Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 88 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Brother XR-9000
 from Ashburn, Va,  Jul 25, 2010

Machine is lightweight and ready to use out of the box. Instructions and DVD are concise and very helpful.I have recommended this machine to all sewers I chat with. The only problem was trying to convince Fed-Ex to find the address to deliver the package. I had to drive across town to pick it up myself. Fortunately, the machine made it worth my while.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my new machine!
 from Sacramento, CA,  Jul 22, 2010

The sewing machine I purchased from Overstock.com exeeded any expectations I might have had. This Brother XR9000 is amazing as is the price I paid for it. My previous machine cost $ 1800.00 16 years ago and did not have some of the features this new machine has. I will always go to Overstock.com when thinking about future purchases of any kind. Great job, Overstock.com!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother XR9000 sewing machine
 from Utah,  Jul 7, 2010

So far I have enjoyed my machine. I thought it had the automatic needle threader instead of one that I had to help but that's ok. At least my eyes can see to do that. Threading the machine completely by hand was getting too much for these eyes. The machine is lighter weight than my 30 year old Kenmore and that is really nice because I can use it upstairs or down. My old one was too heavy to carry up and down the stairs. So far no complaints except the minor one of the needle threader.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Sewing machine
 from Croghan, NY,  Jun 10, 2010

I bpught this machine to use while I was getting my expensive machine serviced, but I love it so much that I will contine to use it. There are so many excellent options, such as: the fact that you don't have to use the foot pedal, I never dreamed that I would ever sew without a foot pedal. The many speeds that you can use. The many positions for the needle, I am moving the needle all the time, it is so much handier than just left/right/center. the only reason that I didn't give it a 5 is because the needle screw is too close to the bed of the machine and it will hit your fingers, I am learning to use my hand is different positions to avoid this, I hope they change this on future models. That is my only complaint, other than that this is a very, very good machine, especially for the proce, I would never expect to get such a nice machine for this inexpensive price, it is worth much more.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great machine
 from VALPARAISO,IN,  May 19, 2010

THIS IS A VERY WELL MADE MACHINE, VERY LIGHT, THE BOOK IS REALY EASY TO UNDERSTAND.I WILL TELL ALL MY FRIENDS ABOUT IT, THE PRICE WAS VERY VERY LOW . IT HAS ALOT OF DIFFERENT STITCHES THAT IM STIL PLAYING WITH AND KEEP FINDING MORE AND MORE THINGS TO SEW EVERYDAY. I AM VERY PLEASED WITH MY NEW SEWING MACHINE.THE SHIPING WAS VERY QUICK TOO.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sewing machine
 from TX,  Apr 22, 2010

I LOVE MY SEWING MACHINE!!! Its pretty freaking cool!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother sewing machine
 from Houston, TX,  Apr 22, 2010

I am so pleased w/my order. It arrived on time and in excellent shape. I have everything and more to get started. And after shopping for the best deal, I ended up w/the 9000 model instead of the 7000 and paid less. Thanks Overstock.com, my shopping around paid off.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to Use!
 from Sorrento, FL,  Apr 14, 2010

I really like this machine! Lots of fun to sew on & so simple that a beginner can use it. It sews beautifully & the decorative stitches are not only beautiful but extremely easy to do. I had an aged Kenmore machine (35 years old!) that was extremely tempermental - finally bit the dust & I was looking at a Bernina - couldn't justify spending that much money on a machine that I knew I'd never recoup the investment on....this little Brother is awesome & sews just as well as, if not better, than the low end Bernina. You can't go wrong with it. Love it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What a great buy!
 from Memphis TN,  Apr 14, 2010

Not only do I absolutely love this machine, I have persuaded 5 of my family members to purchase it also, just by demonstrating its features. The alphabet is small, true, but very easy to work and is adequate for quilt labels. I quilt everyday with this machine and it performs beautifully. The automatic needle threader and drop in bobbin are so easy to use. The machine is quiet and lightweight, just perfect to take to sew-ins. I have tried all of the fancy stitches and they work very well. I have tried new stitches and techniques just to play with the machine. I like that it comes with a hard cover, which is great for carrying. I have shopped many other machines and this has the same features as the "big boys" but at a much more affordable price that is easily one third of those.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very light
 Apr 13, 2010

I really like the machine. It is all I expected. What surprised me was how light it is. The only thing that was inconvenient was that Overstock would not ship it to an APO address, so I had to have it shipped to my friend in the States and she shipped it to me. This way it took a longer time to get here.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother XR9000
 from Texas,  Apr 7, 2010

I bought this machine for my daughter and she is delighted with it. Set it up and made a garment the first evening after work. She is impressed with all the features and with the "comes with" items. Very easy to use.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Sewing Machine
 from UK,  Apr 7, 2010

This is a brilliant Sewing Machine, you would expect quality from Brother and they have delivered well with this model. The only downside is the Font its very tiny. However the rest is fine and performs very well.Although the automatic threader is a little fidley, but with the powerful light,you dont really need it.I would recommend this to any one who wants something different from the straight sewing machine.This is good value for the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sews well
 from Hamilton, New Jersey,  Mar 29, 2010

I like this machine and the functions. But the only issues I would like to warn anyone wanting to purchase is that I couldn't get the extension table to stay put on this machine when sewing . The other issue is that when quilting, because the machine is super lightweight it moves. So I do the small piecing on this machine and the larger piecing on my heavier machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice machine
 from TN,  Mar 25, 2010

This machine was purchased to replace my 20 year old, 6 stitch mechanical machine. The features are easy to use and understand. After 8 hours of sewing, no problems so far.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I'm Thrilled!
 Mar 23, 2010

This is my first sewing machine and I was a bit wary that I wouldn't be able to use it properly without lessons. As I live in Mexico, this would have been a bit problomatic for me. After I got the machine home, set it up and watched the DVD and read the instruction manual, I started sewing. In three days I had knocked out 2 throw pillows. a fairy princess dress made from an old negligee and some tulle for my 4 yr old and a dog bed with a zipperd cover for my doberman. None of them perfect, but all pretty good. I find this machine incredibly easy to work with and couln't be happier. My husband unfortuanately hates it...he never sees me anymore. LOL.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my machine
 from Memphis,,  Mar 16, 2010

I love my new machine (Brother XR-9000). It is wonderfully easy to use. I have made button holes and used the embroidery function. I was amazed that I could put a 10 letter word in the embroidery function and it would be able to complete the word. Love this machine. I am buying a walking foot for this machine and hope to do more and more as I have the time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sewing Machine
 from Fort Myers, Fl.,  Mar 13, 2010

Overall a good machine for the price. The wrong DVD was in the shipment. Called and received another wrong DVD. There are still features I can't use.. Sincerely, ************

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother XR9000 120-stich Function Computrerized Se
 from Auburn Hills, MI,  Mar 4, 2010

The machine was bought to take to Quilting meeting away from home. It is really quite lite and will be easy to transport. It sews nice and the Alphabet fonts works great. For the price it is an excellent machine that I would recomend to anyone.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT!
 from Brick, NJ,  Mar 3, 2010

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this sewing machine!! So far I've made flower yo-yos for corsages, a tiered skirt, an art smock, an a beach cover up for my preschooler. I'll be making baby bibs this week too. My old machine was from the 1950s and what a change this is! I can't say enough how much I love the needle threader. I have yet to have any problems sewing any type of fabric and look forward to learning how to make more new things!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrific Sewing Machine
 from Fernandina Beach, FL,  Feb 24, 2010

This sewing machine is extremely easy to use, even for a beginner. I love the fact that you do not need to use a foot pedal unless you want to.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 88 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought