Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 35 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Janome 115110
 from New York,  Aug 23, 2009

I was reluctant to purchase a refurbished machine, but decided to give it a shot. The machine arrived within a week and appears to never have been used. Needless to say I was quite happy seeing the condition of the machine. It took me months to decide whether to buy a new or refurbished machine, so I was quite pleased when I opened the package and saw it's condition.l've played around with the machine trying the different stitches and just familarizing myself with the machine. It's been forty years since I used a new machine and I must say that it's not much different than my old machine. Yes things are a little different but basically it works the same as my old machine.Overall I found the machine easy to use.The instruction book is very good with clear illustrations. The needle threader works well once you get the hang of it. Never had one on the old machine so its a feature thats welcome. It came with all the parts that it was supposed to have. The machine has a solid sturdy feel to it. I like the option of having all the stitches that are available. I don't know if I'll use them all but who knows if theres a project that I might need them for.One reason it took me so long to decide on a machine was that I wanted to be able to sew with denim.This machine has no problem sewing denim and I've shortened some of my jeans sewing through a couple of layers of material. I'm very happy about that.I've only had the machine for a month and have just fixed a few pair of pants and some other small alterations, besides my playing around with the stitches etc, but I'm very pleased at this time. If it continues to work the way it has and stays healthy I'll be quite happy. Overall this was very good purchase and would recommend this product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't be fooled!!
 from Chicago, IL,  Feb 2, 2012

I am really disappointed. I have bought refurbished items numerous times but never had the problem I'm having now!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Although this has a Janome sticker on the front of the machine, I doubt this is actually a Janome!!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? No serial number on item and the model number does NOT exist with Janome!! Hmmmmm Janome said they do NOT cover the warranty of this item but rather refered me elsewhere.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wish I knew which machine it was I bought so I knew what type of accessories to buy.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from South Bend, IN,  Mar 9, 2011

I'm really loving this machine. I have made several things with it already. I LOVE the self-threading needle option ... much easier for someone with bifocals! Also, the thread cutter after you finish a seam is awesome and does save some time. I'm looking forward to learning more about the different feet and stitches with this machine. I'm starting a class at my local quilt show that will highlight different feet over the course of the class and so I hope to have some more presser feet in my repetoire. You truly can't tell that this is refurbished. It looked brand new when I opened it the first time. As always, Overstock shipped immediately and I got it in only about 2 days! I'd recommend this machine to anyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I have only used this maching for piecing and quilting so far, and I must say I am VERY pleased. I have completed a pucker-free, beautiful free motion stitched quilt with it so far, and had no problems at all. The needle made clean, smooth sitches even when sewing my three quilt layers together. The machine was very easy to learn to use (I was using a smaller Singer before) and everything is intuitive/easy to find while sewing. It feels very solid and powerful as it is stitching. It does not shake and rattle like some cheap machines, and the stitching is smooth and even every time (auto speed control helps this also!). The auto needle up/down feature is something I did not have with other machines, and probably could not live without now. It is especially useful for free motion quilting, when one must stop and start frequently to rearrange fabrics. I no longer have to make sure my needle is down, and take the time to put it down if needed. I would definitely recommend this machine to anyone who may be looking to upgrade to a more heavy-duty machine, but without the cost of some of the higher-end options.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Disappointed!
 from Anaheim, CA,  Aug 21, 2010

My old machine, a Brother refurb purchased here on Overstock five or six years ago, recently self-destructed. I ordered this Janome based on good reviews. It arrived in a timely manner, as I've always experienced with Overstock. I'm kind of methodical, so before using the machine, I read the users manual cover-to-cover to familiarize myself with the machine. Confident that I knew what I was doing, I sat down to use the machine, only to find it would not sew at all. It powered up just fine, but when I tried by any means to move the needle or wind a bobbin, it would only produce a horrible sound in the hand wheel area, and activate an error message. No amount of patience or double-checking solved the problem. Customer service was excellent, and I returned the machine for a replacement at no additional cost. Again, delivery was prompt, but when I unboxed this replacement machine, I discovered that this machine too did nothing but produce a grinding sound from the hand wheel area. (On this one, I was actually able to move the needle up and down once or twice before the problem manifested itself.) I have now, sadly, decided to return this second machine for a refund. I find myself particularly frustrated, because I have several projects in the pipeline that I have really need to finish, and I have been delayed now for several weeks dealing with this nonsense. I'm no dummy when it comes to sewing. I've been sewing for many years (and as I said, I read the manual cover-to-cover), so I know this is not a case of user error! This has been my first negative experience with an Overstock product. Customer service is great as always, but I am no longer going to take chances with refurbished machines from Overstock. I do not have faith that they are being refurbished up to standards that make them in any way comparable to a new machine!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Alabama,  Oct 15, 2009

I read review after review looking for a sewing machine. Since I was new to sewing, I had no idea of what I really needed, neither did I know anything about picking out a machine. I visited a local sewing shop and was introduced to Janome. From then I researched as much on Janome as I could find. Somehow I stumbled upon this machine (refurbished) at Overstock.com and after reading all the reviews, I knew this was the machine for me. And the fact that it keeps selling out as soon as they get them in is a very good sign that the machine is dependable. I've had it about 2 weeks now and have completed a few pillow cases and a few alterations. I absolutely LOVE my Janome! And even though it says refurbished, it is still NEW to me and works very well. It is very quiet and runs so smoothly. I have not had any issues and look forward to many, many years of sewing! Trust me, if you are new to sewing, this is an awesome machine to invest in.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful Gift
 from Shepherdsville, KY,  Jan 3, 2009

This machine was purchased as a gift for my wife She had been looking at machines with similar features but at three times the price. The machine had all of the stitches she wanted and the slide bar speed control was a feature she really liked. The Janome company is well respected and solid. The machine arrived well packaged to prevent damage. Be careful the owner's manual was placed under the bottom packing material and almost got thrown away with the box. Wonderful machine, wonderful service, wonderful price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awsome sewing machine
 from nh,  Jun 3, 2012

I bought this a while ago, I had to use this for a while before I coulld tell anyone how great this Janome sewing machine!! I love this sewing machine it is awesome!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sewing machine
 from Topeka,Ks,  May 1, 2012

i have been so happy with this machine the price was very reasonable and it sews great!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quailty-i have been very pleased with this machine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Can't beat this deal
 from Indianapolis,  Nov 11, 2011

This deal is great. I am replaced a Pacesetter by Brother that the digital screen just went black on. After finding out that a replacement was going to by over $$$ for the part alone I started looking for a new one. I was a little hesitant to buy the refurbished machine, but bought the warranty. I am very pleased with this machine. Speed is great and needle has up or down setting, for sewers you know this is a great feature.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? as pictured
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. As good as same product from Sewing Outlet
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent buy.
 from NC,  Aug 11, 2011

Not great at sewing, but a friend recommended this brand and I've been very happy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great sewing machine
 from Orem, UT,  Jul 27, 2011

I really like this sewing machine. My favorite features: Needle position selection, lock stitch, ease of programming decorative stitches. Bobbin winding is very easy. I can even see how much thread is left on the bobbin as I sew.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I'm really impressed with this sewing machine. Great value.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I LOVE this sewing machine!
 from New Jersey,  Jul 5, 2011

I am new to sewing. Last year, I purchased a sewing machine from Target for about $100. I didn't want to spend much as I didn't know if sewing would be something I would stick with. Well after about a year of being frustrated beyond belief and not being able to sew a proper straight stitch without the bobbin thread getting completely tangled in the machine, I decided to give it another try and purchase a new machine. I read the reviews for this machine and I liked what I saw. The price point was right but I was a little hesitant to buy a refurbished sewing machine- especially after my first experience! All I can say is I am SO glad I did. This machine sews beautifully. I love all of the different stitch options. The "serger" stitch is great- I have already made about three dresses and use the serger stitch to finish the inside seams. I am not quite sure what the difference is between an actual serger and a serger stitch, but I can say that the serger stitch on this machine gives the inside of the garment a nice finished look and keeps the fabric from fraying. I also like how easy it is to control the speed of the sewing with the switch at the top, rather than trying to keep your foot pressure steady all of the time. Regarding it being refurbished, my machine looks brand new- I could not tell that it was refurbished at all! It came with all of the promised parts and accessories and was just as shiny and new looking as it would be if I had purchased it from a store. It feels like it's a good quality machine- it's pretty heavy and sturdy. I am not experienced enough to comment on what level sewer this machine would be appropriate for, but as a beginner, it's very easy to use and I can tell that as I become more experienced, there are a lot of things to "grow into" with this machine. With so many stitching options and the quality of the stitches, I am sure I will have this machine for a long time. I would highly recommend it!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product quality is excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine
 from Texas,  Jun 24, 2011

This machine was recommended to me by my sewing instructor since I am new to sewing. I have had it for 4 months and just love it. It sews straight and quiet. And it is quite heavy duty. I use it for everything!!.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Great!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This machine was exactly what I expected!
 from Waco, TX,  May 11, 2011

I have been sewing for many years & quilting for 2 years. I was looking for a machine with a high powered motor that had over 50 types of stitches. This machine sews easily over several layers of fabric without skipping stitches! It's DC motor is great! It is quite while in operation and easy to use. The threading mechanism is superior to any I have used! Great for a beginner or experienced seamstress.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine
 from Southern Oregon,  May 6, 2011

I have had my machine for three weeks now and love it. It seem to be a little power machine. I sewed over thick levi pocket seams and it walked right over them. It is easy to thread using the threader. I enjoy the stitch choices it has for quilting. My experience dealing with Overstock.com has been good.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This Machine Rocks!!!
 from Prescott, AZ,  Apr 8, 2011

Couldn't be more happy with this machine. An Amazing Deal! Looks and works like new. Love the Janome brand and highly recommend to those new at sewing as well as we who have sewn for years and years. Extremely easy to sew with. Great for crafting and quilting. Love it, love it, love it! Thanks Overstock for a very quick and easy transaction as well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!!!!!!
 from Milroy, PA,  Feb 28, 2011

This machine is a great machine at a great price. I couldn't be happier. Everything as advertised plus more.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great machine
 from Tennessee,  Sep 8, 2010

The machine arrived in perfect shape, would never know it was refurbished other than the paper work. Works great, very smooth sewing machine. Can sew through thick material.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice machine
 from MA,  Jul 20, 2010

I bought this machine for my 10 year old daughter (who is a much more accomplished sewer than me). She loves the machine and has told me that it feeld much more solid than the entry level Singer she had. We haven't had it too long, but it seems like a quality machine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 35 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top