Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Doesn't get better than this...
 from San Diego, CA,  Nov 30, 2010

This has all the features one would desire in a sewing machine and more. For the price - this machine is AMAZING. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in buying a sewing machine. Stitches perfectly - although if you're using knits you have to make sure you switch to a ballpoint needle and use the stretch stitch (looks like the zigzag stitch only slightly slanted). Do NOT buy this machine for the alphabet - it's entirely too small (even on the largest font it's only a fraction bigger than 1/4") and the letters run so close together that names don't look right... in that case I would recommend an embroidery machine and the Brother PE770 is an amazing find here on Overstock (has a USB connector - and is the ONLY embroidery machine I know of that has this feature and doesn't cost *****).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine
 from Central Coast, CA,  Oct 25, 2011

After having to borrow basic machines from friend, would definitely say this is a great machine. The features that this machine has are worth the extra cash compared to the low end machines and fit perfectly into my budget.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great all around machine
 from Parsippany, NJ,  Jul 18, 2011

It's been years since I had used a sewing machine. I wanted to get back into sewing and making small projects around the house. I've used this machine so far to make: an iPad cover, a pillow, curtains, dog toys, a dog bed and to do a few hemming projects. The button hole function was easy and simple, and quite honestly amazing to watch! This machine comes with so many included accessories, that even a beginner could have the tools to become a pro in no time! I would highly reccomend this machine to anyone who wants a good quality machine at a great price.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactlly the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality machine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine for the price
 from Michigan,  Dec 21, 2011

I love this machine especially for the price.! Very stable when sewing at high speed, no vibration and pretty quiet. Also have a larger embroidery machine by Brother but if this were my only machine for sewing I'd be happy with it. Love the automatic needle thread system and thread cutting.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great product.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine, very easy to use
 from Portland, OR,  Dec 8, 2011

I'm so glad I chose this machine. I dabble in sewing, quilting, and mending various things throughout the house, and want a machine that is reliable, easy to use and has the functions I need. This machine has all of that! My last machine had a needle threader that was so hard to use it wasn't even worth trying, this one is so easy and convenient I don't think I'll have to hand thread a needle ever again :) And you just drop the bobbin in, and the machine takes care of threading it up and through, no more hastle! What a great purchase.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine!!!
 from Louisville, KY,  Apr 20, 2013

I have a Janome sewing machine that I paid alot more for. This Brother is great and sews better than the other machine. Have not had any trouble with and I have had it for several months.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great machine.
 Feb 18, 2016

Does a great job on everything that I've used it for so far.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WATCH OUT FOR GRINDING NOISES!!?
 Dec 21, 2015

I have bought three of these machines. One was for personal use, which I bought in 12/2012. The other two were for gifts. Every positive comment that you read in these reviews is spot on. Please note that this is not an iindustrial machine, so I would not advice sewing lots of layers like denim or heavy drapery. It is great for quilting. DO NOT OIL! It does not need it because the main gears are not metal. This machine will eventually start making grinding noises. All this means is that there is lint in the bobbin area. Open the bobbin area by removing the needle plate and the bobbin holder and remove all the lint. DO NOT USE CANNED AIR. You will only blow the lint into the inner parts of the mechanism. I use an old clean mascara brush or a vaccuum cleaner to remove the lint. Change your needle often. I love Microtex needles because they are very sharp and they greatly increase the stitch quality. This is truly a great sewing machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice machine
 Sep 18, 2015

Had been wanting this machine for some time. Has many features, sews smoothly. Has lots of accessories included. Pleased with my purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
EXCEPTIONAL MACHINE
 from Seattle, WA,  Jul 17, 2012

This is my fourth sewing machine, but my first Brother. This machine is everything I wanted and so much more. I'm blown away by all the attachments included with this machine. Sold separtely, they would have cost over one hundred dollars. My favorite option is the automatic thread cut. You can program the machine to automatically cut the threads at the end of the seam. I also like the sewing speed controller. You control the speed of the machine from fast to slow or anywhere in between by sliding the controller from left to right. I prefer this to the foot controller that is also included. I'm still exploring all of the features, but have made three dresses for myself and three outfits for my granddaughter and I haven't had it a month yet! I feel this is an exceptional buy for the money and would highly recommend it for the begining sewer to the professional seamstress. I'd give it more than five stars if I could.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? SPOT ON
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? SPOT ON
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. EXCEPTIONAL
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My dream machine
 from Sunnyvale, CA,  May 31, 2012

I am so glad I bought this machine. I've only sewn on Brother machines and this is the best one I have owned so far. I use mine mainly for making quilts and it has a wide enough opening between the arm and base to actually quilt a queen size quilt. The other feature I like is that I can store all of it's accessories in the bottom storage compartment and the cover has a spot to put the pedal foot and plug. Love it, no more sewing machine parts all over the place! I would recommend this machine for anyone that is an advanced sewer or quilter. It's the best Brother machine I have owned yet and it's not too complicated once you get started with it.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Pretty accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It could have been more descriptive of the accessories and the alphabet fonts, stitches, etc..
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Heavy duty domestic machine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sews very well
 from New Mexico,  Oct 23, 2011

Since my last sewing machine was purchased in 1983, I was amazed by all the new applications on this machine. The fact that it threads the needle and cuts the thread is wonderful. I made a quilt for my granddaughter as my first project and used the walking foot. It was a real help as I was using fabric that had a tendency to slip. So far, it's all been great. Will be very happy if this machine lasts as long as the old one.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as received.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!
 Feb 16, 2016

A great machine for the price. Easy to use!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent sewing machine
 Aug 15, 2015

I have been using this machine for all types of sewing including some canvas for boating. It is handling everything very well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great machine
 Apr 26, 2015

my old (35 years old) machine worked great I read about this and wanted an updated machine. Has everything I wanted

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best thing EVER
 Feb 17, 2015

I love this machine. Very quiet. Arrived lightning fast. I was nervous with all the electronic buttons. My 28 yr old came over and said just watch me once...He never opened the book. He had me doing it all in about 15 min. He sat and said its just like a phone, push what you want, then follow the guide on screen. It really is very user friendly. I have had it less than a month, have got his King size quilt top done and intended to free motion quilt on this machine. I highly recommended this machine to my friends.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 Jan 13, 2015

I love this machine! It's every thing I need for my needs. Silk, lightweight leather(with leather needle), most common weight cottons, every material I have sewn with this machine comes out beautifully. Stitch options are more than I need but nice to have them. Super smooth operation and speed is perfect. The only thing I dislike are the plastic parts on attachments. I highly recommend this machine to beginners to very advanced. I design custom apparel for people, pets and design plush toys. It does everything except serging.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful sewing machine for beginner or expert!
 Dec 27, 2014

I've never had anything but great experiences with Brother brand sewing products, and this machine is no exception. The first thing I noticed about the machine (and a definite selling point for me) is that it's almost whisper-quiet, much less noisy than any other machine that I own. I love the thread-cutting feature, the extremely well-designed storage area that holds all the presser feet, the ease of choosing stitches, and the variety of the stitches available. Another plus is the simple threading mechanism and the drop-in bobbin. Overall, one of the best purchases I have made at Overstock.com.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine, more than I expected!
 from Mobile, Alabama,  Nov 15, 2014

I am blown away with this machine, it is a replacement for my 1960 Singer. Sewing now is a real pleasure and it has so many stitches, feet and functions, WOW! I know there are models that are much more expensive, but this is all I need and I love it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worked great for a couple of weeks
 from Georgia,  Mar 12, 2014

This machine was an exciting upgrade for me. It did work well for a couple of weeks. Then the bobbin area started making a grinding noise. I had been using the bobbins that came with this so I know it wasn't the wrong type of bobbins. Which can cause it to not work properly. Unfortunately I had to send it back and am still awaiting a refund. Otherwise it had a lot of great features. Maybe I just got a dud.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought