For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 85 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Highly Impressed
 from San Diego, CA,  Dec 26, 2010

I'm a seamstress and own several sewing machines (including an embroidery machine and serger) so I definitely know my way around machines. My 6 and 5 year old girls have been asking me to learn how to sew for ages and a couple months ago they saw a cheapy battery operated Hello Kitty sewing machine in a store and BEGGED me to buy it for them.... of coarse I said no because I didn't want to waste money on something I knew would break sooner, rather than later. I knew Janome made a "high quality" Helly Kitty sewing machine so I talked to my mom about it. My parents decided to buy this as a gift for my girls. It's a very sturdy machine about 3/4 the size of a standard sewing machine. It does have a vertical bobbin case which I'm not accustomed to so I did have to break out the owners manual to figure out how to insert the bobbin - took about 2 minutes to figure it out. The manual is easy to follow and perfect for someone who is a novice to sewing and sewing machines. A previous poster mentioned there is no stitch length selector on this machine... while she is right, the machine comes with various stitch length stitches - so you don't need a stitch length selector. There are three straight stiches - the first one is about 2.5mm, the second one is about 3.5mm, and the last one is about 4.5mm - the same applies to the zigzag stitch. The smallest setting for the zigzag stitch is very small and is a borderline satin stitch - so this can easily be used for appliqué work (just another fun thing for the little one learn). While the machine comes with a buttonhole attachment and buttonhole stitch (basically just the smallest zigzag stitch) - I wouldn't exactly recommend it. It works, but it's not the greatest. So, when my girls get to the point they're sewing something with buttons - then we'll likely be doing the buttonholes on my "fancy" sewing machine. Honestly, there are a handful of cheaper Brother sewing machines that come with more stitch options - however, the likelihood that a young girl is going to need more than a straight and zigzag stitch is very slim. You might as well spring for this "girly" sewing machine which they will LOVE... should they outgrow this machine you can always resell it or pass it on to family/friends. Janome is a high quality company/machine (they also make Kenmore sewing machines). Therefore, you can rest assured you're going to get a high quality product! This is perfect for the young girl/teen in your life!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super cute, super easy, super buy
 from Austin, TX,  Oct 26, 2010

I'm 33 and have never sewn before but have always wanted to. When I saw this little baby on sale and all of the great reviews, I just couldn't resist. (I also looked around on the internet for price comparisons and couldn't even find it available elsewhere.) I was pretty confident I could learn with one of my friend's help. Before I even got to see him, though, I decided to set it up and give it a try. When I previously looked at the instructions, they seemed intimidating. When I sat down and went through them step by step, they were a breeze. I threaded a bobbin and tried every stitch, all on my own. I can't wait to learn to make something. My friend suggested starting with curtains, so I will be coming back to Overstock for some hardware!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for a 10 year old!
 from Reno, NV,  Dec 1, 2010

I bought this little machine with some apprehension, and am pleasantly surprised by how it works. I have expensive sewing machines, and it DID take a little getting used to. But then I had an epihpany - women used to sew on treadle machines which did a straight stitch and that's it. There is no way to adjust stitch length, and there is no speed control (it is possible to adjust the speed with the presser foot), and the buttonhole stitch is a little "rough". But, it HAS three separate straight stitches (teeny, reg, and long) and three sizes of zig-zag, and a tricot stitch, a couple of hem stitches, and a fairly easy to use buttonhole stitch. So, all in all, I would recommend this machine! It's metal, and fairly sturdy. And, it's so CUTE!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
hello kitty janome sewing machine
 from Cle Elum Washington,  Nov 26, 2010

This item arrived within 7 days in good condition. I tried it out and it works great. Instructions were easy to understand. Right now it is my "carry with" machine when I go to church quilting parties and later it will be my 3-year-old granddaughter's "learning" machine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Purrfect
 from Portland, ME,  Oct 21, 2010

The cute factor is over the top, but what is best is that it is light weight, quiet, comes with a great instruction manual, and does what needs to be done and more. Buttonholes were a breeze and beautiful! I am a somewhat experienced sewer, but at this point in my life, all I need is the ability to make simple alterations, costumes and dresses for my grandgirls, curtains and crafts. I keep it in a canvas zip tote for protected storage. It's PURR-FECT! It's the machine I will pass on to the girls and use to teach them to sew.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buying this machine made me "the best mom ever"
 from Harrisville, WV,  Dec 27, 2011

I bought this machine for my daughter, who just turned eleven. Man, was I ever a hero on Christmas morning! "The best mom ever", I think she said. My mom, a life-long sewist and whiz with sewing machines, was skeptical at first, but after helping her get it set up and start sewing, Mom just couldn't stop talking about how nice it was. And it's quiet! This machine stitches forward and backward, with three different stitch lengths, and it zigzags. Yes, it's basic, but it does all most of us need to do. It's got a nice light on it, and you can take the front panel off to make it a "free-arm" configuration, for sewing on a sleeve or pants leg. So my daughter spent Christmas afternoon practicing her straight seams by sewing without thread on a piece of lined paper. She'd gotten pretty good at following the lines by the end of the day. The day after Christmas, we cut some fabric, and with my help, she made a pair of pillowcases for her bed. And the machine didn't flinch at sewing through five layers of flannel. It did just fine. As one reviewer mentioned, this comes in a box that broadcasts what's inside, so beware if this is supposed to be a surprise. (I don't think that warranted giving the machine a one-star review, however.) The bottom line is that this is a real machine, not a toy, and it's a machine that a young person should be able to use for many years. She's not going to outgrow the functionality of this machine. And since Hello Kitty is a timeless character, I can see this machine going off to college with her in a few years. I already have a sewing machine, but I'm considering getting one of these for myself anyway, because frankly, I'm a little jealous.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The picture looks blue to me, but the actual machine is more like mint green.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I don't have any complaints about the quality. It seems solid and sturdy.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect REAL machine for a beginner sewer
 from Clancy, MT,  Dec 30, 2011

This machine did not disappoint. It was everything I hoped it would be for my 6 year old daughter (who was dying to play with my computerized Bernina, which made me very nervous). This machine is solid, a great size, very cute in appearance, and is a work-horse. I plugged it in on Christmas day and it was 100% good to go. No snags, no adjustments, no frustration - amazing. For the price, this is an amazing quality sewing machine that is ideal for any sewer - especially beginners or children who want/need a real machine. LOVE IT!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's portable.
 from California,  Nov 10, 2011

It's a cute machine by Janome which I take to my quilting class because it's smaller and lighter. It's a basic sewing machine With 3 different sizes for straight stitch plus few other stitches. I only need to use 1 stitch size for my quilting, and it works fine. I would like to have the threader as I can't see the needle hole easily. For the price, I couldn't complain.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing Machine
 from Boulder, CO,  Sep 18, 2010

I purchased this machine for my 9 yr old daughter. I wanted to get her started sewing. :) Box came in great shape and timely. Machine is wonderful! Has basic enough features for a beginner, but I find myself using it because it is so handy. I didn't think I would love this machine as much as I do and for the price...you can't pass it up! My sister (she is 30) does not have a sewing machine. I'm thinking that this is her Christmas gift from me this year! I have decided I need a Janome and will probably get one that has a few more options than this, but for simple sewing, this is it! Look no further!! Get quality at a great price and start "sewing pretty"!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is no "toy" sewing machine!
 from East Texas,  Jan 4, 2012

I bought this machine as a Christmas gift for my 7 year old daughter who wants to learn to sew. I checked out several "children's" machines, ranging from plastic $$$ machines to small adult machines. In the end, I chose this one because of the good reviews I read online. I was NOT disappointed!! This is a quality machine for a child - it gives her the feel of a grown up machine, but it's scaled down to her size. Everything runs smoothly and it is easy to stitch as it feeds evenly and doesn't bunch up the fabric or the thread. I don't sew much, but my mother-in-law sat down and taught my daughter to use it, and she - a life long seamstress - was quite impressed! Great product for a very fair price!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hello Sewing
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Jan 3, 2012

I picked this up for my 5 year old after trying one of the smaller cheaper machines first. Don't waste your money with the cheaper little ones! This one is actually worth the extra bucks. I have found that this one has been much safer to operate for both of us! The smaller one that we got was too light weight making it flop around any time I tried to help her. In addition it constantly had threading issue. The/ This Hello Kitty machine not only for filled my daughters want of a hello kitty machine but also mine for quality and functionality. Being a quilter myself I wanted to share my love with my little person and feel safe while doing it. Even though the Hello Kitty one isn't extremely quiet it isn't overly loud either. It has a smooth running feed dog, and the tension of the thread is just right. I love how I don't have to worry about knocking the machine over when I'm trying to change thread colors out for her or that when she is starting a new section of sewing that she doesn't have to fight to keep the needle threaded. My little girl has already completed her first project on it and I was very satisfied with how the stitching of the machine came out. This machine is the way to go!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? looks just like the picture.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Solid, feels just like my full size machine just slightly smaller. Exactly what I was looking for.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome machine
 from North Hollywood, CA,  Dec 31, 2011

This machine is awesome. Exactly what I wanted for my ten yar old daughter. This machine is very simple, but can do anything any other complicated mating can do. Also, it is very portable and heavy enough to no tip over. We LOVE it!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? identical
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfect for my ten year old daughter
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product!
 from Virginia,  Dec 29, 2011

I did a lot of research before purchasing this for my 7 yr old daughter. It has been great purchase! She really enjoys it. It is easy to use and easy to figure out. The manual is very easy to read and follow. I am also a novice with sewing and it has been a great purchase. Looked into a small Brother machine but I am glad I spent the extra $$ and went with the cute factor. She will be able to use it for years.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Was not the biggest fan
 from Fort Wayne, IN,  Nov 2, 2011

If you are looking for a beginning machine for a child, this is not it! The front load bobbin is next to impossible to load correctly. I got this machine because my machine is a Janome and I wanted it to be compatible with mine. I think that if it had the drop bobbin it would have worked out great for my daughter. I ended up selling this one and getting a Janome with the drop bobbin. That has worked out much better for both of us!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Performs pretty well.
 from Hinckley, Ohio,  Oct 27, 2011

The sewing machine runs well for average sewing. I had trouble with the needle going over piping it kept stalling and jammed. But for the price I guess you cannot expect a really heavy duty machine.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. For the money the quality is sufficient.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful
 from Norther Virginia,  Oct 22, 2011

I bought this machine almost a year ago as something for my daughter to use. I have a machine with more features, but nothing fancy or really good ... after using this machine, I haven't unpacked my actual machine in months and I have worked out an agreement that I can use her machine as well. This is the one on the table now. I don't do anything fancy, but what this machine does it does WELL. The first thing I tried with it, because I sure didn't think it would work, was to fix something I screwed up. Essentially, I used the longest zig zap stitch on this to go through 3 layers of brocade and 2 layers of interfacing and it DID it. I didn't think it would. Since then, It had acted like a MUCH bigger machine than it is. It is a solid little thing. Yes, the buttonhole isn't fancy, but it works. I don't do that many buttons. What this machine does, is it just works. I have rarely broken a thread. I have rarely had anything jam. It goes more than fast enough for me, and better yet, it is so portable. I can fit it AND other stuff in the tote that used to barely fit my POS Singer. After buying this machine, I will never look at another brand, because if Janome can make a machine this reliable for this little, I am sold.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wonderful
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sews beautiful and cute too!
 from MT,  Sep 4, 2011

I purchased this for my 8 yr old granddaughter who is learning to sew, she loves the Hello Kiitty look, it is simple to operate and she was able to make her dog a blanket the first day she had it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice and very easy to use
 from Southeast US,  Jul 21, 2011

This was purchased as a replacement to an older sewing machine for my 6 year old daughter who was struggling with the old "hand-me-down". She took to this sewing machine very easily and feels very comfortable using this. The stitch settings are easy to change and overall this works out perfectly for her. I am really glad I got such a good deal on it!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Image reflected actual product.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description on site was very accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy and well built.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than I thought
 from Northern California,  Mar 17, 2010

So I felt stupid buying a Hello Kitty sewing machine as a 35-year-old, but it actually turned out to be the buy of the century! This machine is totally perfect for the first time sewing enthusiast like me. I highly recommend it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Machine!
 from Albuquerque, NM,  Sep 11, 2011

Cute, colorful and slightly smaller than an average sewing machine. This was perfect as a gift a for a teen looking to sew more. Don't let the Hello Kitty logo fool you though it sews like a gem and is an excellent first machine that can produce high quality sewing without frustration.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent Janome quality.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 85 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top