Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 105 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

My mother, a very experienced (and frugal) seamstress needed a new machine. I decided to buy her a new machine but I had to keep her needs in mind (not my preferences!) At this point, she has no interest in learning new features. For example, she did not want a feature like "needle-up /needle-down". She uses the handwheel when she needs to put the needle up or down. This machine does everything she needs (including a beautiful buttonhole) and she sews garments, slipcovers, curtains; and her work is top notch. Also, she hates paying any more than necessary, so she would have been really mad at me if I went and spent $350 on something similar at the local dealer. This refurbished Janome was the perfect choice and she absolutely loves the machine. It has a metal casing and it's heavier than the plastic models on the market (in a big box store). But it was still way lighter than a vintage Kenmore (my other choice for her). She needs to tuck it away when not in use, so a 35 pound vintage machine was too heavy. I tested it out, too. It has a beautiful stitch and it tuns very smoothly with no rattling around on the table. I bet this machine will be a workhorse for a good long while. I would use it, too- except I love all the bells and whistles on the fancier models.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my new Janome!
 from NYC Native,  Mar 12, 2011

I ordered this product after reading the reviews and just had to add my input after receiving and using this machine. Ordered on Saturday (non-shipping day) and received on Wednesday. I was so anxious I tracked its every move and was basically waiting at the door when FedEx showed up. I immediately unboxed the machine and used the directions to thread and wind the bobbin all within a few minutes. The machine appears to be BRAND new. I checked to make sure all the accessories were included, which they were. I had read reviews that the zipper foot did not work. UNTRUE! It does work but you just have to make sure your needle is set to the CENTER straight stitch option. It has LEFT, CENTER and RIGHT side straight stitching which I really love. I think it is important to mention that I am a novice sewer, certainly new to Janome but I was sewing literally within 10-15 minutes of it arriving on my doorstep. I have only previously taught myself to sew a few months ago on my grandmother's old Singer, so old she had it in storage and was using a new machine but I wanted it. I had no trouble with the directions for this machine, I found them to fairly straight forward, totally different than my Gram's old machine but I got it done really quickly. I was looking for an 'industrial' machine but dont have the funds for one now but this one, like my old Singer, goes through denim like butter. I actually went through 8 layers of denim with a strap I made to go on a purse. I made two mini purses with zippers for gifts within two days of receiving the machine. The key is to use the proper needle. I know people say to go slow through heavy fabric but I found it better for me to go quickly back and forth through the denim. When I went slow, the needle had a harder time piercing the first layer of the 8 layers. Probably because I left the needle on that came on the machine and did not change to a denim needle. But keep in mind it does come with several needles, seam ripper, screw driver, and all sorts of stuff. I have learned a lot about sewing since purchasing this machine, like how straight a stitch can be. LOL Also I learned about being able to use two thread holders so you can wind a bobbin without having to unthread your machine. You can also use the twin needle on this machine for double-edging or fancy stitches. You would just have to purchase the twin needle separately really cheaply, I checked. Also, I learned how to use the self threader on this machine. Never saw that before this machine but I use it each time I change thread. Lastly, Janome is the maker of many Kenmore machines, so if you like Kenmores, you will like this machine a LOT! The price, although it seems to have gone up a bit size I ordered mine two weeks ago, can not be beat. Even the same model of Kenmore is pricier. I checked because I'm considering ordering another one of these awesome machines (will use my 10% coupon Overstock sent me once I ordered)!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rugged little workhorse!
 from New Hampshire,  Nov 12, 2009

I love this little machine! Knowing Janome quality, I felt comfortable ordering a factory refurbished model. But, I didn't expect the easy, fluid mechanical running of this little machine which I use mercilessly for heavy-duty piecing and quilting... daily! I've gotten a quilting foot for it and a 1/4" foot, and it handles both "lighter" and "more bulky" loads with equal ease.It also gets hauled around in my machine trolley from home to quilting sites where I take it out, set it up, and start sewing again.... Maybe I should expect it, but I'm always amazed at how beautifully, simply it performs. It has the range of stitches I need and a constellation of others I haven't even tried out as yet...I really love it and feel confident knowing its substantial nature...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
All good!
 from Bay Area,  Nov 9, 2010

This is the first product I've ordered from Overstock, and I have to say, first, that the service was excellent. It came in less than 48 hours - I ordered in the evening and received it two days later in the morning. The machine itself is fantastic. It's indistinguishable from brand new, except that the instruction manual is a photocopy, it runs like a dream, and I am thrilled with its sewing capabilities. The first thing I did was try every type of fabric combination, from silk chiffon to three layers of denim, and everything came out perfectly because of the fine adjustments that you can make. Also, the instructions are quite clear and very helpful. My "old" machine (only a few years old, a more expensive *****) had such incomprehensible directions for the button holing that I had to go back to the store for help. Definitely worth every penny. Thanks. Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome Heavy Duty
 from Arizona,  Jul 14, 2010

I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews where the machine was broken or parts were missing, but I ordered it anyway. I was very pleasantly suprised. It was in perfect condition, like brand new. I do tons of sewing as I sell baby quilts, so I needed a machine that lasts and is heavy duty and can sew thru thick fabrics. I have purchased about 3 to 4 machines in the past 5 years because they always break down and have to be serviced. The service started to cost more than the machine was worth, especially the machines that are computerized. . This machine is a joy to work with. It sews through thick fabrics and does it very quickly too. Its not the quietest machine I have had, but its not too bad. And after sewing a few quilts, I usually have to clean out all the lint in the machine. The other machines I have had were difficult to clean out and sometimes I could not get them back together correctly, so yeah, another service bill. But this one is a snap to clean up. I really love this machine.....and highly recommend it...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Sewing Machine!!!
 from Utah,  Mar 11, 2010

I have a more expensive Kenmore I just love that is very similar, so I bought this as a second sewing machine. It has surpassed my expectations. I have sewn different weights of fabric and have used different types of thread, without any problems what so ever. I've made some baby quilts, bags and flannel pajamas and feel I have given it a real workout. I purchased a Brother sewing machine from overstock previously that I should have returned since it had a problem with the tension control that could not be fixed:( The Brother machine is made so cheaply when you compare it with the Janome brand. Take my advice, buy the Janome and stay away from Brother!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Independence, VA,  Mar 8, 2009

Shopped on line and at "bricks and sticks" stores and was appalled at the prices of new sewing machines. All I wanted was a simple, reliable, economical machine that I could use for home decor projects, mending and the occassional new outfit. I read lots of reviews and tested several machines before deciding to buy my refurbished Janome. SOOOO glad I did! It arrived well packed and after reading the owners manual I was ready to sew. Spent the better part of 3 hours "playing" with all of the stitches and feet. It is so quiet and smooth compared to my 30 yr old Singer (which has now gone to sewing machine "heaven). I am now in the process of adding thermal linings to my living room drapes. The fabric is VERY heavy and has a rubbery coating. My new Janome sails through double and even triple thicknesses with no problems. Next projects will be valances for the guest bedrooms and a shower curtain for the guest bath. I am such a happy camper!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT.......
 from Thornton,Colorado,  Jan 18, 2011

Was very pleased with the machine did not at all look like a refurbished machine, A real work horse I have three other machines but this will always get my nod for heavy sewing,just finished doing new seats in my grandsons chevy nova, the Janome never missed a stitch.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great little machine!
 from MI,  Oct 19, 2010

I've been using this machine for a couple of weeks now and love it. Have been sewing for 20+ years on a very basic little Simplicity and this new machine is such a treat! So many stitches (although who really uses most of them? But they're still fun to have.) Took about 1/2 hour to read the manual and get familiar with all of the new features, then I was off and sewing. It's produced perfect seams every time, even through several layers of canvas - sewed through them without even flinching and no skipped stitches. For the money it's a great buy and I'm sure it will last me through many years of sewing.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beyond Awesome
 Oct 12, 2010

I have been sewing since I was a young child and have gone through several machines over the years. With my last one, it seemed I had to try and coax it into working every time I wanted to do anything, and then it resented me for making it work. Not this baby. Smooth, easy sailing. Whatever you throw at it, it handles with ease. Mending towels? No problem. Gather a delicate sheer fabric? Done. I am in love.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great machine!
 from 65 yr old male in Boston, MA,  Feb 21, 2010

First off, I was very happy with Overstock.com's service. The machine was in stock as they promised and was delivered within a week of ordering and arrived in perfect condition. I have never sewed before and have found the machine very easy to learn and to use. The manual is well written, and I was sewing within an hour of set-up. It is ruggedly made and also very well-designed to be user-friendly--in short, I love it! The automatic threader works every time (unlike my friend's Singer which neither one of us can figure out how to use). The Janome is very sure footed so to speak: it sews over seams and hasn't broken a thread yet. I would recommend this machine and company to anyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great features
 from Farmgington, UT,  Feb 17, 2010

I purchased this machine for my daughter who is learning to sew. I was leery about the "refurbished" machine, however after reading several reviews on Overstock and other websites I decided to go ahead with the purchase. The machine worked right out of the box. My daughter is thrilled with the selection of stitches this machine is capable of doing. It runs very smoothly and is very easy to thread, changing stitch patterns is easy also. If I hadn't been informed that this machine was refurbished I would have thought it was brand new. There is not a scratch anywhere on the outside and all the parts look brand new. I did purchase the replacement guarantee.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Got this machine after 2 days purchased, in box like NEW , accesories and manual like new, My new Janome looked like I just bought it out of a store , My first pieces to sew was a couple of jeans, since it "promises" heavy duty work, and ITS TRUE !! Amazing versatility, very strong motor, fast, precise stiches,Just love it, i got a BERNINA too, and is hard to decide wich is my favorite now,,HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is the easiest machine to use I have ever had the priviledge of owning. There are numerous different stiches on it, I am sure more than I will ever use, it is self threading, love that aspect of it, & it simply purrs like a kitten when I am sewing.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Can't Beat The Price
 from Enderby, BC, Canada,  Feb 11, 2010

This is a remarkably beautiful machine for the price. Compared to my old machine which packed it in, the difference is like comparing a tractor to a Mercedes Benz. (very smooth and quiet). Has all the bells and whistles that any beginner would love, plus very easy to use and set up. I personally have been sewing for about 30 years and this is all the machine I need. Shipping and customs to Canada was very inexpensive and the machine arrived in about 2 weeks (maybe less). Any Canadian sources that I could get a comparable machine from were charging at least double what I paid from Overstock. How do you beat that!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A real work horse!!
 from Colorado,  Nov 4, 2009

I love this machine!! I have had it now for a few weeks and just recently made my son's Halloween costume (Santa suit out of fleece with fur trim). What a pleasure to use such a nice machine! No problems what-so-ever! It's been a long time since sewing was so enjoyable for me (used to have a Riccar and it was problems from the get-go). Impressed by its ease of use, it's metal gears, and features. I don't need a real fancy machine - just one that is reliable and does a good job and doesn't give me grief with thread/bobbin tension all the time. Was impressed when the machine would slow when the material thickness got a bit too much, letting me know to "walk the needle" through the section. My old machine would have just kept plowing and broke a needle or two in the process.This is such a great deal, too! All I can say is "buy it". It's a heck of a deal! I've never bought a refurbished machine, let alone one from Overstock, but I'm a convinced consumer -- as are so many of the other reviewer of this item.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

the price was a great deal, i am very please with this sawing machine. it seems to be in pretty good condition working conditions and it arrive clean and ready for use.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this machine
 from Woods Cross, UT,  Aug 17, 2009

I have been so pleased with my new machine. It looks new, runs like new and I am just amazed with it! Everything I have bought through Overstock I have been happy with and this little machine has NOT let me down. Oh, I almost forgot, it is lightweight and I can easily lift it. It is great! I would recommend this machine for anyone who wants to do basic sewing, I don't know about all it can do but I am sure it would blow me away. Love it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this machine!
 from Central Texas,  Apr 8, 2009

I have had several sewing machines in the past, this was the first one I picked out for myself. This machine is wonderful! I've had no problems that other reviewers mentioned. I've sewn everything from brocade to blue jean waist bands with no problems. Couldn't be happier.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good buy
 from Diamondhead, MS,  Feb 21, 2009

I am very pleased with the sewing machine. I especially like the needle threading feature. It is also much lighter than my old machine. The instruction booklet is very specific.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 105 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top