Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Get Ready For Memorial Day
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 63 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Machine
 from Georgia,  Jul 25, 2009

This is a great sewing machine. Matter of fact, I have ordered 2, one for myself and I gave one to my daughter who wants to learn to sew. I was hesitant to order the machine because of the low price and being a refurbished machine; plus I had never heard of the Janome brand, but as soon as I started sewing on this machine, I was pleasantly surprised at the performance. I have been sewing for over 25 years and own an expensive Singer, computerized machine, which cost over $1200, 15 plus years ago. This Janome sews better than my Singer. The only thing that I do not like about the machine is the location of the bobbin; it is a front load bobbin, so you can not see the bobbin while you are sewing to see if you are getting low on thread. The plus side, the stitches are smooth and uniform in size and the instructional booklet is easy to ready and understand. It is printed in English and you do not have multiple languages to try and look through as you read through the manual.I primarily purchased this machine to take to quilting classes because it is a light weight machine but now, I find I use the machine for all types of sewing. It is a dream to sew on thick seams or fabrics. My mother loved my machine and ordered one for herself. I was very pleased with the packaging of the machine, the quick shipping, and receiving of my order from Overstock. I would highly recommend this machine and the Janome brand. It is a wonderful basic sewing machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Second review
 Oct 20, 2009

I have now had this machine for over 6 months, I have sewn clothes, blankets, bags and upholstery the machine has handled everything great! The manual is very good, has good instructions and pictures for everything. Read it, you will learn a lot about your machine and how to fix minor problems. Here are a couple of things I have learned:1. You need to use janome or kenmore bobbins if you don't you will have a problem with the thread. Other bobbins may look the same but they do not work the same.2. Pull the thread out 3-4 inches before sewing or it will get stuck and cause frustration.3. Do not use cheap thread it isn't worth it.4. If you have checked everything and are still having problems put a new needle in. Old needles really mess things up.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice machine
 from PA,  Dec 27, 2008

I have used my Janome 11558 heavy-duty sewing machine several times since it has arrived and am very pleased with it. I was looking for a well made, basic, inexpensive machine and I would say that I have found it. Works flawlessly and I can concentrate on sewing instead of trying to get the machine to do what it's supposed to be doing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good machine
 from toms river,  Mar 4, 2009

I am a sewer from way back,My very expensive sewing machine broke, so being the age I am now, I did not what to spend to much for a sewing machine. I decided to get this one, because it treads the needle and it was a low price...Well,what a great machine this is,It treads the needle like magic.sew very well and is easy. The bobbin is a little hard to get back in,but after a few times no problem. Also the bobbin is easy to fill and I am just in love with the machine.Altho,the peddle is made of plastic and moves when sewing.I will put a little rubber mat under it to see if that will hold it in place. Hope this helps all of you who are thinking of buying this sewing machine,Happy sewing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine!
 Jan 20, 2009

I have been using this machine everyday for a week and I love it! I have had no problems as long as I follow the directions. For those of you who don't know what to expect from a Janome it is the same maker as Kenmore, in fact this machine is basically the same as the Kenmore 15358.This machine does not come with oil or a screwdriver, it does come with all the feet you would probably need for awhile, it also comes with a small pack of needles.It is packed very well with some kind of thick foam packing, plastic and put in a box very snug fitting.You will be surprised at what this machine can do!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Basic Starter Sewing Machine
 from Denver, Colorado,  Jan 2, 2010

I purchased this little sewing machine to refresh my memory of sewing from years ago, and to teach my grand daughter to sew. She is 9 years old and I didnt want to get a complicated machine. This does do 15 fancy zig-zag stitches and that is enough for her. I am very pleased with the quality of this machine and the way it performs. This is an excellent low cost, starter machine that will give both of us many years of pleasure and depending on her interest later, she may not need to upgrade when I ultimately give the machine to her.....

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOt Bad
 from SS, MD,  Dec 14, 2009

My wife says this is a good working machine and easy to use. I noticed that it came with some cracks in the plastic cover near the base of the unit, but does not appear to have any functional damage. I thought about returning it, but it is difficult for me to carry since I have only one working hand. As long as my wonderful wife is happy with it, I can live with the cracked case. Its barely noticeable anyhow.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great sewing machine
 from Mooresville, NC,  Dec 13, 2009

I ordered two of these machines, one for each of my girls ages 10 & 11. My girls are NOT beginners and we did NOT want a beginners machine. I am so glad we purchased this machine. They both work great. We did have to do some bobbin adjustments to get one of the machines to run smoothly - I highly recommend that you read through the manual so that if you do have any problems you know what to do. I did tons of research before buying this machine! I learned that FACTORY refurbished machines are often better than 'regular' machines b/c all the kinks have been worked out. And, Janome is the leading manufacture of machines in the world.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from Florida Panhandle,  Aug 4, 2009

I am very happy with this purchase. Cosmetically, the only indication that it is a refurbished unit is the sticker on the back. The shipping packaging was not factory original but it was packed carefully and well. It included the owners manual and the complete accessories package. My primary interest was to get a machine that was heavier duty than the average under $100 sewing machine and this one is described as metal frame and metal gears so I figured I would give it a try. So far it has made easy work through four layers of Jeans denim using upholstery thread with all of the stitches except #9 embroidery where it struggled. Overstock shipped promptly, I ordered on 7/25 and received it on 7/29, and the price was great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome11558 Heavy-duty Sewing Machine
 from Massachusetts,  Jul 2, 2009

I bought this for my sister who does quilting and she is delighted. It is refurbished, however, it works like a charm and the price was perfect as was the shipping on it. It is lightweight and I would recommend this for someone who does quite a bit sewing, such as quilts, since it is sturdy, easy to work, and has passed her expectations. She was going to buy a new one, however, no need now. I would recommend this to anyone who uses a sewing machine or either a minimal basis or like my sister, daily.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome 11558 Refurb Sewing Machine
 from Mobile, AL,  Apr 22, 2009

Very pleased with purchase. Using this machine for quilting and taking to classes. Easy to use and transport.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good machine. Works well.
 Mar 28, 2009

The only thing I would have added was a way to adjust the stitch width. Otherwise, for a basic machine, I think it's great. It has straight stitch, zigzag, stretch stich, etc. It run very well and has given me no problems thus far.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
don't buy
 Jan 7, 2016

mediocre machine and has not guaranty at all

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
All Dress-up Designs, Owner
 Nov 16, 2015

Great little machine...Does all the basic stitches great for Kids to start sewing on.. Parts are all metal inside.. Also a great Traveler..small and compact..Like my machine

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice machine
 Oct 1, 2015

I don't sew a lot but make a baby quilt now and then and do a bit of mending. I've had the Janome 11558 sewing machine for a couple years and have had perfect performance from it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Machine Arrived in Unworkable Condition
 from Eagle River, WI,  Dec 18, 2012

I ordered this sewing machine as a refurbished model. It arrived in unworking condition. Something mayor inside the machine is jammed up or bent, as it will hardly turn over. I then attempted to get it serviced under the Overstock warranty, however, the warranty people would not reply to my requests to submit the machine for warranty service. I am now waiting for Overstock to get back to me about a refund, as I am returning the machine. Whoever certified this machine as refurbished obviously did not test it before they sent it out.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Product was not refurbished, as advertised, because it arrived in unworking condition.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor Quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super Sewing Machine!
 from Jacksonville FL,  Dec 11, 2012

I was skeptical about a refurbished sewing machine, but it looked brand new & works just as good. I has gone through several layers of denim, but you need a heavy duty, brand new needle, and you should get a running start before attempting to hem a double folded seam. It works with a bit of practice. I would think for a machine in theis category, it does heavy duty sewing very well. The needle threader is a God send, & simple to use. It was one of the main reasons I decided on this model. I've been sewing for over 50 years, and I'm more than satisfied with this product. It's over 3 years old now, and still sews perfectly.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exactly the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality - not overly loud or moving about.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Refurbished doesn't mean it'll work
 from CO,  Oct 25, 2012

This is a very nice sewing machine. If only the refurbished one try sent me actually worked.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good buy
 from ny,ny,  May 20, 2012

This is no industrial machine like what i'm use to but it def can hold its own. Has a ton of different stitch options & is a good price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good price
 from Middletown, NY,  Mar 6, 2012

we got this machine about 3 years ago and it worked great until last month. we used it regularly, there were no issues with it but now it misses stiches. i am no sure may be something i did to it caused the problem because i have to admit i use this machine a lot andd sometimes for heavy duty projects. still i wish it would last longer.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? the same
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 63 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought