For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 198 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
The Little Machine That Could....
 from NYC,  Apr 13, 2007

This is a wonderful sewing machine. It's easy to use, has some lovely features to it, such as the automatic threader, which for those of us who wear glasses is an absolute eye-saver and the reverse stitch button for double-seaming. It's easy to thread, both upper threading and bobbin threading and it's very easy to use, with tension, stitch length and stitch type controls in the logical places. Also love the buttonhole foot as it allows you to put your button in the slide and will automatically calculate the correct length for your buttonhole. The machine is also lightweight, which compared to my old Singer is a blessing. Lovely machine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
brother 2600
 from Dayton, Ohio,  Nov 2, 2006

I purchased this on Friday, and rec'd the following Wednesday! It is very easy to use, and the manual explains things very clearly. It is an excellent machine and can be used by a beginner. Thank you for offering this; it has many functional options, at a very afforable price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excelent sewing machine
 from South Bend, IN,  May 6, 2006

I ordered this machine for my first ever sewing project and it worked out great. It was very easy to get started sewing, especially with the automatic needle threader. I highly recommend it. Also, the price at Overstock.com was great and shipping was amazingly fast.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it - so simple
 from Arizona,  Mar 6, 2007

I cleared space in anticipation for the newest edition to my crafting area and I was not let down. I am not a seamstress, not by far, but this machine was so simple, the instruction have lots of picutres, that's a bonus, but even without the pictures it is really easy to follow. For being refurbished, it looks like new. The machine is in fantastic shape and all the little goodies in the "glove compartment" we perfect. If I had to do it again, it would be a no brainer. Once again, an Overstock satisfied customer.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from hebron,IN.(usa),  Jan 30, 2006

it works as expected to!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Little Work Horse!
 from Greenbrae, CA,  Feb 1, 2008

This is a GREAT mechanical sewing machine as a second machine or for someone just starting to sew. It is easy to thread and use for those quick repair jobs or take to class. It is sturdy and well made and doesn't bulk at any type of fabric. So far I have repaired jeans, hemmed dress pants, sewed on buttons and made a cover for it with ease and professional results.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Happy with my new sewing machine
 from Ridgway, PA,  Nov 19, 2007

I received my new Brother XL2600 just a couple days after I ordered it. I took it out of the box and used it right away. I had to check the manual to see how to use the self threader, other than that it was self explanatory and very easy to use. I am not a novice or a professional, but it fits my needs perfectly; mostly for repairs, sewing patches, hemming and so on. TWO THUMBS UP......

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother XL 2600 is a great deal and easy to use!
 from Birmingham, AL,  Sep 12, 2007

Here's the deal: I had never sewn a stich before using this machine. I read and followed the directions and I was practicing on scrap fabric the day I received it. My first project: 8 curtain panels. Ambitious, yes, but simple with this machine and a little help on measuring fabric from the nice ladies at my local fabric store. The trick to a straight stich I've found is lining the edge of the fabric up with the 5/8 inch measurement on the machine. You have to make sure you fold it far enough under to get to the needle and thread. I've compared prices on machines at discount stores and this (around 80 bucks) is still the best price for all the features and the quality of the machine. It is a refurbished machine-- but it looks brand new and works great. This machine has a built in needle threader, button hole attachment and it even does a blind hem stich (so you don't see the stich on the bottom of dress pants). It does a lot more stuff, too, I just haven't gotten that far yet. Overall, It's a great, easy to use machine, packed with features and stiches for a fantastic price. By the way... I bought it online on a Monday night and received the machine on a Wednesday morning... incredible!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quite nice, so far
 from New York state,  May 15, 2007

I've made several pairs of toddlers' pants, a couple of camp shirts, and a few appliques with this machine, and so far I rather like it. It's easy to use and seems fairly sturdy (I haven't had it for very long yet, so that's hard to say). It's very reassuring to have a 25-year warranty, though! I haven't found the manual to be overly intimidating -- just very detailed, with a lot of drawings, which I find nice. I am not an expert sewer, by any means, but I have used four machines --two Singers, a Husqvarna and this one -- and this one seems to follow the standard mode of threading and bobbin winding (several people commented on how difficult it was to wind the bobbin, thread the machine, etc.). One thing that threw me off is that the needle is offset from the center of the foot -- it's off to the left side of the foot (the other machines I've used before have had the needle right smack center) and at first I sewed a couple of 1/4"seams way too big, because I was lining up the edge of the fabric with the side of the foot...which actually gives you a 1/2" seam. But once I realized that, I just made sure I always lined up the fabric edge with the correct line on the faceplate (these are marked clearly), everything was fine. The bobbin case looks a little delicate -- mostly plastic construction -- so we'll see how well that holds up. So far it seems fine. As far as I can tell, the machine takes a Class 15 plastic bobbin (I had to do some research on the Web to find this out), which is a generic bobbin size made by most manufacturers. I bought some Dritz Class 15s and we'll see if they work.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as Described!
 from Fort Campbell, KY,  Apr 20, 2007

Sewing machine is loud, and poorly constructed. There is no automatic needle threading or bobbin winding. In fact there is no bobbin winding at all! Everytime I try to wind a bobbin, the thread skips off and I have a tangled mess. I am an experianced sewer and I know this in not a user error.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Look at it carefully
 from Mass,  Apr 14, 2007

The description states automatic bobbin. It is not automatic wind. You have to do it yourself, manually on top of the machine. This machine is not what it appears too be. Some prices are too low to be true. Very disapointed and had to return it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
auto threading
 from Illinois,  Apr 12, 2007

I was a little worried about the only neg review in regards to automatic threading. But after recieving and reading the directions was happy to see that you have to thread thru the various tension guides etc but it does thread thru the eye of the needle which is what I really need in these days of trifocals.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
EXCELLENT !!!! The Sewing Machine is Amazing.....
 from Houston, Texas,  Jun 22, 2012

For the Price.....THis is hands down the best sewing machine I've ever seen....This is a must get....I started sewing and 5 hours later I was still sewing....Never jammed....and I was sewing with very thick fabric......I made camper curtains with sunbrella material and patched 5 pair of jeans in one night.....I call that a success. I Kept waiting for the sewing machine to give be promblems all night. But it never did... This is my first time ever taking the time to post a review in my life.....But so many people has helped me and I read many reviews and after enjoying this machine so much.....I just had to post.... Tks....

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother XL 2600I Sewing Machine (Refurbished)
 from Rochester Hills, MI,  Dec 5, 2011

It has been many years since I sewed, but I wanted a quality machine at a fairly low cost in order to practice and start doing small tasks myself. I am familiar with the Brother name and purchased this based on the reviews and my experience with overstock. Quick delivery. I have not had a chance to use it yet, but am sure I will be pleased with the results

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Machine is just as described and looks brand new
 from Knoxville, TN,  Sep 28, 2011

Shipping was reasonable in price and merchandise was received in a very timely manner. The machine was refurbished but still looked brand new and is a great starter machine for my granddaughter.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. have not used yet but have other Brother machines and have had no problems
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Completely Satisfied
 from New York City, NY,  Sep 24, 2011

As a beginner needing a sewing machine mainly for craft projects, I was pleased to find this machine easy to set up and use. It's lightweight and doesn't take up a lot of space. Perfect for my needs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works for What I Need
 from Oklahoma City, OK,  Oct 27, 2010

I bought this machine to learn on, and so far it's been fantastic. I have made a bag, a zippered pouch and a snuggie, and all issues I've had so far have been due to User Error (AKA, me messing up). The weight seems just about right, it has loads of stitches and is easy to thread. It's about as loud as I expected to be, not a whisper but I won't be waking up the neighbors or anything. Can't really complain.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this machine!
 from Wisconsin,  Jul 19, 2010

I have had this machine for two and a half years now, and I sew on it frequently. It has never given me any trouble at all, and it is easy to use. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good basic machine!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
mrs
 from maryland,  Dec 5, 2007

i never felt better about this product and im sure my daughter will like it as a xmas present

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice machine
 from maryland,  Nov 23, 2007

i'm not a profesional, so this sewing machine perfect for me. it's easy to use, looks like brand new and does a great job

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 198 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top