Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 126 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Christmas gift for my 12 year old daughter...
 from California,  Jan 2, 2012

I got this sewing machine for my 12 year old daughter for Christmas. She has VERY limited experience with sewing machines and this is her first time actually having one. She was able to figure it out with little support. The simplicity of the machine is purely an expression of "good for beginners," it has no bearing on the quality or the idea of an experienced user purchasing the machine.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Looks exactly the same.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product is of great quality and fairly simple to figure out.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for Beginner
 from Baton Rouge, LA,  Jul 15, 2014

I threaded it correctly the first time. That is most important to me. I love this machine and hope it lasts me a lifetime.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
For my mom
 from las vegas,nv,  Jul 8, 2014

For my mom as a gift she loves it! Uses it to make curtains etc

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Heavy Duty
 from AZ,  Jun 5, 2014

I wanted a heavy duty machine. This does a pretty good job, but it is definitely not as "heavy duty" as I would like.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It arrived with a broken part.
 from Sun City West, Arizona,  May 15, 2014

When the machine came to me the bobbin winder was broken off from the machine so I never got to use the machine. the design on plastic (the blue on the front of the machine) was wrinkled and ready to peel off. I must say the price of the machine was great, and if I could have used the bobbin winder I may have kept the machine. Included was a DVD to learn how to use the machine and lots of interesting additional parts were included. So to be fair, I can't say if the machine worked or not. I had no problems returning the machine, everyone was kind and fair.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrible - Barely worked
 from CA,  Apr 29, 2014

I bought this sewing machine for my mother and when during the first use it rigged up right in the middle of what she was doing. She called Brother and they said it sounded like it needed servicing. We sent it back instead and received a replacement. The replacement was ever worse! Apparently it was not even winding the bobbin. It starts to wind then the motor just whines and not the bobbin.(does not turn) It only wound the bobbin less than 1/4 % if that. We have sent it back again and got a refund from Overstock.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A good general purpose machine
 from Heber Utah,  Apr 24, 2014

This machine is much stronger than my old belt drive Singer, 20 years old. I was hoping to be able to use it on quadruple thick marine canvas for sail covers but this is one layer to thick.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive review
 from RI,  Jan 27, 2014

I purchased two machines to teach my granddaughters how to sew. For Christmas I had purchased Kids Singer machine which were just a bad toy. After using one I told the girls I would take them back and get them something real. I wanted something basic, not expensive that would help to get girls interested in sewing. I saw the refurbished Brother and for the price decided to purchase them. The machines are working great. I was very pleased with the instruction book, video and way the machine is configured, it makes it easy for the novice to use. I have used both to do some of my own sewing to insure it works properly. If your looking for a beginner machine this is a good one. It is not a toy and needs to be supervised when used by younger children.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
this machine works great
 from Ilion NY,  Jan 17, 2014

was very pleased with this sewing machine-The ease of use was as expected. Overstock stands by the products they sell.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great beginner machine
 from Ohio,  Jan 6, 2014

I bought two of these sewing machines to give to both of my granddaughters so they could learn to sew. When we opened them on Xmas I was very pleased with the quality. They are mechanical machines, not computerized, so you must turn a dial to get the stitch that you want, but that's what I wanted. Both of my granddaughters were thrilled and easily learned to wind a bobbin, put it into the machine (it has a top loading bobbin) and also the thread the top. They both made pillowcases their first day, and aprons their second day. The machine makes a nice stitch. So far I can't think of anything negative to say about them. If you have someone just learning to sew I think you'd also like this machine.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother Heavy Duty 17-stitch sewing machine
 from Forest Lake,Mn.,  Jan 3, 2014

The machine is definitely made for everyday sewing.The parts are plastic,that makes me cautious when using it.It is very light so it moves about when running it.I got what I paid for and wish I'd waited until I could afford a better machine. That being said I have successfully completed several projects with it.Just keep in mind the price and you won't be disappointed.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for beginners
 from PALM BEACH COUNTY, FL,  Dec 23, 2013

I love this sewing machine! Works like a charm! I sewed paper, cotton tees and it gave me no problems!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Oversized paperweight
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Dec 11, 2013

Would love to review the actual performance of this product, however I have no way of finding out, as the machine came with a 220v power cord/pedal. Product description gives zero indication that this is a European area model, yet Overstock CS was utterly unhelpful when I tried to get a replacement cord appropriate for my region. Wound up trying to buy the 120v pedal model the machine's manual claims to be compatible off of Ebay, only to find it won't actually plug into the machine itself. I now have a $XX paperweight.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother sewing machine
 from Lees Summit, Missouri,  Nov 19, 2013

Bought this for my 12 year old Granddaughter for Christmas last year. She loves it and finds it fun to use.It's a good quality machine for the $. I like that it is a little heavier and definitely her first Grown-up Machine.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine
 from Washougal WA,  Nov 14, 2013

I just started back sewing after many years and wanted a basic sewing machine for projects. This is a wonderful easy machine to use. I would suggest watching the DVD first to familiarize yourself with threading and winding the bobbin. Only negative, which is minor, is the lever to lower and raise the needle is to the side and not behind. Other than that I would highly recommend.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
49snover
 from snover MI,  Nov 12, 2013

i like this product and would buy this again.i dont have anything else to say

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Sewing Machine!
 from Oregon,  Nov 5, 2013

I ordered this machine for my crafting projects and it does everything I need it to do. I have been very happy with this somewhat basic machine. It is very sturdy, and was a great value for what I want it to do. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a simple easy to use sewing machine.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good first time user sewing machine
 from Atlanta GA,  Nov 5, 2013

this is my first time purchasing a sewing machine - the brand name and price were the selling features for me. I purchased this machine to only do minor repairs and alterations and it has really performed nicely..Good buy for sure !!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Starter Machine
 from Seattle,  Oct 14, 2013

I have always been a person that sews by hand. I've even made a ballroom gown out of a bolt of cloth completely by hand (bodice full skirt, and zipper). This wasn't due to being a sewing genius a purist, or a masochist. The simple fact was that I was OK at hand sewing, whereas I could break a sewing machine just by looking at it wrong. After years of handmade napkins, dresses, duvet covers, and curtains, I decided to take a chance on a modest, refurbished machine. I settled on this one. My decision was a quick one based on price, the reputation of the brand, and by a quick "eh, why not?!". I was not disappointed. This is a very easy machine to learn on, and it is fairly forgiving. I am moving up to a different machine by Brother, but this one will still be my simple go-to machine. I do wish that this machine had come with a case. Other than that: it is a great investment for a beginner sewer or someone looking for a basic, reliable, affordable machine!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved this Machine
 from Arizona,  Oct 12, 2013

I wondered if a $XX machine could do the job but my other Brothers machine was in the shop for minor problems and I was so happy with that one I decided to try this one, and wow, it was great also.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 126 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top