Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 58 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Buyer Beware! Does not come with instructional DVD
 from Nashville, TN,  Mar 7, 2013

I'm certainly not a professional seamstress but I've threaded a machine before and I can't figure this one out from the instructions. Apparently there was to be a DVD with the sewing machine but since this was purchased as 'refurbished,' NO DVD was included. It would sure help to see someone actually performing the task of threading the machine and threading the bobbin. I couldn't find videos online for this model so I'll have to purchase the DVD separately. This detail should have been in the item listing.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous Machine
 from Henrico, Va,  Jan 29, 2013

I have had this machine for awhile and I received it in new condition even though it was refurb. It came with great accessories. I am quite happy with this purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for beginners
 from Miami Beach, FL,  Dec 7, 2012

Perfect for beginners like myself.. but if I had to purchase one again I would def. choose a Brother but would have liked the Project Runway Model simply because their are more u-tube videos that go over the features, ect.. and it is a more popular model.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great little sewing machine.
 from Midwest,  Aug 9, 2012

These Brother machines are great - I needed a second machine and didn't hesitate to buy a refurbished Brother from Overstock. After a little problem with the first one that I received, Overstock sent another machine, looks like new and works just fine. Shipping was very quick and product is great. It is light weight and easy to move around, instructions are quite easy to follow, highly recommended.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this sewing machine.
 from Lynnfield, MA,  Jun 16, 2012

I really like this sewing machine. It does everything I want it to do, but isn't confusing for a very novice sewer.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100%
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Did the trick!
 from Utah,  May 28, 2012

We got this to get a costume dress sewn for a play my daughter was in. Everyone involved said the machine held up great. We didn't use it for anything too fancy; pretty much straight seaming.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Valid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's worked great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother XR 7700 sewing machine
 from Haddon Township, NJ,  Apr 25, 2012

I needed a new sewing machine for household fix-ups and simple sewing projects. The last time I had my Pfaff repaired, it cost more than what I paid for this Brother machine so I felt it was a good investment. Wrong. It struggled to go through three layers of standard weight fabric. I've been a home sewer for more than 50 years and I found the directions difficult to understand. Best thing about the machine was the bobbin winder. I returned it for a Singer, also from Overstock. I obtained a mailing order by email and I still had the box, so the machine was returned within days. I got an almost immediate credit on my account.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? match
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate, except it wasn't really heavy duty
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I returned it.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent machine
 from Delaware,  Apr 25, 2012

After reading many reviews online, I purchased this machine to replace my broken machine. So far I am very pleased. Shipping was very fast. Despite being refurbished, it looks just like new. It's easy to set up and use -- the manual is quite easy to understand. It's capable of doing more decorative stiches than I will probably ever use, but the accessories like the walking foot, 1/4 inch foot, quilting bar and free motion foot are very helpful with quilting.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for boat canvas
 from Redondo Beach, CA,  Apr 19, 2012

This machine goes thru four layers of sunbrella canvas with no issues. It's very easy to operate and has more stitching options than I'll ever need. A nice machine for the price.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on the money
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it's basically a brand new machine. Not a scratch on it.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great sewing machine!
 from Tri-cities, wa,  Mar 29, 2012

Have used this once and works amazin!!! For the price it a great steal. Very easy to use. Love my new sewing machine!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from Omaha, NE,  Mar 19, 2012

I have had mine about nine months now and I love it. I was looking for an inexpensive machine that I could do crafts with and sew kids clothes and curtains with. It is perfect. Small, lightweight and easy to use.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother XR 7700 sewing machine
 from Idaho,  Mar 4, 2012

I learnered sewing/quilting basics on my aunts expensive machine so was not expecting much with this sewing machine. I was pleasantly surprised at how great this machine is! It is so easy to use. Threading instruction are on the machine so I'll never have to go find them. Everything about it is easy. I highly recommend this product.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sewing made easy
 from Syracuse, Utah,  Dec 31, 2011

As long term seamstress this machine was easy to learn how to use. It is much better to use than my old machine that I wore out. It adapts easily to all the different types of fabrics that I like to use.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Hard to mess up the image on a sewing machine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Product description was spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The finish and build met expectations
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great machine for anyone that sews
 from crewe va,  Nov 15, 2011

I own a quilt shoppe- this machine for the price is top of the line- it does everything you need- needle down, govenor for speed, table, all the attachments you need- every stitch needed for quilting- I love this machine and most of my quilters have bought one- Brother makes an awesome product- these were originally made for ***- you can not buy this from Brothers dealer

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. top notch
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine for the price!
 from WI,  Nov 8, 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect for the price paid. I was in need of a machine that zig-zagged. I have been having a ball trying out all the embroidery stitches as I work on projects. The self threading feature is nice but the little hook got bent to the side and I had the dickens of a time getting it centered again to grab the thread through the eye of the needle. Ever so often the thread will jam up by the bobbin and that is a challenge to get out since the machine doesn't have directions for how to access the area easily to clear the jam. I found a tweezer helps to grab the threads. Other than those 2 things I am loving using it! It is definately worth the price paid (which is what I was quoted to have my old machine repaired!) Have fun sewing!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Deal, Great Machine
 from Cincinnati, OH,  Oct 12, 2011

My mom had me pick out a sewing machine for myself as a birthday present and I chose this one; we bought it refurbished from overstock.com for a reasonable price and I love it. It's lightweight and compact - important because I don't leave my machine set up year-round, so I need it to be portable. It's packed with features, including tons of embroidery stitches. It's easy to use - I was set up and sewing within minutes. And it arrived at my house within days of placing the order. The only downside: stitching heavy fabrics such as denim isn't recommended for this machine. But I'm about to buy another identical machine as a gift; I would highly recommend this machine for a variety of crafting/sewing tasks.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looked the same in person as online.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality, tons of features.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Can't figure out the bobbin!!
 from Monticello, IA,  Aug 10, 2011

Good luck getting this bobbin threaded - even though it looks simple and the directions are clear---it's not easy! I bought this machine a year ago and it's still sitting in my den - not sure if I will ever get it to work, unless I take it to a professional sewing shop. I ordered it on line so I didn't have to puruse the malls and shops.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? THe machine is not disappointing except several seasoned seamstresses can't the bobbin threaded either.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. THe machine itself seems of decent quality - the mechanism to get the bobbin threaded is confusing!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive
 from Michigan,  Aug 3, 2011

So far, this is a wonderful sewing machine, from what little I've used it so far, I would give it a thumbs up! Great machine!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better than I expected
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrific Sewing Machine!
 from Paradise, CA,  Jul 8, 2011

I absolutely LOVE this machine! It's been awhile since I've done any sewing so I was a bit apprehensive about purchasing it. It couldn't be any easier to operate! It's quiet and does a wonderful job. I highly recommend this sewing machine!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!!
 from East Texas,  Apr 27, 2011

I bought this machine to be able to tailor jeans. It works like a dream. The machine arrived promptly and looks brand new. Had extra feet included as well. Love the clear view of the bobbin. All the stitches work great. Be sure to have manual as a quick reference and you will have no problems.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 58 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top