Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 49 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Exceptional!
 from Texas,  Feb 12, 2011

I bought the Brother SE400 without having any sewing experience. The instruction CD was a huge help and I've mostly been using the embroidery function (which is the primary reason I purchased the machine). It's been so much easier to use than I ever expected and I've learned on my own how to applique and embroider. It's been so much fun and I can't wait to learn new techniques and improve on my recently learned skills.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The best sewing machine EVER
 from Aurora, CO,  Sep 13, 2011

This is the best sewing maching I've ever used. The ease of changing stitches (from zig zag to straight, for example) is fantastic; the ease of changing the foot from regular to zipper is incredible; winding bobbins is easy and the drop-in bobbin feature is wonderful. The self-threader is something I didn't know I needed until I had it! No more squinting at the needle or hoping my arthritis doesn't kick in. The embroidery features are wonderful, and it is incredibly easy to hook up a laptop for downloaded patterns. I've just about finished my first major project with this machine (a Civil War uniform) and have been absolutely delighted. The machine tells you when your bobbin thread is about to run out, so no more surprises! I highly recommend this machine, and the price is amazing on Overstock!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Could have more details on stitches included, but otherwise excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect machine
 from Hagerstown, MD,  Nov 7, 2011

I bought this machine for the embroidery function, which is great. What I didn't realize is what a great sewing machine this is. I have been using it for my regular sewing in addition to embroidery. The internet is filled with free designs that you can use on this machine and the USB connection to a computer makes it so easy.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine
 from Louisville, KY,  Jul 21, 2011

This machine is very user-friendly. I have never operated a sewing machine in my life, but was able to get everything working right out of the box. The embroidery is very intuitive as well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Pompano Beach, FL,  Jun 23, 2011

I am new the sewing world and I love my new machine. I've downloaded a bunch of embroidery designs and I am like a kid in a candy store! For a beginer machine I think its wonderful, if your looking for something to do big designs you need to go to a bigger machine. This machine does designs no larger than 4x4. You will enjoy it!!

  • Did the image onsite match the product? yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Its pretty complicated to learn
 from Ocean Springs, MS,  Oct 14, 2011

I was so excited to get my embroidery machine. But I have had it for over a month and havent done anything but sew on it. I am intimidated by it and there just isnt enough information in the guide for a very novice beginner. Oh a brighter note, I am sure that once I am more familiar with it, it will be fabulous. It sews really nice.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's a wonderful product if you know how to use it.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to use even for beginner
 from Houston, TX,  Dec 6, 2011

I have never used a sewing machine, needle and thread or any other craft "tool". I received the package and was scared to open it based on the instruction manual, so being stubborn, I decided to turn it on and figure it out myself. It was super easy to learn, as there is a help menu on the machine itself. I don't have to worry with the needle threading since the auto needle threader actually works. Needless to say, my daughter now has all of her pillow cases, blankets, and backpacks beautifully monogrammed (this of course was after my disaster pieces :-) ) and I've also done the towels for my husband and I. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to learn to monogram on a machine that will produce quality stitching. As for the sewing part of the machine, I'm not able to comment. I haven't ventured out that far yet.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice little machine
 from USA,  Nov 5, 2013

This is a nice little sewing machine that does a great job. We previously have been used to all-metal machines, so the mostly-plastic construction took some getting used to. However, the machine does work well and is a good value for the money. It is light and easy to maneuver and store. The bobbin winding hiccups sometimes but is easily fixed. We would recommend this machine for someone who doesn't want to invest an arm and a leg.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine for the price.
 from GA,  Jan 3, 2012

I chose the Brother SE400 because of past experience with a Brother Sewing machine. Again, their quality did not dissapoint.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Image was great. Gave view from all sides.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? If anything, the description understated the capabilities of this great little machine.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It!!!!
 from Michigan,  Jan 14, 2011

Very easy and fun to use....I am very happy with my purchase as well as Overstock.com

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It
 from Upstate NY,  Dec 3, 2012

I am still getting used to this sewing/embroidery machine. I purchased it even though I already had a relatively new sewing machine. This machine monograms, and that's what I wanted. The monogramming is beautiful. And the embroidery feature works very well too. So far, I am very happy with this Brother machine, and what a great price.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from Turlock, CA,  Mar 31, 2012

I bought this machine with alot of hestation for buying a mchine offline. However I could not of made a better choice. This is my second embrodery machine, the last one was purchased over 15 years ago and for quite a bit more money. This machine was much better priced and does far more with an easier interface to the machine. I have tried most of what the machine can do and have found nothing bad to say about the machine. The only complaint that I have is I still have not recieved my warranty papers... Oh 1 other thing the machine arrived in a very timely manner... This machine is a good choice no matter if its your first machine or your 5th machine...

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I love this machine and the ease of learning embroidery! Step by step instruction! Perfect for a beginner or someone more familiar with embroidery and sewing!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Top Quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Smooth, quiet machine at a great price
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Feb 23, 2012

I have been very impressed with my Brother SE 400 sewing machine. I have used it almost daily since it arrived. It took some adjusting to because I was switching from non-computerized to computerized as well as from Kenmore to Brother. I took the time to read through the first 50-70 pages of the instruction manual to make sure I didn't miss out on any of the little tricks I could be using. I'm pleased with the automatic needle threader, the ease of winding bobbin, the speed control, the ability to sew without the pedal (though I still prefer to use the pedal), the automatic thread cutter and needle positioner. I have not used the embroidery aspect yet, as that is not the main reason I purchased this machine, but I am excited to have that option as I feel the desire to venture into embroidery. I will be purchasing the foot that will allow me to use the machine as a serger, and since I saved so much buying through overstock (via ebates), it will still put me under what I would have spent if I had bought this machine in store.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? identical
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother Computerized Sewing and Emboroidery Machin
 from Kansas City, KS,  Jan 8, 2012

The machine is very easy to use. Makes great products.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Even better than it looked.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wonderful
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother SE400 Sewing Machine
 from Queens, NY,  Nov 20, 2011

DISSATIFIED....I only had my machine for 2 months looking to buy a janome or Phaff....The Brother SE400 has a lot of features but the machine is cheaply made...Bobbin always get tangled....Used one of the pressed feet one time it broke...sews slow...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SE400
 from Sequim, WA,  Jun 24, 2014

As I am an experienced sewer and I have two brother embroidery/sewing machines myself, I knew that this machine would be a great one to get for my daughter as a gift. It is user friendly, has easy to read instructions and is good quality. Read the manual well and follow what it says....important to learn the basics first and then you can start embroidering. This is a great machine and my daughter has really been having fun with it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Machine...Everything I Wanted!
 from Phoenix, AZ,  May 17, 2014

I'm new to sewing and embroidery machines, and I've wanted to have one for a long time. I've seen reviews that say you can be up and embroidering or sewing in about 10 minutes...which might be a bit of an exaggeration, but it's close! After unpacking it, I was dying to sew something, and it was very easy to set up the bobbin and feed the top thread (my 5 year old son can do it now quite well! He just follows the numbered diagram on the machine and he has everything ready to go in no time...big helper!). If you want to embroider, you do have to change the foot, but even that isn't terribly difficult or time consuming. Embroidery is the main reason I wanted this machine, and it doesn't disappoint. There are several built-in designs (which is great for getting started and trying things out). However, I'm sure most people want to do more than just the built in things, and that's where there's a world of possibilities out there. Brother recommends iBroidery.com (which is fine, if you just want to easily pay-then-download things). But plenty of designs are available on websites like Etsy and others, and there are also plenty of free embroidery designs out there if you look. Not to mention if you are so inclined, there is software out there to make your own designs or tweak patterns a little (some are free, some are pay...just depends on what you want to go out there looking for and how much you want to tinker around). It's easy to connect the machine to your computer via USB cable to copy embroidery files over. I've never thought to buy a "card", but I suppose that would work as well. Very versatile machine, and the embroidery comes out so wonderfully!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This machine is great and easy to use
 from Loganville, Ga,  Mar 19, 2014

I've never had an embroidery machine before so was a little worried that this would be difficult. The directions were so easy to follow that my first embroidery attempt turned out perfect. It is great for sewing as well. I'm very happy with this machine.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother SE400
 from Auburn, Alabama,  Jan 17, 2014

Love the machine except I would have liked to of had more choices of fonts and patterns for embroidery. Really hard to find the cards and software to have more choices and the ones I've found are expensive and you would think for what the machine costs there would be more options at reasonable prices.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 49 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top