Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 61 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from Fort Lauderdale, FL,  Nov 2, 2010

I am a single man who got tired of paying big bucks to have a tailor shorten my pants and other simple jobs. I was looking for a basic & easy to use machine. Although it can do more than what I need, the Brother VX1435 is the perfect match and at a fantastic price too. I was a little unsure about buying a refurbished machine but it came out of the box as though it came from the factory.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Aug 30, 2009

I found this machine online elsewhere for about $40.00 more than Overstock. I have not done any sewing since 1979 in Home Econ and I can say that this machine was so easy to thread, follow directions and sew. I was sewing on the first day...now for a refresher course on pattern reading! I recommend this machine to anyone wanting to sew again!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cool little machine
 from WA,  Aug 28, 2009

I ordered this model based on the reviews I read here. I wanted a second machine that was easy and light-weight. Since I've sewn most my life on Singer machines, I tried this because a while back, I had purchased a Brother factory refurbed MFC printer and was so impressed that I decided to go ahead and give this sewing machine a try. This sewing machine looked like new and was complete. Of course it took me some time to become accustomed to the way it works, which is not the same as what I was used to and of course its made with a lot of plastic as a lot of things are made with nowadays, but thats also one of the reason its light weight and portable. its a handy little thing to have around, just make a nice dust cover for it and you will never really have to put it away, just leave it sitting someplace convienent. Very simple and basic for everyday use and would be also great for collage dorm room or motorhome seeing as its not a big heavy item to lug around. Of course it cant do half of what my other machine can, but I don't use half of the stitches on the other machine unless its a specialty item I'm making. This would be a great starter machine, and the cost is reasonable. comes with a 25 warrantee, just like a brand new machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Good So Far
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Jul 1, 2009

So far this has been a good item and I have found no issues. I have only had it for about a month.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
priced right
 from California,  May 14, 2009

I just love this little machine. It is the easiest machine to thread! And it sews sweetly. I have a very heavy commercial machine, but love this one as it is lightweight and easy to manage. There are several built in sewing stitches which are very convenient. It is not the top of the line mind you, but if you just need to do simple sewing tasks this is a great machine. I am just enamored with the ease with which you can load a bobbin, whip the thread through the openings and be ready to sew in a matter of minutes. My machine arrived without a bobbin case, but one call to Overstock and all was made right. I LOVE THIS MACHINE!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awesome machine
 from Mississippi Gulf Coast,  Mar 20, 2009

This is a great machine. I upgraded from my Grandmother's 1920's hand crank sewing machine. That is a nice simple machine with one stitch. I wanted something easy to use and this Brother is it. I was able to take it out of the box and start sewing immediately. The array of stitches is awesome! Having the free arm for sleeves is a great bonus. The machine is compact, and nice and light. It would be nice if it had a case for storing or even just to cover whilst sitting on my table - that's it's only negative.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sewing machine purchase
 from Green Bay, WI,  May 25, 2008

I'm very pleased with the Brother sewing machine I purchased. I'm not an experienced seamstress, but it's perfect for what I need & a great machine for me to learn on.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very reasonable
 Jul 14, 2015

I bought it here for a low price - it works for me real well since.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine...
 May 19, 2015

Gifted this machine to someone learning to sew. Great machine...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great
 Apr 14, 2015

was looking for one that was not too fancy for repairs and such. Work out great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good for the price
 from Texas,  Sep 15, 2013

Wife says it works good for a lower end model, she only uses it at the vacation home.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic
 from Laguna Beach, CA,  Apr 12, 2012

I bought this a few years ago and I still love it! I use it for occasional arts and crafts projects and it always fits me needs :)

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works great for quick repairs
 from NY,  Feb 16, 2012

I can't sew but wanted something for quick repair if needed. This did the trick and held up rather well. Not sure you could complete a large project but perfect for my needs.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. made for occasional use- not full time machine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
basic machine
 from AZ,  Jan 24, 2012

Purchased to use in my RV, is OK but I wish I had gone for the next model up with a few more stitch options and only a few $$$ more.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sewing machine
 from ohio,  Sep 10, 2011

this is 5th maching for me and i'm truely enjoying it. it runs very smooth

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good sewing machine for the money
 from St.Louis Mo.,  Aug 12, 2011

Used it the 1st. time as a new sewer and everything turned out perfect.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Real Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be a well built machine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sewing machine well described
 from florida,  Aug 9, 2011

Product was as described. Case had two scratches which is probably why is considered refurbished. Sews very well and is everything I expected from this product.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality, performs well.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
an outstanding machine
 from New Jersey,  Jul 26, 2011

I am a man over seventy ,single and I wanted to to do some sewing with a machine as the sewing I was doing was not working out. So I ordered the Brother sewing machine VX 1435 and not knowing anything aboiut machines or sewing I put this machine together and it was easy and started to sew.I have no intention to use all the features of this machine but I will use whatever I can lean -- it's agreat machine.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exactly the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on target
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful machine
 from Washington, DC,  Jul 5, 2011

Wonderful machine, great quality excellent purchase. I have not been disappointed by any of my Overstock purchases thus far. Keep up the good work and excellent customer service.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact image as shown
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact description noted
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine
 from Atlanta, GA,  Apr 14, 2011

This machine arrived earlier this week. I couldn't believe it was a refurbished one. Looks as new, there was one little scratch on the bottom. Which you wouldn't even notice unless you're looking for it. I haven't used it much yet but so far it's a great machine!!! I'd highly recommend it for anyone in the market for one.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 61 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought