Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 88 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great if it works properly
 from Lexington, KY,  Dec 13, 2010

This machine is very nice. However it worked from March 2010 until December 2010. Right in the middle of making a new Christmas apron it just started having tension issues that would not correct using the trouble-shooting instructions. This machine was refurbished. The machine was used very little prior to the tension issues. So it was not over use at the core of the problem. Overstock Live Chat was very nice and I am currently awaiting a follow-up call since I have thrown the box away and the machine has a manufacturers warranty also.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This has Lettering!
 from La Jolla, CA,  Nov 23, 2009

This machine is fantastic! I have owned many sewing machines, and this has excellent stitch quality and it is very easy to use. You really don't have to know how to sew to use this machine. The big secret to this machine is that it can embroider letters! I can't believe that Overstock has a sewing machine of this quality that does block lettering for under $300. It is very solid and heavy duty but it's a real bargain because of the lettering, stitch count and quality. 2 thumbs up!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for beginners
 from Kansas City, MO,  Aug 2, 2011

I own three other High End Brother Sewing machines that cost from $1500 to $3000.00 I was expecting the heavy duty quality from this machine as I have experience for my other three. Big disappointment. Not even close to the Quality and very cheaply made. Does not sew through thickness such as jeans. Only good for light/medium weight fabric and straight straight stitching. Offers a varity of decorative stitches just not the high end quality of the finished design as my other machines. Learned my lesson; will chose one of the more expensvie refurbished machines if I decided to buy another one. Very unhappy that Brother has chosen to decrease the quality of their machines even in their lower end machines.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Matched
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. too plastic and light weight
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
well, computerized machines just are not it
 from Tacoma WA,  Jul 15, 2011

Got this machine, and for a year worked great, then timing was off, got it tuned up, and never been the same. I think the parts just cant take the beating an all metal machine can. So while this product is good for simple (not many layers of fabric) sewing, it sucks for trying to thick stuff, or a LOT of sewing, you will kill it..

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? looks like it
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. this machine could NOT take the amount of sewing I do..
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The Bobbin doesn't work - and therefore neither does the machine. I've never been able to sew anything. I've had repair shops look at it and they can't fix it so this is a useless machine to me.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sews like a dream!
 from Scranton, Pa,  Sep 27, 2010

I've had this machine for a few weeks now and have used it to sew 4 different garments. The digital settings take a minute to get used, like the automatic threading and bobbin winding. I love how fool proof the settings are, for example when switching to a decorative design that requires a special presser foot, the machine will give you an error message and not let you sew until the correct foot is put on the machine. WIth my old machine, I used to break a TON of needles trying to sew with the wrong foot, lol. Reading/following the instructions is a must otherwise you'll get frustrated with the error messages that pop up. Also, the bobbin has to be put in correctly or your tension will be off. My old machine was a Brother that I'd had for 11 years, so I felt completely confident with going back to brother for my next machine. Because this is a refurb, I did purchase the replacement plan for $20 just in case anything happens. I consider this machine to be an excellent investment and I can see myself getting a lot of use out the decorative stitches. Overall, I would highly recommend this sewing machine!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good
 from D.C. area,  Dec 24, 2009

This machine is fairly basic but at the same time fancy, because of all the different stitch capabilities it has. At first i was a little weary on buying a refurbished machine, but i don't regret it at all! Although I was a little disappointed it did not have the quilting stitch that allows you to basically free stitch...but i guess i can buy that!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 from Reno, NV,  Dec 16, 2009

Love this machine! Have had it for two weeks. Be careful with overstock on sewing machines though, as I just purchased two as gifts and i made sure to check them out before I gave them, and they both had significant problems. Overstock allowed me to return them, but make sure you check it out before you give it as a gift.As for this machine, the alphabet is great, I didnt need multiple fonts, and the stitches are great too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Didn't last long
 from California,  Nov 30, 2009

This machine sewed great for a couple of months, then just after the warranty was up it quit entirely. I took it to a sewing machine dealer and he said it would cost $89 to fix but told me privately that he wouldn't invest the money in this particular machine. He said the insides were so cheaply made that it is not durable and the gears would break again. I am trying to figure out whether to get it fixed or not. I am very dissipointed. I wish I had bought a simpler, more durable but more expensive machine to begin with.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Junk! Stay away
 from SC,  Nov 3, 2011

I would strongly discourage anyone fom purchasing this machine. I recieved it approx 8 months ago as a gift. The 25 year warranty is a crock. More like a 12 month warranty. This is the second time my machine has been sent to the shop... now it needs a new motherboard. I've spent about $120 out of my own pocket shipping this beast for repairs. The nearest repair shop is over 75 miles from my house, and I had to pay for shipping from the repair facility to the brother corportation to get my motherboard replaced. Not impressed considering the price of the machine, and mine was purchased new and not refurbished!! Stitches are not very straight at all either, its ok for piecing but I wouldnt use it on anything that shows. And the alphabet function doesn't look very nice. I feel like I am stuck with this machine, I am not even comfortable giving it away because it's performance over the past 8 months has been pathetic.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Non-existent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Too Bad So Sad...
 from Virginia,  Nov 1, 2011

Multiple reviews and then attempts on my part after purchase rendered this machine a bad purchase. For whatever reason there are people looking for parts to this machine but cannot get a hold of compatible parts. I went to Brother as well and came up blank. I did find another Brother machine that was just a little more costly, was not a refurbished machine and had parts readily available. When purchasing a new machine I suggest that buying all the accessories you think you might need immediately after purchase so you don't find them unattainable after they are no longer "new" products. I came across Multiple blogs where people were past the return date on this purchase and then could not obtain needed parts. I am grateful I found out soon enough to return it. Also, even though the machine I did purchase was a little more pricy it also does a lot more. It also has a usb for future updates and accessory downloads. Hope this helps.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not sure I did not use it
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My machine
 from Stuttgart,Ar,  Sep 20, 2011

I'm very pleased with my purchase. I'd used the same machine for years and loved it so when it came time for a new one I wasn't sure which way to go. After spending several hours looking I settled on this one. I have no regrets at all. If I could change anything about it it would the font size,wish it made the letters bigger.But I can work with it. It very easy to use.So if your thinking about getting this machine. I'd say go for it and the price is right.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It's exactly as the image saids.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's a great machine. Is all plastic so it's light weight.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Alphabet Looks Fine
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Aug 28, 2011

Comes with a CD describing how to use the machine, and how to use the alphabet font. We would recommend you watch all the videos. Best value machine i could find with a alphabet font, and it works just fine. Nothing super special, but you can add names and words to items with ease - the reason we got it. Great machine, upgrade for us from a sears model 15 years old, with basic alphabet ability that is fun to use. Very happy with this.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My new best toy
 from Farnborough, Hampshire, UK,  Nov 9, 2010

First off I want to say how impressed I was with the service I received from Overstock. I can't rate them highly enough for communication and delivery. I was kept informed of my delivery schedule by e mail from the time my order was placed to the time it was delivered. My sewing machine was dispatched on Wednesday 3rd November and I took delivery of it this morning, Tuesday 9th November. Five working days from the USA to the UK. Brilliant service. As for my new toy......... I've played with every button, knob, switch and dial for the last two hours and I still haven't come anywhere near to discovering what this machine can do. It's amazingly simple to operate (I'm not a natural born machinist), with clear instructions for those fiddly things, like changing needles, presser feet and winding bobbins (I did say I wasn't a natural). I've embroidered all our names onto every spare bit of material I can find and keep thrusting them under my children's noses only to be met with looks of disdain and comments of "yeah it's lovely mum". Why did I expect them to be excited about a sewing machine? I don't think there's anything this machine can't do, apart from make a cup of coffee! Every stitch has come out perfectly (yes I've tried them all, and the alphabet and the numbers) with no bunching of the material or unravelling of the thread. The puppies seemed slightly more excited than the children when I showed them their blankets, newly embroidered with their names around the edge. Everything that was described as being included with the machine was packed in the box as promised. The machine itself looks brand new, there wasn't a mark on it. All in all this machine is a must for anyone, whether they be a complete beginner or an experienced seamstress. To all you UK enthusiasts that haven't discovered Overstock yet, get your finger out and start ordering. Oh and by the way, you'll need a 100W Step Down Voltage Converter for this particular model for use in the UK . I picked mine up for about 30 from Maplins but you can get them cheaper on one of the auction sites. I wouldn't hesitate to use Overstock again and will definitely be recommending the site to all my friends.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother sewing machine xr 9000
 from Utah,  Apr 18, 2010

I bought two machines. One for my wife and one for my daughter. One of the machines is great and the other probably needs to be returned. It has problems with the pressure tension on the needle. I have discussed the problem with the technitions but still is not fixed. I have no problems with overstock . com.. They delivered as promised and any product sold has the potential of having problems. The problem is with the machine not "overstock".

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
unsatisfied customer
 from Wellsville, MO,  Feb 9, 2010

I used the machine twice and it locked up. I really can't say that I am happy with the BrotherXR9000. Very disapointed in the product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works great
 from Utah,  Dec 16, 2009

My daughter knocked my last sewing machine off the table, so I found myself buying another one. My previous machine was a Brother and I loved it, so I decided to go with the same brand, but more features. The machine is light, very easy to use and the stitches look beautiful. I was really surprised. I don't do tons of sewing, just heming pants, buttons and an occasional project for a Halloween costume or curtaines, so I am not writing as a very experienced seamstress, but I would recommend this highly. It even comes with an instructional DVD.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good starter machine.
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Nov 16, 2012

Easy, convenient. Sets tension for each stitch, no more hassle. Lots of stitches to choose. Very pleased except for the plastic parts. Arm extender a big help.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Would prefer less plastic parts, afraid of breaking them.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine for begining quilting/sewing needs
 from fairmont wv,  Mar 23, 2012

very easy to use and works wonderfully for what I'm needing a machine to do.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? looked the same in the pics as the actual machine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very descriptive, would like to have an open toe quilting foot, but was not included in this package for some reason
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Refurbished?
 from Waynesville, MO,  Dec 15, 2011

it was creacked, shipped with very little paper only

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It can with creck
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I was told refurished ment, repacked, that someone did not watn it, but in good shape
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it was creached
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 88 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top