Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 71 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
AWESOME MACHINE
 from Whittier, CA,  Nov 16, 2010

This machine is AMAZING! I love it! I was looking for a nice embroidery machine, I compared this one to some of the Babylock and other brands and this one is far more afordable and does all of the same things. My Stepmom has a babylock ellure plus which cost almost THREE times the cost of this one and they do the same things with the exception that this one is not also a regular sewing machine as well. But to tell the truth I prefer it this way. I can work on regular sewing while this machine is embroidering away! It is SO easy to use, the first day I got it I was able to get some embroideries going and they looked great! Stitching is beautiful and directions are simple. I'm sure there are a million other things this machine does that I haven't figured out yet, but so far its great! I LOVE the USB feature, I have embroidered so many free designs it pays for itself not having to but the cards! If you want a good machine at a reasonable price this is it! It's great!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine for the money
 from Tampa, Florida,  Jan 3, 2012

I purchased this machine after searching for more expensive machines. The PE 770 has a lot of features that some of the other high end machines don't even have, such as a thread cutter. The 770 stitches out evenly and efficiently each time I use it. It is a great machine for the beginner looking to start machine embroidery. I have used it to make applique tshirts for my little girls. My only complaint is that the instruction manual does not really explain how to hoop anything other than a flat piece of fabric. I had to do an online search and found out how to hoop different materials such as a tshirt and a towel. (don't hoop the item, use a sticky back stabilizer, hoop that, and then attach tshirt to the sticky stabilizer outside of the hoop.) (towels need 3 layers of stabilizer, sticky back in the hoop, an iron on light tack stabilizer attached to the towel that you place on the sticky stabilizer in the hoop so that the sticky back doesn't pull the loops out of the towel when you remove it, and a water soluble stabilizer on top of the towel so that the stitches don't get caught in the loops of the towel.) phew. I am very happy with this machine so far and highly recommend it. I have found that I would like a little bit more creative control in the designs and am looking into purchasing compatible software to manipulate designs myself. Happy Sewing!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely the Best!
 from Central Illinois,  Sep 18, 2012

This is my third brother machine and I am definitely a fan of their products. This machine replaces my Innovis 900D for embroidery. I wanted an embroidery only machine so I wouldn't have to switch back and forth from embroidery to sewing. This machine also has the 5x7 hoop which I will use often too. My Innovis 900D uses a cable and USB port, while this one uses a flash drive, but I had no trouble learning to use the flash drive. Since all my Brother machines are basically the same, I had no trouble learning to use it, and was doing a sample embroidery very quickly. My only complaint is that the supplied 5x7 hoop is hard to use. I have much better luck with the Elipse brand with 4 sizes of hoops that I purchased elsewhere. They are very easy to put in place. I highly recommend this machine--it is definitely worth the money.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very High Quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Price on a Great Product! Packaged well!
 from Franklin, NC,  Sep 17, 2012

I am just learning to use this embroidery machine, but it is doing a beautiful job! I found out from calling ******* customer service that the PE-770 works best with 90 wt. bobbin thread and 40 or 50 weight top thread. I am glad to know this because I think some of the tangling etc... problems may be eliminated if the correct thread is used. Also any good sewing machine needle may be used. This may be elementary, but I have never used an embroidery machine before, and the manual isn't as detailed as I would like it to be. I was able to download some embroidery patterns, put them on a thumb drive, and ...voila... they were on the machine! I haven't stitched one of them yet, but at least I got that far. I have been doing regular sewing for over 50 years, but this is very different. There are some helpful videos on you tube that may help beginners. Happy Embroidering!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Product was new and works very well.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother PE 770 Embroidery
 from Connecticut,  Sep 26, 2011

I cannot even begin to explain how pleased I am with this machine. I have been shopping around for a LONG time and searching what seemed like a million different forums and blogs about embroidery machines. I am so happy that I chose this machine. You get your money's worth with this machine and the stitches are impeccable! Just tried applique for the first time (first time using the machine all together) and it came out so stinkin cute! I own a own small business making baby items and would DEFINITELY recommend to someone else looking for a simple, affordable machine that has a great performance!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine
 from Florida,  Sep 18, 2012

I had an older model, different brand embroidery machine. I needed to upgrade and I did a lot of research before buying. I didn't want to spend a whole lot of money but I wanted good value for my money. I think this machine fits the bill. I really like it and it is easy to use and does a good job. I love the usb port. I used to have trouble downloading designs with my other machine, but the usb port makes it a breeze.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It looked exactly like the picture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? on site description was very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother PE770 Embroidery Machine
 from Atlanta,  Dec 19, 2011

We bought this as a step up from our first, and smaller Brother Embroidery machine that we got last year at this time. It is a very good machine. It is much quieter and more dependable then the smaller model.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looks just like it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Reliable machine.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my machine!
 from Austin, Texas,  Mar 12, 2013

I love my Brother machine. It is very easy to use and I have had no trouble with it. The one thing that I wish I had known ahead of time is this: you do not need additional software to buy and import regular embroidery designs, but you do need to buy additional software in order to use outside monogramming designs. If you don't buy the additional software, you can only use one letter at a time rather than spelling names and words. There are many software options available, depending on what your needs are. I love the finished product that the machine creates. It looks completely professional.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Value!
 from Southern California,  Oct 4, 2012

First, Overstock.com has the best price out there (I checked a lot of online and brick & mortar locations), especially if you use a discount coupon or have Club Rewards. The machine is brand new in the manufacturer's packaging. Second, I got this to have a second embroidery machine so I could sew on my Viking while still being able to do embroidery (instead of always having to keep switching back in forth on the Viking while working on a project). I am totally impressed by this Brother PE770. It produces excellent embroidery designs that look great! You do not need to have any embroidery software, although useful, it is not required. You can buy designs on Brother embroidery cards that insert into the machine or CDs/Internet and simply copy and paste onto a flash drive/thumb drive. They open very easily when you put the thumb drive into the USB port on the machine. As another reviewer mentioned, you can see some great videos on YouTube by Vince J Arcuri (search for Brother PE770 & you'll see several videos for the PE770...click on his name in one of the videos & it will take you to all of his Brother videos). There are also videos from other sources that are useful. Out of the box I was able to stich out an embroidery design that I converted from a different format into a PES format. The design stitched out perfectly. I couldn't tell if it was done on my expensive Viking or the Brother. It's that good. Honestly. Lastly, the PE770 is not only a great second embroidery machine for experienced users, but an affordable option for those who are interested in getting into machine embroidery but not ready or able to invest a lot of money. It's really easy to use and the needle threader works great! It works better than the needle threader on my Viking (no joke). This is a solid 5 star positive review...a "no-brainer" in my book! :o)

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looks the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Overall, accurate, except in regard to included Feet. There's only one foot.... description implies there's also a Zig-zag foot & blind hem foot
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality seems comparable to other brands of sewing/embroidery machines, including my Viking Designer 1 USB
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to use
 from Daytona Beach, FL,  Aug 24, 2012

I had purchased another name brand and had to return it twice to a different company. I was upset because I really wanted a good embroidery machine for making gifts for family members. I took a chance on this since I had read a lot of great reviews and a few not so great. The biggest difference between this machine and a leading competitor's machine and this one is more user friendly for the lay person. I had been a seamstress for many years....but had never embroidered with a machine before. The competitor's machine beeped continually and the second one kept giving off an odor like plastic was burning. I have not had any problems with this machine....and....it was cheaper than it's competitor! I had also read a lot about what threads are good or bad. The competitor's machine is very finicky about what thread can be used or it will mess up the bobbin etc. But, to be honest, with the bad luck that I had with the other machine, I was afraid to invest in a lot of thread until I knew that this machine would work. So, I went to my local Walmart and bought small spools of their embroidery thread to practice with and it worked great....so even the cheaper thread worked well with this machine! I am so impressed and happy. I know that I will be making lots of Christmas gifts using the PE 770.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It matched.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It worked fine right out of the box.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this machine
 from Texas,  Aug 11, 2012

When my refurbished PE700II would no longer work I started looking for a replacement. Actually it was not that old, but the people who refurbished it did a lousy job, but in spite of that I found it to be a very good machine for the price. When I found a newer model of basically the the same machine at a lesser price than I paid for the refurbished one I was very happy. My new PE770 embroidery machine is exactly what I wanted.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother PE770
 from Lorain, Ohio,  Jan 24, 2012

Excellent machine for the value. Since I already have a sewing machine, I wanted to purchase an embroidery only machine. The two machines allows me to sew while embroidering. Cost of machines in similar machines in embroidery/sewing stores start at $1400.00 I've already completed several projects with excellent results!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good job
 from California,  Dec 15, 2011

Received the machine in almost record time. It was what we wanted as we have a second brother sewing/embroidery machine already. No problem using a memory stick to transfer the pattern. Would love for it to have a color screen but that would bring the price up quite a bit. So for a $$$ out the door embroidery machine not to bad. Having the 5" by 7" size makes it one of the best buys on the market (our other machine only dose 4" x 4")

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for home embroidery or very small business
 from Birmingham, AL,  May 16, 2013

I purchased this machine after having a babylock for 6 years. I debated on the Singer Futura, Janome, and this Brother model. I just found that the price point for what you get with the Brother was well worth it. I'm not saying anything against the others because I am sure they are fine machines but for about half the cost, the Brother has pretty much the same features. I have been using my machine for almost 6 months and have almost 2 million stitches used on it. If you are looking for something to run a full time business, this is not necessarily the machine you would want to use long term but to get started in a monogram/embroidery business, personal monogramming, or for a back-up to a commercial machine, this is what you want. This machine has worked quite well so far. My business really grew so I have since purchased a commercial machine but still use this as back-up. It's easy to use and requires little to actually get started. I have had an issue with thread breaking but only when I have used cheap, inferior thread. If you stay with a good quality thread, you should not have this problem. The most difficult part was getting the frame to clamp into the arm. You have to put it in just right or you will struggle trying to get it to click in place. Make sure to put the back on first. If you know very little about monogramming or embroidery, it is important to know that you can't use those cute fonts you buy online unless you have the software which allows you to do this. You can do the basic letters that are installed in the machine and you can do appliques but you will have to spend an extra few hundred dollars to get the program you need to create names, merge designs, etc.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. superior quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great budget machine
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Feb 9, 2013

This is a great starter machine, after using it just a few times I knew I was hooked on machine embroidery. I know I will eventually upgrade to a small business/industrial embroidery machine. The Brother PE-770 is easy to use although I was flipping through the manual while setting up my first couple designs. Beware the low price point though, you will be spending nearly as much in thread, bobbins, stabilizer and design software/additional patterns.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid, all parts work/function properly
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Minor Problem, Major Benefits
 from Silver Spring,  Dec 15, 2012

I received this PE770 Embroidery Machine. It's ready to embroider right out of the box. Set-up was easy, usage was easy and results - Excellent! I love the quality of this machine. I had have two embroider that cost much more than this one. I needed a large working area (5x7) and for the price of this system, I found this to be a bargain. I was a winner all around until 1 week later. The needle holder broke. I contacted Brother, Brother honored the 2 year warranty. I did have to find an authorized dealer which was 50 miles away. I should be mad, but if you see the quality of the embroidery on this machine and its capabilities, I excused this small inconvenience. The authorized dealer fixed the problem within 2 days. I am back in business embroidering wonderful designs. I Love it!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Minor Problem, Major Benefits
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not bad
 from Los Angeles,  Feb 15, 2011

For a beginner in embroidery, its an excellent starter machine, and definitely value for the price. I use it evry day and enjoy it, but I know as soon as I have a bigger budget I shall buy a more sophisticated machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great machine
 Dec 13, 2010

i love this machine, wish i could increase the size of the fonts but i will have to buy software to do some of the things i want to do but other than that a great machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This machine is fantastic! I have only been embroidering for a few months and already saw the "need" for a 5x7 hoop. So user friendly. Having already had a Brother there was no learning curve, just hoop it and go. Highly recommend!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine, works as advertised!
 from Las Vegas,  Apr 23, 2013

This machine is perfect for my small business! The auto thread is a great feature and makes thread breaks and changes a breeze. It works and looks exactly as advertised and Overstock delivered it quickly.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was exactly the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very well described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Works like a dream.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 71 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought