Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 126 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
way better than: Brother LX 3125 Sewing Machine
 from Menlo Park, Ca - Corvallis, Or,  Dec 20, 2011

I was a little wary about purchasing this machine. There were no reviews on it, but I love Brother sewing machines. I purchased the Brother LX 3125 Sewing Machine (Refurbished) from Overstock about 2 years ago. It's an amazing lil guy but it's loud! NOW THIS MACHINE is QUIET! Smooth! Easy to work with, and a dream! I am going to purchase another one asap! This lil machine single handedly made sewing my first satin ball gown a dream: I was very worried at first that it wasn't do able with a brand new machine that I hadn't ever used before much less been used to. I ended up successfully sewing a zipper my first time out and had no issues. It's a great machine and is very intutitive. This machine also came with a great instruction manual that you can download from the Brother site: Overall I am very happy with this great lil sewing machine. It's small, lightweight and easy to transport with the Omni Trolley. I don't know what I would do without it! Favorite features: - LED light for sewing area - Easy stitch selection - Easy foot changing - User Guide/Manuals (quick reference guide is PERFECT for a first time sewer)

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same and exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was perfectly accurate, this machine is amazing!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High end & performance budget sewing machine, must have for beginner to intermediate sewing enthusiasts.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rozzy1930
 from Modesto,Ca.,  Dec 14, 2011

I will by from ovetock. I have bought other items before and have been pleased with them.,,

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I am a novice sewer 2 months before i bought this machine, I bought a singer 7422 from a disreputable company on line. It worked long enough to sew up 2 seams and the needle broke, I had to remove the bobin holder because the needle was stuck under the bobbin. So i called the company I bought it from and they said it was not under warranty. They advertised it with a 2 year warrenty and a 25 year warrenty. But failed to inform e that it was usless because it was a refurbished machine. They did not offer me the opportunity that you did for purchase of a warrenty. Sio they told me to send it to an Diego to singer co. to fix it. I sent the machine away to be fixed after not hearing from them for a month I ordered your machine. I love it it is easier to use than the singer, and it has better instructions and is all around better built. Thank you for being honest, about it being refurbished, and thank you for the policy I bought with the machine.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great deal, great machine!
 from Sacramento, CA,  Dec 28, 2011

I am not a seamstress, but I would like to learn. I have crafty friends, and they've let me try their machines. I decided it's time to get my own, but didn't want to spend a lot or get a ton of "bells and whistles" I won't know how to use. This one was on sale (for $XX!! no tax no shipping) and I thought "can't go wrong with that!" It works as advertised...very simple set up, didn't even have to refer to the DVD, thanks to the prior practice on my friend's machine. Took it out of the box, threaded it up, wound a bobbin first try, and hemmed a couple things. I *would* say "worked seamlessly" but that's just bad form ;) I highly recommend this machine for beginning or intermediate sew-ers...does all I need and then some, it's light, easy to use, and came with extra bobbins, presser feet, needles....everything one needs to get started!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Identical.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I think the site description was accurate...one of the reviewers said it didn't have a tensioner but it, in fact, does.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy and Intuitive!!
 from Chicago, IL,  Mar 31, 2012

I have never sewn before and within 24 hrs of unpacking the machine I have fixed the hem on two different shirts, slimmed the sides of a sweater, narrowed the armholes of a wrap dress and slimmed the sides, and I have hemmed my first pair of pants! This machine has already paid for itself considering the cost of such alterations !! The instructional DVD is extremely helpful with staring you off, while the simplicity of the machine itself makes the sewing seem like common sense. Truly worth trying! Highly recommended.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Sewing Machine
 from Albany, NY,  Feb 1, 2012

What a terrific, easy to use sewing machine! It is lightweight and relatively small. The directions are very easy to follow and the machine itself is incredibly easy to use. For basic work this is terrific.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great little machine
 from Shoreline, Washinton,  May 9, 2012

I bought this as a birthday gift for my 12 year old daughter and we love it. Easy set up, She has been sewing away since she got it.The bobbin set up surprised me, but it is so much easier to use. It is so much nicer than my old Brother machine, that I'll get for myself as well.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? spot on
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quilaity
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine!
 from Mobile, Al.,  Jul 5, 2012

Perfect sewing machine for simple DYI projects. Has a larger variety of stitch options compared to machines I previously owned---looking forward to experimenting with them. I like that it is light weight and portable.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? looks just as pictured
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Just as descrbed
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
FaNtAaTiC!!
 from Reno, NV,  Jan 18, 2012

I got the bug to sew after trying to decorate my house on a dime. I had not sewn in 20 years. After looking for used ones, pre-owned, new, I narrowed it down to Brother. I came to trusty Overstock and of course I found this machine at a wonderful price. It is so easy to use. I have sewn 2 sets of curtains, and attempted chair cushions(I opted to upholster, but my sample was a breeze). Not one problem! Sews perfectly. It easily marks how to thread the machine, I can't say enough good about it. It has handled the material I have used like a dream. I have not sewn anything to thick, but no problems with what I have sewn. It has gotten me so excited for my next project, and has made me feel confident to take on other DIY projects. Its also really light and easy to move from room to room. This machine is great for a beginner as they won't get frustrated with trying to work it, and its great for everyday home projects, I LOVE IT!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Its perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother Sewing Machine
 from Jonesborough, TN,  Oct 30, 2012

This is an excellent product, well worth the price! I sew thick terry cloth and heavy quilting fabric together. It's easy to sew with this machine. The price was great, too!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Machine is exactly as pictured.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I bought my sewing machine BECAUSE of the description.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I gave this machine five stars!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
exactly what i was looking for,
 from MD,  Sep 18, 2012

I was alittle sceptical just bcz it said "refurbished" but dont let that scare you... This machine is wonderful for a begginer who wants to start sewing. As well as experts. To sum it all up I LOVE MY SEWING MACHINE!!:)

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? looks the same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far i have no complaints does the job plus some!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positie review
 from Lost Wages, NV,  Jun 6, 2012

customer service worked with me to get manuals which are not always included and weren't in this case. I am satisfied with the service and the product

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. parts put on REFURB machine backwards - worked well once figured out
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Sewing machine
 from Brooklyn,NY,  May 15, 2012

I run a sewing club for middle school students ( 12-14 year olds) . I was looking for inexpensive, yet durable sewing machines for the students to use. These machines are great. They are easy to use and lightweight. The students made clothes, bags and quilts on these machines. I plan to purchase several more for next year.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The image on the site looked exactly like the actual product.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description on the site was the reason I selected the sewing machine. It was pretty accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The machine is made well. It is lightweight and is to carry.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
no bells and whistles
 from pittsburgh,pa,  May 5, 2012

i'm still not convinced that this is heavy duty. i haven't had too much use of it yet,but so far seems to be excellent for all basic household projects. clear, easy instructions,easy set up,easy to use.perfect for someone who has a few projects now and then or a beginner.maybe even alot of projects. i do have some "heavy duty" projects, i don't know if i'll be able to do them with this machine.i'm sure i can use it for lots and lots of "normal" projects. .

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exactly as shown
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? heavy duty? nothing on the package or in the information says heavy duty.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very nice basic machine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for Dad
 from Ocala, FL,  Apr 20, 2012

I purchased the Brother sewing machine for my son who is now a single father of two active kids under the age of nine. After "playing" with the Brother LX2500 for a week, I was very impressed with the quality and versatility of the sewing machine. It was perfect for all the rips and adjustments my grandchildren needed to their clothing. My son is even thinking about making curtains for his bedroom! Although the sewing machine is refurbished, I didn't see any telltale signs (other than a sticker) that indicated the machine had been used. My 8-year old granddaughter even got some sewing lessons from grandma. Kudos to Brother and Overstock for a great (and useful) product.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as shown
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Suits Our Purpose
 from Lehi, Utah,  Apr 17, 2012

I own a children's sewing school and purchased 7 of these machines. We were worried at first because there is no speed control, but have come to find this to be a non issue for our students. We needed a basic machine for basic projects and this machine has suited our purposes just fine. Our students are able to control/work the machine fine. The only problem we have encountered is what we thought were tension problems and after investigating further we found the problem to simply be the machine being threaded improperly, specifically the bobbin. Basic machine for basic purposes.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality matches price.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good
 from Texas,  Apr 12, 2012

I bought this for our daughter who is moving into a new house. She wanted to make curtains and such for this new house...plus she also has a little girl that loves to wear dresses and so she wants to be able to also do this. We gave her this same brand of sewing machine when she was 20 years old and she loved it and was so happy to have another one as she had to sell everything when they moved.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Just like it
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I was looking for.
 from Columbus, OH,  Mar 24, 2012

When I first got this machine it had a small plastic part that was broke. I checked and found the piece and with a tiny drop of Super Glue and letting it dry it is as good as new. I have been having a ball learning how a sewing machine works. With my wife's help I have been learning things that I never knew before. We are both in our mid 80's so you can see it is nice to play around with but it does have a lot of small plastic parts so one needs to take care and not be to hard on it.. I would have given this five stars except for the small broken part.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very well built
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. One must understand this is a small machine with a lot of plastic parts.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Deal
 from Georgia,  Mar 20, 2012

Hard to beat the price on this little beauty! It is refurbished so I wasn't really sure what to expect, but it was a Brother and the price certainly fit in my budget so I gave it a try. I set it up to use for the first time yesterday and had no problems following the instructions to get it threaded and sewing. I made a skirt for my daughter and had no technical difficulties so far. The plastic case front piece that fits on in front on the bobbin has two small plastic pieces broken off, it stays in place without them just not quite as securly as intended. That is my only real disappointment. There are a number of plastic parts so I am not sure how the macheine will hold up long term, but again for the money it seems like a very good purchase.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It will do the job we need it to do.
 from Nevada,  Feb 2, 2012

It does things different, but is easy to get use to.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Price was right for what it does
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Looking Machine
 from Denver, Co,  Jan 24, 2012

I purchased two for gifts and received positive feedback from both people. As I said, for the price - this was an absolute bargain.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? True
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. For the price - this was a bargain
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 126 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought