Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 95 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Perfect beginner machine!
 from NY,  Jun 30, 2012

Got this machine for my 11 yr old daughter...so easy to use and sturdy too! I have a old heavy machine but wanted one smaller, lighter weight and less intimidating for her. It is perfect! I even like using this. Has simple stiches but that's all we need. Highly recommend!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exactly as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well made construction
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Little machine- big output
 from Quiltland,  Jun 20, 2012

For only being a 3/4 machine, I've used my first one for 2 years and MANY big quilts and this machine sewed them with NO problems! I was SO pleased with the first one, that I just had to buy a second one for family members to use when my other one is being used. Very simple to operate and understand. Works as well as my friend's Janome Gem! One tip that waa told to me by a Janome dealer- be sure that you are ALWAYS sewing on fabric. If the machine operates with no fabric being put thru it, it can damage the machine. Though this is not a toy, it is still meant for light sewing. I figured for the inexpensive cost, I could try out a Janome and see if I really like it. If you get regular service (every machine should be cleaned, oiled and "tuneup" at leat once every 2 years) and treat the machine right, it will not disappoint! This machine has made a prize winning quilt!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Matches exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Janome quality in a little machine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
happy with purchase
 from Delaware,  Jun 7, 2012

as a beginning sewer, i'm happy with this purchase

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for a beginning sewer
 from Perrysburg, OH,  Jun 1, 2012

I bought this as a gift for my 6 year old daughter (and maybe for myself), so that we could sew together. I have very little sewing experience, but find this incredibly easy to use. My daughter loves that she has a real sewing machine, and we have made several crafty items together. This is not a toy, but rather, a very basic adult sewing machine. Great quality for price.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Too cute
 from Tulsa, Ok,  May 16, 2012

Great quality at a good price, my 17 year old daughter loved it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value. Good machine.
 from Idaho,  Apr 27, 2012

Sews like a champ. Good quality small machine. Easy for beginners to use.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Little Machine
 from Austin,TX,  Apr 13, 2012

My daughter can't wait to learn to sew on this little gem and I use it for quick items rather than my larger Janome 6500. Great value for a machine that surpasses what you can get at local big box stores for the same price.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good match
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. $ for value excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We purchased three of the Hello Kitty Janome sewing machines for an after school program for at risk children ages 9-11. It was the perfect choice! The machine is easy to use and sews beautifully....Several of the volunteers who are excellent quilters commented that they are going to purchase one for their quilt workshops...thanks Overstock!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very well built and sturdy sewing machine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for all ages
 from Ca,  Mar 11, 2012

First sewing machine, didn't want to spend 100's of $. Started sewing right out of the box. Oh and you got to love the KITTY!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality for the price
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great beginner machine that will last....
 from Central PA,  Mar 7, 2012

This is a great beginner machine that will last someone through young adulthood and beyond. The small size makes it nice for a dorm room or for travel.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Janome is high quality.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK
 from boston,  Feb 29, 2012

I bought this for my granddaughter. She uses it about once a month. She has a hard time regulating the pressure on the foot pedal, so she usually has to sew pretty fast. This is not a problem right now, as we usually sew straight seams.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? OK
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Starter Machine
 from Tucson, Arizona,  Jan 31, 2012

I purchased this machine from recommendations of another reviewer who purchased it to teach her daughter to sew. This is a great entry level machine that has all the basic features you would need for the beginning sewer: buttonholes, zigzag and overcast stitches, etc. It is so useful that I now keep it alongside my vintage machine as a modern alternative for some tasks. The free arm is great for sleeves and small spaces. The sturdiness of the machine was surprisingly good. It seems to be solidly built. The only component I do not like is the handle to lift the presser foot. It is a plastic component that in my mind is a weakness. My daughter has responded well to its simplicity. All dials and features are responsive and not sluggish. I trust the Janome name as I have an entry level serger from them that is also simple but well-built.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Product picture very accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product, great price
 from Chicago, IL,  Jan 5, 2012

I bought this sewing machine for my seven year old daughter. Not only is it cute, but it is high quality. It works beautifully and was the envy of all the other sewers in her class. I have only ONE issue with this product. IT DOES NOT COME IN AN UNMARKED BOX!! I ordered this for a Christmas gift and my daughter saw the UPS truck arrive and walk up to the door with a box that showed her new machine in pink and green colors!! An unmarked brown box would have made my day!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is no "toy" sewing machine!
 from East Texas,  Jan 4, 2012

I bought this machine as a Christmas gift for my 7 year old daughter who wants to learn to sew. I checked out several "children's" machines, ranging from plastic $$$ machines to small adult machines. In the end, I chose this one because of the good reviews I read online. I was NOT disappointed!! This is a quality machine for a child - it gives her the feel of a grown up machine, but it's scaled down to her size. Everything runs smoothly and it is easy to stitch as it feeds evenly and doesn't bunch up the fabric or the thread. I don't sew much, but my mother-in-law sat down and taught my daughter to use it, and she - a life long seamstress - was quite impressed! Great product for a very fair price!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hello Sewing
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Jan 3, 2012

I picked this up for my 5 year old after trying one of the smaller cheaper machines first. Don't waste your money with the cheaper little ones! This one is actually worth the extra bucks. I have found that this one has been much safer to operate for both of us! The smaller one that we got was too light weight making it flop around any time I tried to help her. In addition it constantly had threading issue. The/ This Hello Kitty machine not only for filled my daughters want of a hello kitty machine but also mine for quality and functionality. Being a quilter myself I wanted to share my love with my little person and feel safe while doing it. Even though the Hello Kitty one isn't extremely quiet it isn't overly loud either. It has a smooth running feed dog, and the tension of the thread is just right. I love how I don't have to worry about knocking the machine over when I'm trying to change thread colors out for her or that when she is starting a new section of sewing that she doesn't have to fight to keep the needle threaded. My little girl has already completed her first project on it and I was very satisfied with how the stitching of the machine came out. This machine is the way to go!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? looks just like the picture.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Solid, feels just like my full size machine just slightly smaller. Exactly what I was looking for.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome machine
 from North Hollywood, CA,  Dec 31, 2011

This machine is awesome. Exactly what I wanted for my ten yar old daughter. This machine is very simple, but can do anything any other complicated mating can do. Also, it is very portable and heavy enough to no tip over. We LOVE it!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? identical
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfect for my ten year old daughter
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect REAL machine for a beginner sewer
 from Clancy, MT,  Dec 30, 2011

This machine did not disappoint. It was everything I hoped it would be for my 6 year old daughter (who was dying to play with my computerized Bernina, which made me very nervous). This machine is solid, a great size, very cute in appearance, and is a work-horse. I plugged it in on Christmas day and it was 100% good to go. No snags, no adjustments, no frustration - amazing. For the price, this is an amazing quality sewing machine that is ideal for any sewer - especially beginners or children who want/need a real machine. LOVE IT!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!
 from Virginia,  Dec 29, 2011

I did a lot of research before purchasing this for my 7 yr old daughter. It has been great purchase! She really enjoys it. It is easy to use and easy to figure out. The manual is very easy to read and follow. I am also a novice with sewing and it has been a great purchase. Looked into a small Brother machine but I am glad I spent the extra $$ and went with the cute factor. She will be able to use it for years.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buying this machine made me "the best mom ever"
 from Harrisville, WV,  Dec 27, 2011

I bought this machine for my daughter, who just turned eleven. Man, was I ever a hero on Christmas morning! "The best mom ever", I think she said. My mom, a life-long sewist and whiz with sewing machines, was skeptical at first, but after helping her get it set up and start sewing, Mom just couldn't stop talking about how nice it was. And it's quiet! This machine stitches forward and backward, with three different stitch lengths, and it zigzags. Yes, it's basic, but it does all most of us need to do. It's got a nice light on it, and you can take the front panel off to make it a "free-arm" configuration, for sewing on a sleeve or pants leg. So my daughter spent Christmas afternoon practicing her straight seams by sewing without thread on a piece of lined paper. She'd gotten pretty good at following the lines by the end of the day. The day after Christmas, we cut some fabric, and with my help, she made a pair of pillowcases for her bed. And the machine didn't flinch at sewing through five layers of flannel. It did just fine. As one reviewer mentioned, this comes in a box that broadcasts what's inside, so beware if this is supposed to be a surprise. (I don't think that warranted giving the machine a one-star review, however.) The bottom line is that this is a real machine, not a toy, and it's a machine that a young person should be able to use for many years. She's not going to outgrow the functionality of this machine. And since Hello Kitty is a timeless character, I can see this machine going off to college with her in a few years. I already have a sewing machine, but I'm considering getting one of these for myself anyway, because frankly, I'm a little jealous.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The picture looks blue to me, but the actual machine is more like mint green.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I don't have any complaints about the quality. It seems solid and sturdy.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sweet
 from temecula ca.,  Dec 23, 2011

this is going to be a X-as present for my 5 year old gr. daughter.i did a lot of research-this was the one for me.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. have not opend it yet,
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 95 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought