Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 46 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Wow!
 from Gainesville, FL,  Dec 7, 2010

I am an avid sewist and quilter. I am also an instructor and I am always looking for great quality machines for budget-friendly prices to recommend to my students. I purchased this machine with the intention of giving it to my mother as a Christmas gift... but after opening the box and "trying it out" to make sure it worked.. I've decided to keep it for myself! I'm going to buy another one right now just for her. This machine is an amazing quality for the price. Everything arrived looking brand new even if it was "refurbished." All the parts were intact and came in original packaging. I started using it straight out of the box with zero problems! It sewed beautifully through 2 layers of cotton and 8 layers of cotton just the same! It did not jerk or jiggle or get stuck at all. You cannot adjust the stitch length or width on your stitches but it gives you three different stitch lengths for the straight stitch (small, medium, and longer basting stitch), and three different widths for your zig-zag stitch. This is the PERFECT go-to basic machine for any beginner and any hobbyist to take on trips or to sewing and quilting classes. I was pleasantly surprised to see that even though it is lightweight it is still sturdier than a Singer I have in a higher price range. I have 10 sewing machines that range from 50 years old to brand-new and across all brand names from American to Swedish machines and I will say this Janome hangs with the best of them! This machine is only lightweight in pounds. Everything it does is sturdy and I would even go as far as to call it pretty heavy duty. The machine threads super easily and has guides to show you where to pass the thread each step of the way and another added bonus is the drop-in bobbin that is rare to find in a low-end, inexpensive machine. I highly recommend this machine to anyone looking to start sewing, get back into sewing, or if you need a travel machine. I am VERY happy with this buy! Thank you Overstock! :o)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

A little about me, I'm a beginner at sewing. I took a sewing class, basic one. A guy learning how to use it because I want to save money on fixing up clothes rather than going to the tailor or buying new clothes. Maybe even make my own clothes, times are hard you know? Gotta find ways to save. Alright so here's how it goes. Opening up I find that I got all that was listed, instructions, a kit to start off like the bobbins/extra needles/seam ripper and stuff. It was pretty much ready out the box, just had to attach the plastic clip that holds the thread and I was set. As far as using it goes, I haven't had problems with it, works like a champ! Only problem I've come across from time to time would be the thread jamming up and I thought it was the sewing machine doing it. So I oiled it up but that didn't work. So it turns out it was the thread itself or how the thread is hooked up. Simply re-threading the machine or using another does the trick and I haven't had any other problems since. I was using cheap thread before so that's probably why. Never had any jamming with Gutermann thread. Coats and Clark is a hit or miss. My FAVORITE thing about this machine is that it was a slot where you can have thread cut when you're done sewing. It is very useful to have to grab something to cut the thread. I just wish I invested in something better, I want more stitches than it can do. Hah All in all, it works great, perfect for beginners getting started and such.I thought I'd let everyone know about that because I was sooo lost when it came to this stuff.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I like this sewing machine...but the details description is WRONG about it having three needle positions...it only has ONE needle position...center. Also, be sure to use ONLY PLASTIC bobbins with it's horizontal bobbin system...not metal bobbins.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome 11542 Sewing Machine (Refurbished)
 from Los Angeles,  Feb 18, 2011

I have had this machine for 3 days, so far it is good. I actually exchange another machine for this one. This one is very simple, easy to use and learn. No issues so far. If I get something from Overstock I can just relax, because I know that 99 % everything is great, and if some issue arrise overstock is great at solving anything! I love Overstock

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent purchase!
 from Colorado Springs, CO,  Feb 16, 2011

Great machine! Stitches great on delicate fabrics as well as heavy jean material. Couldn't be happier with the machine and the price! In fact, this is the 2nd one of these machines I've purchased--both for my daughters, and they LOVE their machines!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
anar9833
 from Alabama,  Feb 7, 2011

I received the Janome sewing machine in the length of time stated, which was only a few days. It is very simple to use and I have had no problems with it so far. I have only had it about 3 weeks but I think it is a great deal for the price. I highly recommend this machine especially if you are just interested in basic sewing projects. It doesn't have a lot of fancy features nor does it claim to. Probably a good investment for beginners.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Smoothest machine!
 from Wisconsin,  Feb 1, 2011

I absolutely love this machine! I find it hard to even stop sewing because for once I enjoy using a machine! I am blown away by the quality of this machine and I have been recommending it to everyone I know! It sews sooooo smooth, and is so quiet! I sew a lot of clothes and cloth diapers for my children. I also do a lot of quilting. Some of the fabrics get pretty bulky and it sews smoothly no matter what I am sewing. I have had much more expensive machines by other brands that couldn't handle as much as this machine can. One of my favorite things is how easy it is to sew in reverse. Many of my other machines get tangled up if I have to backstitch. I think this machine might even sew better in reverse than it does going forward (okay maybe not, but still, it works very well when I backstitch!!). The machine in general is very easy. No fiddling with a bunch of knobs trying to figure out what width, length, etc. that you need. You turn the knob to the picture of the stitch you want, and you're good to go! My ONLY complaint is that it doesn't appear that you can change the position of the needle. There might be a way to do it and I just can't figure it out, I don't know. I guess I should go read the manual a little more thoroughly. Oh, and I love the clear presser foot! It makes it so easy to see exactly where/what I am sewing.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome
 from CT,  Oct 26, 2010

I love this machine. I took 4 machines to Africa to teach sewing at a school in Tanzania. They were great machines, easy to use and learn on, and finally I have one too!! We paid much more for the machines but still thought them worthwhile.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine
 from Oklahoma City, OK,  Sep 19, 2011

This is a wonderful machine. I am no seamstress and the machine I had was so complecated it has just sat for years as I really don't have the time or desire to read books of insturctions each time I wanted to use it. I read the review on this machine that some had bought it to teach students to sew because it is so simple. Well I received it and waited till I worked up the energy to try it out and it could not have been more simple even for me. I hemed some sheers I had bought for my bedroom windows and it took minutes and I am so proud of myself and this machine made it happen. Looks like new and works so well. Maybe I need a new project:)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not my favorite starter machine.
 from Indiana,  Sep 15, 2011

I was really hopeful about this machine. I have always wanted a Janome, but this was not the one for me. It puckers as you sew fleece items. The buttonhole feature absolutely would not work properly. It got stuck going back up side 3 of the buttonhole. I am hoping it was just this one machine, but I would not take a chance and buy another one.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Not really. The image made it look like buttons, but they are actually decals.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty close.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. There is where you have a problem. It is a cheap, plastic, not very well working machine.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good machine for dollar amount
 from oxford ms,  Aug 30, 2011

machine works great but it dont sew many layers of material when sewing heavy material and more than 2 layers it knots up

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellant
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. pretty good for the price
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I had some trouble with this machine at first. The machine would chew up the fabric and grind to a halt, leaving my fabric mangled and a big tangle of thread every time I used it. The instruction manual is very basic and not very helpful. I finally figured out that if you hold the thread behind the machine and tug on it as you sew, it won't (most of the time) chew up the fabric. Now that I've figured out that trick, I've been pretty satisfied with it. It's a very basic machine with all the options I need for basic sewing, and you can't beat the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice little machine
 from The REAL Northern California,  Feb 25, 2011

This nice, simple machine performs as expected. Bought for my 10 yo DGD, it's lightweight, easy to thread and operate, has zigzag and a few other utility stitches, and makes 4-step button holes. The tension is not perfect, even with adjustment, but more than adequate for basic sewing. All in all, it was a good value and should serve her well for many years.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome Machine
 from Texas,  Jan 25, 2011

I purchased five of these Janome's. They are simple, easy to use sewing machines.The dials are easy to read and easy to use. The Janomes came to me neatly packed in boxes I could keep them in for storage. I use the Janomes to teach sewing lessons and all of my students find them easy to use and keep clean. I have recommended these machines for purchase from Overstock.com.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect machine
 from Dixon, CA,  Jan 7, 2011

I love this machine. I bought and had it delivered to my daughter's house 3000 miles away so that I could sew while I visited her. It works fabulous. I am thinking of buying one for my own house to be used as a second machine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Janome 11542
 from Phoenix,AZ,  Dec 28, 2010

I bought this for my wife as an early Christmas present.She has limited sewing experience.Her only other machine she'd ever owned, had constant problems with, so she didn't like using it.I had looked at several other machines at various places and reviews were not good on those low end models .Their prices were still higher than this one.I knew this one was labeled refurbished but i decided to take the risk.This machine was received just several days after ordering.My wife was delighted to receive it..This one was up and running shortly after removing from the box.It came well packaged and was brand new.She has sewn a few items since and it has preformed perfectly.We went and bought some extra needles and material at the local sewing machine store.They service and sell Janome,Brother and high end Singer machines.They felt we made a good purchase by getting a Janome.I had not heard of the Janome name before,but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this for general sewing.My wife said she would have paid double for it knowing what she knows now.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value
 from Grants pass, O,  Dec 1, 2010

I ordered this sewing machine for my 10 yr old granddaughter and it is simple yet sophisticated enough to carry her through for several years. It is truly portable as it is light weight with a carry handle so she can easily take it to classes or to sewing groups with friends. Perfect starter machine. I tried it out and it is fine for everyday sewing projects and mending.. Probably a little light weight for heavy duty stuff though. Would make a good second machine for seasoned sewers as well for those quick mending projects because it is so light and easy to manage. It exceeds my expectations for the price paid. It was delivered within 5 days of ordering complete with all parts promised and although it is refurbished looksand sews like new.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Purchase
 Oct 28, 2010

I haven't used it that much but it seems to be good. I don't sew at all and this sewing machine didn't break or jam. It's very easy to operate and the instructions that they provided are easy to understand. It comes with the different foot pedal that you need for different stitching, spool, extra needle, etc. My boyfriend's sister is a fashion designer in New York and she told me to get a Janome. This one is very affordable and is great for beginners like me. I'm really glad I found this. :)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very practical
 from gilbert,az,  Oct 13, 2010

this is a great sewing machine for begginers and pros as well. It dose not have a alot of feature but for the money you pay well worth it. I do basic sewing very effeciently and fast. I sure recomand it

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth Every Penny
 from New York, NY,  Oct 5, 2010

This sewing machine is a joy and a pleasure to work with. It has been years since I used a sewing machine and this Janome11542 has an ease and clarity of performance that made it easy to begin sewing once again. I am looking forward to creating many items with this machine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 46 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top