Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 109 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Excellent working condition
 from Winnipeg Manitoba Canada,  Jun 11, 2011

I ejoy the quality of the machine. The instructions were very easy to read. I find the machine to be light enouph to move and to carry witch was one of the reasons for the purchase. I will purchase from you again if and when the occasion arises. Thank-you.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Smooth machine
 from Tacoma, WA,  May 19, 2011

I like this machine so much better then my old Singer. It runs much more smoothly and the bobbin threads much more easily. When you pick a stitch, the machine suggests stitch lengths and widths, something I always had to look up before.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
so far so good
 from tn,  Apr 26, 2011

so far everything is working well, but I haven't had it long enough or used it enough yet to give my best opinion.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? so far i like it
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good performance for the price
 from New Mexico,  Apr 15, 2011

If you do basic sewing, this machine will probably meet your needs, and it looks like it should last many years. Great value! Fast delivery, too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I guess I took the name of this sewing machine too literally and one of the first things I sewed was through two layers of cotton duck fabric. The sewing machine has been making really loud noises since, on and off. I've tried to get it resolved through the manufacturers warranty, but had no luck for the past few months. All I ever get are messages when I call. I tried emailing, but someone just told me to dial an extension for someone who never picks up or calls me back and now the number they gave me says it has been disconnected. So, good machine, but be gentle with it and hope you never have any problems.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fun
 from Texas,  Mar 29, 2011

So far loving this machine! It works smoothly and fast.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this machine
 Mar 15, 2011

I have had time to sew on my new machine the past month and really love it...my only gripe is that I didn't get an instruction manual with it, am still searching for one....I have sewn for a long time but on a machine that was 40 years old, a New Home, and am not sure about all the bells and whistles on this one but sure do enjoy using what I do know about

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my new Janome!
 from NYC Native,  Mar 12, 2011

I ordered this product after reading the reviews and just had to add my input after receiving and using this machine. Ordered on Saturday (non-shipping day) and received on Wednesday. I was so anxious I tracked its every move and was basically waiting at the door when FedEx showed up. I immediately unboxed the machine and used the directions to thread and wind the bobbin all within a few minutes. The machine appears to be BRAND new. I checked to make sure all the accessories were included, which they were. I had read reviews that the zipper foot did not work. UNTRUE! It does work but you just have to make sure your needle is set to the CENTER straight stitch option. It has LEFT, CENTER and RIGHT side straight stitching which I really love. I think it is important to mention that I am a novice sewer, certainly new to Janome but I was sewing literally within 10-15 minutes of it arriving on my doorstep. I have only previously taught myself to sew a few months ago on my grandmother's old Singer, so old she had it in storage and was using a new machine but I wanted it. I had no trouble with the directions for this machine, I found them to fairly straight forward, totally different than my Gram's old machine but I got it done really quickly. I was looking for an 'industrial' machine but dont have the funds for one now but this one, like my old Singer, goes through denim like butter. I actually went through 8 layers of denim with a strap I made to go on a purse. I made two mini purses with zippers for gifts within two days of receiving the machine. The key is to use the proper needle. I know people say to go slow through heavy fabric but I found it better for me to go quickly back and forth through the denim. When I went slow, the needle had a harder time piercing the first layer of the 8 layers. Probably because I left the needle on that came on the machine and did not change to a denim needle. But keep in mind it does come with several needles, seam ripper, screw driver, and all sorts of stuff. I have learned a lot about sewing since purchasing this machine, like how straight a stitch can be. LOL Also I learned about being able to use two thread holders so you can wind a bobbin without having to unthread your machine. You can also use the twin needle on this machine for double-edging or fancy stitches. You would just have to purchase the twin needle separately really cheaply, I checked. Also, I learned how to use the self threader on this machine. Never saw that before this machine but I use it each time I change thread. Lastly, Janome is the maker of many Kenmore machines, so if you like Kenmores, you will like this machine a LOT! The price, although it seems to have gone up a bit size I ordered mine two weeks ago, can not be beat. Even the same model of Kenmore is pricier. I checked because I'm considering ordering another one of these awesome machines (will use my 10% coupon Overstock sent me once I ordered)!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Machine
 from Florida,  Mar 2, 2011

This is my first Janome and I find it easy to thread, the bobbin filling is fast and I like the option of filling another bobbin without unthreading the machine. I wish I had known that this machine was refurbished by the "factory" and therefore still had the factory warranty, then I would not have purchased the additional Overstock warranty. I understand that I would have been told this had I ordered by phone, but I ordered through the Internet. A lesson learned.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sent it back
 from dayton OH,  Feb 5, 2011

just a few of the reviews said something about a grinding noise, so i told myself the machine would most likely be alright. i was not that fortunate. it made a horrible noise, wouldn't sew really at all, and i am sending it back. too bad, but overstock is very good about returns!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Montana,  Jan 27, 2011

I bought this sewing machine after my other computerized sewing machine's computer went out. I wanted a sturdy, affordable, all - mechanical machine and this fit the bill. I have used it several times and have had no problems. It is very quiet and the owner's manual is easy to understand. I really like that the interior parts are all metal. It makes the machine fairly heavy for it's size but I like that. I would rather have my sewing machine feel solid. I was also very impressed that I received a call from Overstock's customer service when there was a discrepancy with my credit card information. It's nice to know that they are watching out for you, not just taking your money!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT.......
 from Thornton,Colorado,  Jan 18, 2011

Was very pleased with the machine did not at all look like a refurbished machine, A real work horse I have three other machines but this will always get my nod for heavy sewing,just finished doing new seats in my grandsons chevy nova, the Janome never missed a stitch.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mrs GTS
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 6, 2011

I've been sewing for about forty years and I really liked this machine. It doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but I'm seeking a workhorse machine. I figured I'd try a refurbished model because I thought this would mean "all the bugs" were worked out. Well, I used the machine about two hours before the hand wheel started to make a very loud rubbing noise like metal against metal with a thump. I can't describe it accurately, but it isn't good. Overstock's cusotmer service is great. There are sending me a replacement and I'm going to try another machine because I liked this model so much while it was working. Stay tuned for my next review. I'm sure it will reflect what others have found that have purchased this machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome Jr
 from San Francisco, Ca,  Jan 6, 2011

Sorry, I had to return it. It was too noisy and not what I wanted. Love Overstock return policies! I

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect except for...
 from UT,  Jan 4, 2011

I bought this machine to teach my girls (ages 6-13) to sew. It was exactly what I needed for beginners (manual settings, simple, not too fast). After about 5 days of use however, the machine started grinding and making a big racket. When I contacted the supposed warranty people (no number, only email) they wouldn't get back with me so I ended up returning it. Too bad because I really liked it otherwise.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
An awesome buy for a great price!
 from Northern Virginia,  Dec 31, 2010

I waited 5 months to write this review because I wanted to make sure I was giving this machine enough time to show me what it can (and can’t) do. I’m now glad to report that I’ve had not one problem with it. Other than a very crookedly-applied Janome label, I wouldn’t have even suspected it was refurbished. The 11574 has been the perfect choice for a beginner-intermediate sewer like me. It’s heavy enough to feel solid and stay firmly planted on my table, but manageable enough to move around as needed. I even take it to sewing classes in a sling (cross-body) carrier, so while at 21 pounds it shouldn’t be thought as a “light” piece of equipment, it’s still quite portable. Using it has been a straightforward experience. The mechanism to change stitches is manually-operated and feels clunky, unlike those of computerized machines, but at the same time…it’s so simple to use! The machine has many more stitches than I frankly need right now, but I’ve asked my veteran sewists friends to sew projects with it in order to try all the decorative and stretch stitches and they all have liked how well the machine has handled them. We have sewed through very thick layers (including denim, outdoor, vinyl, tufted-wool, and decorator-weight fabrics) without a hitch. A few features that are not listed on the Overstock site (and that I’ve found extremely convenient) are its “free arm”, automatic reverse stitching, and a storage box in the body of the machine that contains extra bobbins, needles (which are Kenmore brand, BTW), feet (button-hole, zigzag, over-edge, zipper, blind hem, satin, etc. ) and a few simple goodies (cleaning brush, seam ripper, screwdriver, more). The only “extra” thing I’ve bought for it was a “walking foot”, which I got at Sears since this exact same machine is made by Janome for Kenmore and many of their parts are interchangeable. All in all—a great machine that has all the basics plus room to accommodate expanding sewing skills. An awesome buy for a great price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice for the Price
 from Central Arizona,  Dec 30, 2010

I'm not an experienced person at sewing but this machine was easy to use and worked perfect out of the box. It came with everything I needed except thread ! I've been attempting to use an old Singer Touch n Sew with poor results and the Janome just WORKED ! It seems well made and is quite easy to use. My only (sort of) complaint was from sewing heavy fabric for my first project(cordura, denim, upholstery fabric). It is sold as a HEAVY DUTY machine and it BARELY had the tension with heavy thread to properly sew these. But it DID and worked and looked fine! I would definitely recommend this machine ! Arzrover

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
janome sewing machine 11574
 from K TOWN AZ,  Dec 28, 2010

It work I figure it out been so long ago I can sew it easy I very happy with this Janome 11574 heavy duty It sewed jean it work like work horse it nice it make beautful stitch like a breeze WOW I CAN SAY!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good and Bad
 from Bowling Green, KY,  Dec 27, 2010

Overall I think it will be a good sewing machine, however after a few times of using it it started making a terrible grinding noise and won't sew properly so I have to take it to the shop and have it repaired.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Anxious to use it
 from New Carlisle, OH,  Nov 17, 2010

I bought the machine because my friend and my aunt both thought it was a super good deal. They love their Janomes. I haven't got to use it yet, but am very anxious to do so.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 109 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought