Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 54 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Brother machine is better than I expected
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Apr 11, 2011

It was a larger and nicer machine than I expected for the price. It is all that I need since I'm not a professional seamstress. I just sew some clothes for myself which only require basic stitches and button holes. This machine is much more than I require. I've already sewn with it a little and did not face any problem. I'm very happy with my purchase from Overstock. I'm really glad that Overstock is providing us products with a very low shipping charge. It really makes it worth it. Thank you.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sew Sew Sew Your Coat
 from Southern Maryland,  Apr 12, 2011

Great price, speedy shipping! My only negative with the sewing machine was with the instructions that came with it. While I have used many sewing machines in years gone by, this machine has it's own unique set-up procedures and, it seemed to me that the instructions were not completely on-track with the set-up. However, once past the initial set-up, the sewing machine is a breeze to operate. Keep in mind that it is an easy to use (probably for beginners) and fairly light in weight machine. This means that sewing on heavy materials might be a problem. Otherwise, a great buy!

  • Did the image onsite match the product? yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
simple sewing machine
 from Orlando, FL,  Dec 31, 2011

This is a great simple sewing machine. It has the basic stitches necessary to get the job done, nothing fancy though. I bought it as a gift for my grandma who only uses it for hemming pants and sewing lighter materials. I was pretty surprised though when she let me borrow it and I used it to sew a heavier fabric and it worked great! It handled it much better than I thought. It's not too light though and I know that it is advertised as "lightweight". It has more mechanical parts seeing that it's not electronic or computerized so I guess it's lightweight compared to other mechanically based sewing machines. It's top speed is also much faster than I thought. I have a Brother SQ-9000 and this machine has a faster top speed than my SQ-9000. This machine also has a nice compartment that opens up which makes it easy to clean out the dust and fuzz that gets caught underneath due to normal sewing. Great machine for the price and Brother makes great machines so you know you're always getting a deal. The only reason I knocked it down a star is because the title is misleading. It says 35 stitch function but the machine only does 14 stitches. Not sure what they mean by "stitch functions"

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exactly the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? a little misleading
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy!
 from CA,  Apr 20, 2011

I rec'd my item within just a few days - and it was just as it was described on the site. I'm a beginner and this machine was easy for me to set up and start sewing on. I am still in the very beginning stages of learning how to sew, how to properly set the tension, etc.But so far, the instructions and tips that came with the machine have been really helpul. I think it's a really good beginners or basic sewing machine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for the hobbiest
 from Lawrence, KS,  Dec 9, 2011

This is a good little machine for someone who likes to sew as a hobby. The biggest problem I had with it was the spool that goes on top coming off. The plastic stick they have you put it on is thinner than most of the thread that I use (*** brand), so if I was sewing with any sort of speed it would come off. My solution was to take a pen cap and put it in the extra space, which solved the problem. The foot pedal takes some getting used to. At first it seems as if it only has two speeds: super fast and super slow. Eventually you get the feel of it and you can control it, but it will take a bit of time. Experiment with a spare scrap of fabric first so you don't end up having to seam rip your project! Good little machine overall. I mostly like to sew and quilt for fun, and this machine suits my needs.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The image looks like the actual sewing machine.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Quite accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This machine is in good quality, worth the money.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Refurbished My Foot!!! (in a good way)
 from Framingham MA,  Aug 23, 2011

I received this sewing machine today,threaded it and started working on my holiday projects. In 3 hours I have gotten two halloween costumes and some Christmas decorations done and over with. On the site it says that the machine I ordered was refurbished...YEAH RIGHT!!! Its New....and I mean brand new!! No scratches,dents,dings...NOTHING. I am so thrilled about my purchase,and I would recomend to anyone!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Does not do it justice!!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on the money!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fantastic Quality!!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A good, basic sewing machine
 from Tennessee,  Oct 31, 2011

It's a good, basic sewing machine. Easy to use, lightweight to bring out for occasional sewing needs. I recently lost weight and need to take in some pants and this is a good machine for that. I would not use it for anything too difficult (ie: sewing duck or any overly heavy weight fabric) but for simple sewing of clothing and household projects it's perfect.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's a good, basic sewing machine. Easy to use, lightweight to bring out for occasional sewing needs.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor
 from Laredo,  Mar 4, 2011

My sister bought me this sewing machine a yr. ago, it lasted a little over a yr. Mind you, I do not sew, it was used merely for mending and light sewing. It's not a good investment, save your money and buy a *** brand. Seriously, this is NOT a good machine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value priced machine
 from Hazel Park, Mi,  Mar 1, 2012

This light weight sewing machine has everything you need for normal sewing requirements. I'm not a professional seamstress but it's great for repair and light sewing needs. What a excellent price it would have cost a least this much to repair my old sewing machine, and it was very heavy to move around this is easy to move and store.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Just as image
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great inexpensive practical sewing machine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is a good basic machine.
 from CO,  Dec 20, 2011

I purchased two of these (at different times for 2 different people) and am happy with the results. Other than the noise it makes, it is very good.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was acurae
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is simple to use and works well. However, it is VERY noisy!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value for beginning sewing
 from Normal, IL,  Jun 21, 2011

Overall a good product. I wish it were easier to get to the oiling points without having to unscrew a very stiff screw. I'm very happy with the weight (very light) as I will be taking this travelling.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sewing
 from Nevada,  Mar 19, 2013

I love the sewing machine. I even enrolled in our club's sewing class. It is easy to use not complicated.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sewing machine
 from NY,  Aug 23, 2012

I don't normally sew, but this machine made it easy. easy to operate, a little difficult to get the thread in all the righ places, but once its set up it works great.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent so far
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother sewing
 from Dahlonega, GA,  Jun 30, 2012

This was a present and I personally did not open the box. I did ask the recipient to check it out and make sure everything was working well and she reported that it appeared to be good.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The directions were vague and confusing.
 from Illinois,  Jan 31, 2012

I bought this machine for my 10 yr old grand daughter as a first machine. I have been sewing for years and found the directions and initial set up vague and confusing. It was hard for me to change bobbins and my grand daughter really struggled. We also had a difficult time with stich size and tension regulation. If my grand daughter continues to like sewing I would definitely buy a better machine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
First sewing machine
 from San Diego, Ca,  Jan 22, 2012

I bought this machine to learn how to sew and took it with me to a sewing class. It was pretty easy to work with (I had never used a sewing machine before) so I am pleased.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great "First" Machine
 from Saint Cloud, FL,  Jan 6, 2012

This machine was purchased for my niece as a "starter" or introductory sewing machine tor a new sewer. It arrived very quickly, was packed well, and met with all expected standards. My niece is having a ball with it and it's just enough machine for her to handle at this time. I have a Kenmore, a Brother, and used to have Singers. The Brothers and Kenmores can't b beat! I find the Singers too sensitive which results in frequent repair issues.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The machine is as depicted in the image.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was very good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was as fine as other machines I've seen and used.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for that TEEN sewer
 from Virginia,  Dec 8, 2011

This was a gift for my 13 year old niece. It ended up being the same sewing machine that she uses at school and simply loves! Thanks for making me look like the greatest Aunt EVER! (hard to do with a thirteen year old)

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? as presented
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent and Simple!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happy with my purchase
 from Helena, Alabama,  May 14, 2013

Have spent several days sewing with this machine. It has done everything I wanted it to do. Love the variety of stitches available.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Everything seems to be fine.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother seeing machine
 from Palmdale, CA,  Jan 3, 2012

The machine had clear, easy directions for threading and seeing. It makes a great starter machine for my granddaughters (19 & 24).

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 54 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top