Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 85 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
OK
 from boston,  Feb 29, 2012

I bought this for my granddaughter. She uses it about once a month. She has a hard time regulating the pressure on the foot pedal, so she usually has to sew pretty fast. This is not a problem right now, as we usually sew straight seams.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? OK
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Starter Machine
 from Tucson, Arizona,  Jan 31, 2012

I purchased this machine from recommendations of another reviewer who purchased it to teach her daughter to sew. This is a great entry level machine that has all the basic features you would need for the beginning sewer: buttonholes, zigzag and overcast stitches, etc. It is so useful that I now keep it alongside my vintage machine as a modern alternative for some tasks. The free arm is great for sleeves and small spaces. The sturdiness of the machine was surprisingly good. It seems to be solidly built. The only component I do not like is the handle to lift the presser foot. It is a plastic component that in my mind is a weakness. My daughter has responded well to its simplicity. All dials and features are responsive and not sluggish. I trust the Janome name as I have an entry level serger from them that is also simple but well-built.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Product picture very accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product, great price
 from Chicago, IL,  Jan 5, 2012

I bought this sewing machine for my seven year old daughter. Not only is it cute, but it is high quality. It works beautifully and was the envy of all the other sewers in her class. I have only ONE issue with this product. IT DOES NOT COME IN AN UNMARKED BOX!! I ordered this for a Christmas gift and my daughter saw the UPS truck arrive and walk up to the door with a box that showed her new machine in pink and green colors!! An unmarked brown box would have made my day!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is no "toy" sewing machine!
 from East Texas,  Jan 4, 2012

I bought this machine as a Christmas gift for my 7 year old daughter who wants to learn to sew. I checked out several "children's" machines, ranging from plastic $$$ machines to small adult machines. In the end, I chose this one because of the good reviews I read online. I was NOT disappointed!! This is a quality machine for a child - it gives her the feel of a grown up machine, but it's scaled down to her size. Everything runs smoothly and it is easy to stitch as it feeds evenly and doesn't bunch up the fabric or the thread. I don't sew much, but my mother-in-law sat down and taught my daughter to use it, and she - a life long seamstress - was quite impressed! Great product for a very fair price!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hello Sewing
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Jan 3, 2012

I picked this up for my 5 year old after trying one of the smaller cheaper machines first. Don't waste your money with the cheaper little ones! This one is actually worth the extra bucks. I have found that this one has been much safer to operate for both of us! The smaller one that we got was too light weight making it flop around any time I tried to help her. In addition it constantly had threading issue. The/ This Hello Kitty machine not only for filled my daughters want of a hello kitty machine but also mine for quality and functionality. Being a quilter myself I wanted to share my love with my little person and feel safe while doing it. Even though the Hello Kitty one isn't extremely quiet it isn't overly loud either. It has a smooth running feed dog, and the tension of the thread is just right. I love how I don't have to worry about knocking the machine over when I'm trying to change thread colors out for her or that when she is starting a new section of sewing that she doesn't have to fight to keep the needle threaded. My little girl has already completed her first project on it and I was very satisfied with how the stitching of the machine came out. This machine is the way to go!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? looks just like the picture.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Solid, feels just like my full size machine just slightly smaller. Exactly what I was looking for.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome machine
 from North Hollywood, CA,  Dec 31, 2011

This machine is awesome. Exactly what I wanted for my ten yar old daughter. This machine is very simple, but can do anything any other complicated mating can do. Also, it is very portable and heavy enough to no tip over. We LOVE it!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? identical
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfect for my ten year old daughter
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect REAL machine for a beginner sewer
 from Clancy, MT,  Dec 30, 2011

This machine did not disappoint. It was everything I hoped it would be for my 6 year old daughter (who was dying to play with my computerized Bernina, which made me very nervous). This machine is solid, a great size, very cute in appearance, and is a work-horse. I plugged it in on Christmas day and it was 100% good to go. No snags, no adjustments, no frustration - amazing. For the price, this is an amazing quality sewing machine that is ideal for any sewer - especially beginners or children who want/need a real machine. LOVE IT!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!
 from Virginia,  Dec 29, 2011

I did a lot of research before purchasing this for my 7 yr old daughter. It has been great purchase! She really enjoys it. It is easy to use and easy to figure out. The manual is very easy to read and follow. I am also a novice with sewing and it has been a great purchase. Looked into a small Brother machine but I am glad I spent the extra $$ and went with the cute factor. She will be able to use it for years.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buying this machine made me "the best mom ever"
 from Harrisville, WV,  Dec 27, 2011

I bought this machine for my daughter, who just turned eleven. Man, was I ever a hero on Christmas morning! "The best mom ever", I think she said. My mom, a life-long sewist and whiz with sewing machines, was skeptical at first, but after helping her get it set up and start sewing, Mom just couldn't stop talking about how nice it was. And it's quiet! This machine stitches forward and backward, with three different stitch lengths, and it zigzags. Yes, it's basic, but it does all most of us need to do. It's got a nice light on it, and you can take the front panel off to make it a "free-arm" configuration, for sewing on a sleeve or pants leg. So my daughter spent Christmas afternoon practicing her straight seams by sewing without thread on a piece of lined paper. She'd gotten pretty good at following the lines by the end of the day. The day after Christmas, we cut some fabric, and with my help, she made a pair of pillowcases for her bed. And the machine didn't flinch at sewing through five layers of flannel. It did just fine. As one reviewer mentioned, this comes in a box that broadcasts what's inside, so beware if this is supposed to be a surprise. (I don't think that warranted giving the machine a one-star review, however.) The bottom line is that this is a real machine, not a toy, and it's a machine that a young person should be able to use for many years. She's not going to outgrow the functionality of this machine. And since Hello Kitty is a timeless character, I can see this machine going off to college with her in a few years. I already have a sewing machine, but I'm considering getting one of these for myself anyway, because frankly, I'm a little jealous.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The picture looks blue to me, but the actual machine is more like mint green.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I don't have any complaints about the quality. It seems solid and sturdy.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sweet
 from temecula ca.,  Dec 23, 2011

this is going to be a X-as present for my 5 year old gr. daughter.i did a lot of research-this was the one for me.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. have not opend it yet,
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Almost ruined surprise
 from Cincinnati, Ohio,  Nov 30, 2011

Since I ordered this item the last week of November, there was a good chance it was a holiday gift for a child. It arrived in the full color photo package sitting right there on my doorstep! No brown box not hiding this at all! After a crazy looking circus act, I was able to hide the package from my daughter, but the bug surprise was nearly ruined. Please Overstock, help a mom out!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
"Toy" quality
 from Woodland, CA,  Nov 10, 2011

I bought this machine for my 9 year old granddaughter and returned it immediately. It is not a quality product, very light weight plastic type construction. You can do much better at the same price, don't bother sending for this one.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Image looked similar, however very light plastic quality when arrived
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not sure
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor quality, toy like plastic construction and very light weight.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's portable.
 from California,  Nov 10, 2011

It's a cute machine by Janome which I take to my quilting class because it's smaller and lighter. It's a basic sewing machine With 3 different sizes for straight stitch plus few other stitches. I only need to use 1 stitch size for my quilting, and it works fine. I would like to have the threader as I can't see the needle hole easily. For the price, I couldn't complain.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Was not the biggest fan
 from Fort Wayne, IN,  Nov 2, 2011

If you are looking for a beginning machine for a child, this is not it! The front load bobbin is next to impossible to load correctly. I got this machine because my machine is a Janome and I wanted it to be compatible with mine. I think that if it had the drop bobbin it would have worked out great for my daughter. I ended up selling this one and getting a Janome with the drop bobbin. That has worked out much better for both of us!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's just okay
 from Chicago,  Oct 30, 2011

Simple as it is I felt a little played because you can get the basic brother machine for aroung 60 bucks . Buying this machine you are paying for the sanrino brand name. Save yourself some $$$ if you want a basic machine and get the brother or pay a few extra $$ and get a nicer refurb......

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looks great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? just okay
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Performs pretty well.
 from Hinckley, Ohio,  Oct 27, 2011

The sewing machine runs well for average sewing. I had trouble with the needle going over piping it kept stalling and jammed. But for the price I guess you cannot expect a really heavy duty machine.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. For the money the quality is sufficient.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful
 from Norther Virginia,  Oct 22, 2011

I bought this machine almost a year ago as something for my daughter to use. I have a machine with more features, but nothing fancy or really good ... after using this machine, I haven't unpacked my actual machine in months and I have worked out an agreement that I can use her machine as well. This is the one on the table now. I don't do anything fancy, but what this machine does it does WELL. The first thing I tried with it, because I sure didn't think it would work, was to fix something I screwed up. Essentially, I used the longest zig zap stitch on this to go through 3 layers of brocade and 2 layers of interfacing and it DID it. I didn't think it would. Since then, It had acted like a MUCH bigger machine than it is. It is a solid little thing. Yes, the buttonhole isn't fancy, but it works. I don't do that many buttons. What this machine does, is it just works. I have rarely broken a thread. I have rarely had anything jam. It goes more than fast enough for me, and better yet, it is so portable. I can fit it AND other stuff in the tote that used to barely fit my POS Singer. After buying this machine, I will never look at another brand, because if Janome can make a machine this reliable for this little, I am sold.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wonderful
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cute little machine - perfect for workshops
 from Duncanville, TX,  Oct 20, 2011

Cute little machine - perfect for workshops - all I wanted to say

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sewing machine
 from Australia,  Oct 10, 2011

Thankyou, extremely good service and shipping time to Australia. I have purchased this for my daughter for Xmas - she is going to love it (you just can't find decent kids sewing machines here!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The shiping service was fast
 from Durango, Colorado,  Oct 4, 2011

this is a great machine, I am not a professional seamstress but I can do everything I need with my Hello Kitty

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? it is a faithful image
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? it was exactly accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is a great sewing machine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 85 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top