Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Disappointing
 from Baltimore, MD,  Jul 27, 2008

I liked the facets offered by this sewing machine. The manual was useful and I was looking forward to using it. I had no problem threading it (I liked the needle threader) and the bobbin worked well. I tried out the different tensions, and stitch widths and lengths, and used the zigzag feature. However, after only 30 minutes' use making a dress for my granddaughter's doll, it stuck in reverse and would not stitch forwards again, despite multiple attempts to correct it with the reverse-stitch button and, finally, by turning it off and back on again but nothing would work. I had no alternative but to return it , and wonder if I can risk buying another Brother. I would hesitate to recommend it for that reason.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Okay, but not any better than my 10 yr old machine
 from Seattle, WA,  Jun 26, 2009

I am returning this machine. When it showed up I was all excited about the things it could do that my old machine could not, but immediately noticed when I started using it that it is way clunkier than my old Kenmore that's over 10 years old. The feed is just not very smooth. It also has some tension issues. I adjusted everything multiple times and still ended up with loose loops. It's strange cuz it will sew fine and then there will be a loop here and there and sew fine again. This was just on regular cotton material, I can't imagine what it would do on anything thicker.So I am returning it and will go back to my Kenmore until I can find something else. Probably will not buy a sewing machine again online unless I have tested it out somewhere.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this machine
 from Chattanooga, TN,  Oct 16, 2009

I purchased this machine several weeks ago and gave it a thorough workout. I had a few issues at first but soon discovered all the "issues" were operator error. I tested with several layers of denin and it sewed through all layers without a hitch. The machine comes with every foot (including a walking foot)you should ever need and a handy extension table for quilting. Very good machine for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Avoid!
 from Tucson, AZ,  Sep 3, 2009

I bought this machine on sale at a retail outlet (new) for the "refurbished" price. I, too, was all excited about the multitude of decorative stitches, plus the platform table for quilting. I was very disappointed at how difficult it was to use (and I have over 40 yrs sewing machine experience). The instruction manual is confusing, the bobbin type is SPECIFIC for this machine only (good luck trying to find replacements). I could not for the life of me get the tensions adjusted to even make a single garment. Rather than attempt to fix it, I'll find some courageous soul to be it's owner. I wish my old Babylock Denim Buster could be fixed instead.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value, Easy, Versatile
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Apr 17, 2008

I haven't sewn for 20 years, but wanted to fiddle around with it again. This inexpensive machine surpassed my expectations. It does thread itself! I did it just reading the initial quick start directions. It has all the useful things expensive machines have. The platform is nice also to keep fabric straight and the fact that it is portable fits into my household better than a cabinet machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very dissapointed
 from Houston,  Mar 27, 2012

I ordered this sewing machine and it arrived without the foot pedal/power cord. I contacted customer service through email and did not get a response. I had to chat online with a representative to receive feedback and the promise that they will contact me confirming the shipment of the missing part. It's been over 5 business days since my original complaint and I have yet to receive that confirmation. I missing paid lessons due to this and overstock.com has not done anything concrete about it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
User friendly & full of extras
 from wilmington, nc,  Apr 6, 2008

As a first time sewer I wanted a decent machine that wasn't too expensive. This machine fits my criteria above & beyond. It is easy to use straight out of the box with detailed instructions plus "reminder diagrams" on the machine itself. I can't wait to start on my first of many sewing projects!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved this!
 Feb 26, 2015

It has worked great for me for going on 8 years now.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
brother 3750 sewing machine
 from tennessee,  Dec 16, 2012

there is NO WAY this machine was "refurbished"!!!!!! It has never sewn right from day one..it skips stitches, breaks thread, grabs multiple threads from the bobbin, the gears or clutch either engage or disengage causing thread to bunch up...does'nt matter what material or needle size, new bobbin ,new thread..its just junk!!!!!!

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. garbage
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value
 from Pittsburg, NH,  Oct 18, 2012

I replaced my older Brother that was damaged in moving. This has all I need for various sewing tasks at a truly great price. Operation is simple & directions are straightforward. VERY lightweight and easy to move.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate image
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? details were accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother XL3750 sewing machine
 from Hoosier Wasteland,  Jan 3, 2012

Supposed to have been a refurbished machine, but I suspect it was simply repackaged and shipped. The machine had a chip out of the body. Also notes placed by first owner to mark settings were still on the machine. Setting the thread tension is difficult and occasionally impossible. I have used this machine for 5 weeks now and I think I will regret this purchase.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very reliable sewing machine.
 from Newark, DE,  Nov 23, 2011

This sewing machine replaced one that was 40 years old. The stitch capacity is great, and the instructions, once studied a little, are easy to use. It is lightweight, but has successfully sewn through every kind of material used so far. I'm very pleased with the purchase and the model chosen.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Identical
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description of production
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality sewing machine.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sewing Machine
 from California,  Jul 8, 2011

Love my sewing machine. Still haven't used all the fancy stitches but am learning.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? true
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I needed
 from Atlanta,  Jun 30, 2011

This machine was good to go right out of the box. It has great features - lots of stitches, the wide sable and cuff options, a self-threader -- more features than I will ever need! Diagrams right on the machine help you remember how it is threaded, and the manual is easy to follow for other things, like sorting through the various stitches and tensions. I had been pricing sewing machines for a ew weeks when I found this refurbished model. I paid less for it than anyplace was charging for a basic model machine, about half what comparable machines were selling for in the marketplace. Standard delivery took only two days to me, and it was free, so I got an amazing deal. The only problem I had was with the lightbulb. It died after only a few hours, and nothing in the manuals helped me figure out how to remove and replace it. (Turns out it involves removing screws and part of the case!) I also had a heck of a time finding the right sized candleabra-base bulb, but after seven stores, success!

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? This is a great machine for the price
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine for beginning sewer
 from Indiana,  Jun 11, 2011

Bought the machine for my college aged daughter as an entry level machine. Wanted t get her started out right, on a name brand machin. Tthis sewing machine is truly a wonderful item. Great quality product, with loads of functions. Easy to follow instructions for even a beginning sewer. Quality product, that will last her or years to come, and offers many options as her skills improve.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Yeas
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? True brother quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE THIS MACHINE
 from hemet CA,  Nov 9, 2010

I got this machine for my daughter, so I would have a sewing machine when I am at her house. (I hope she will use it also)...It works just beautiful. It is light and has easy to follow directions. It does a lot more than I though for the price I paid. Beautiful and run like a dream nice and easy. Thanks

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent machine
 from Altoona, Pa,  Oct 25, 2010

i bought this machine because i had an old machine that you could no longer get parts for. everything on it works really well. it is lightweight with a carrying handle so you can take it anywhere. i would recommend this machine to anyone.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine.
 from Port Hadlock ,WA,  Jul 13, 2010

I got a really great machine.I paid only half of it would have cost me at my local sewing center.I am very pleased with it and it came in a reasonale amount of time.I will definatly use Overstock again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy with machine
 from Texas,  Jun 1, 2010

Very happy with machine. The only time I had problems with tension is when I popped the bobbin in the wrong way. Sews through denim with ease and is easy on delicates.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great sewing machine!
 from Ashland, OR,  May 19, 2010

I bought this for my pregnant daughter. She has used my machine, but now that she has a house of her own and a baby on the way she wanted a machine. I shopped all over and this was definitely the best bargain for the money. This machine has a lot more functions than mine does, plus it has a free arm. My daughter has used it several times and is totally thrilled. Has sewn new cushions for her rocker, little boy bibs with neckties on them, some cute appliqued baby burp cloths... Definitely 5 stars. Wish I would have purchased one for myself!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought