a borrowed machine from a friend and hated it. Because I have a Janome machine and love mine I thought she would like this one as it had all the features she was looking for. Now she calls me every other day and sings the praises of this new machine, She is absolutely thrilled with it. It runs so quiet, and all of the decorative stitches are beautiful!! She has several projects lined up to do and is so happy that she finally has a great machine to finish them all. We would recommend this machine to everyone. Buy one even for a back-up machine!! Thanks overstock!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome 11574 HD Sewing Machine
 from No. DaLLAS, tX,  Aug 26, 2010

I received my order just 3 days after ordering!!! Great service as usual. I used the machine today for the first time and am very pleased. This Janome is to replace a 15 yr. old Phaff. This machine is far superior in quality, easy of use, power for heavier fabrics. The instructions to set up this machine are very user friendly and easily understood. If anyone is looking for a great sewing machine without spending allot of money, well this is the one!! I am a repeat customer of Overstock.Com and have never had an issue with any of my purchases. Thanks again for they great service, offering affordable products and a great selection!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome 11574
 from Jonesburg, MO,  Aug 24, 2010

I ordered this machine yesterday after lots of research and it arrived today! I can see nothing wrong with it. I immediately tried it on a triple thickness of denim and it went over the seam tripled without skipping. I was worried because this machine is made for kenmore too (16221 now online as 18221 but the bottom of my box is stamped 16221) and one of their reviews said it would not sew denim. I used a piece of old denim that was really thick too, not the new thin stuff they sell now, and I was using the silver #14/90 needle that came in it. The other bonus for me was it is very similar to my old kenmore so it was easy to thread and use right away. This was a great buy not to mention the money saved on shipping. Thanks again Overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine
 from Washington, Pa,  Aug 7, 2010

Recieved my sewing machine a couple of weeks ago and have put it to the test many times. I absolutely love it and have no complaints at all. It is everything it was described as. It was like a brand new machine. Very very happy with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just for fun
 from Atlanta, GA,  Aug 6, 2010

Easy to operate, five mintues out of the box and a quick review of the manual and I was sewing away. Not a whole lot of plastic so it should stand up to my constant use. Some of my projects require heavy fabrics and this machine handled them without a problem. Price was within my budget which was great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine
 from Magnolia, DE,  Aug 5, 2010

Received machine in only a few days. Had a little trouble with the tension since I was sewing through 4 layers of a heavy duck material, but once I got that figured out it sewed like a breeze. Would recommend this machine for anyone who needs a well rounded machine. It is a little on the noisey side, but I don't mind that.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 109 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought