Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Get Ready For Memorial Day
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great machine at at great price.
 from Florida,  May 20, 2006

I have been sewing all my life and have used many machines. I am by no means a "tailor quality" seamstress, but this Brother sewing machine is what I have been waiting for!! It was easy to learn the computerize features and once mastered, make things much easier (love the self threading needle feature, but not to fond of the bobbin winder - cumbersome). This machine is perfect for beginners because it is VERY easy to control the sewing speed with the foot peddle I have found NO defects or evidence of refurbishing on my machine. It came with the Brother manual and all the listed attachments. BUY THIS MACHINE WITH CONFIDENCE!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My favorite machine
 from Texas,  May 16, 2007

The best features of this machine (to me) are the push-button start/stop*, the variable speeds, the ease of threading the needle, and the way you don't have to unthread the machine to refill the bobbin. This machine is different, but I love it, and it's worth the time it takes to learn how to use it. I HOPE they don't stop making it...I have had a hard time finding it. * I love not having to chase the foot feed all over the floor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the machine!
 from Sacramento, CA,  Jul 9, 2006

I just got a refurbished CS-80 from this site, and I love it. It arrived with all parts and papers. Be careful to read the manual, practicing with the machine (ie winding the bobbin) as you go, and the operation will be a snap. If you just sit down and go for it you're going to have problems. This was a great value, and I wish I'd gotten one a lot sooner.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One Gorgeous Machine
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Nov 9, 2006

This machine is beautiful to look at. The designers at Brother knocked themselves out with this one. I was both enthralled and hesitant about the thread cassette. I love new gadgets, but it represents one more thing that can break. I also thought it might be more work instead of less. It turns out to be a breeze to use. Simplicity itself. The needle is automatically threaded when the cassette is inserted. So kool! This is the perfect machine for someone who hates to sew. All the irksome tasks are handled automatically..threading the needle, pulling up the bobbin thread, raising and lowering the needle, making buttonholes, adjusting the length and width of the stitch..all done for you. And with 50 built in stitches, and a full range of snap on feet, you are covered for any kind of sewing task. And did I mention the machine was gorgeous? The machine arrived in a week in perfect condition and with all the parts and paper work. This is my second purchase from Overstock and has been a lovely experience both times.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tricky
 Nov 6, 2007

This machine seems to be cheaply constructed; it sounds a bit strange at times at high speeds. It's tricky to thread the needle. The tension adjustment is unable to fine-tune the tension. Apparently, 'it ain't your grandmother's Singer'.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Machine Doesn't Work
 from Surprise, AZ,  Aug 21, 2008

I just received my Brother CS80 Sewing Machine. Hooked it up and turned it on. It started beeping radically and F4 was flashing in the window. No matter how many times I turn the machine off and on it keeps beeping and flashing F4. I checked to make sure there was not any thread tangled --- there wasn't. Since it just arrived there was nothing else to check. I looked in the book to find out what F4 meant and couldl find nothing related to F4. If someone cannot help me out, I guess I will be returning the machine. Very frustrated as I purchased this machine to take with me when I visit my son in September. I have a big brand name sewing/embroidery machine and don't like to drag it out of the house because of what I paid for it. I also thought this would be a good machine to take to quilting classes as it would be easier to transport. Does anyone have any ideas what it going on with the machine. I have a feeling it is locked up but have no idea how to unlock it ??

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CS80 great machine
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Jul 23, 2008

This is a great machine. I really like the thread cartridge and how you thread that and push it down to do the threading for you it's easy and helps alot. There are alot of great stitches on here and great stitch functions it's a good machine for a beginner as well as an expert seamstress and a fantastic machine for quiting. I like it so much I'm buying another one for a friend for a gift who is learning to sew. And Overstock.com is a great place to shop

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Teach yourself to sew
 from Hopkinsville, KY,  Feb 15, 2008

I have wanted to learn to sew for years. Mainly to just be able to make simple curtains or sew up a split seam in pants. My mother bought me this CS-80, a spool of thread, a box of bobbins, a couple of yards of 'dollar' fabric and said 'just learn to sew straight lines'. After a year and a half I am now making my 16-month old niece the cutest dress and bloomers set that I designed myself! This machine was so easy to learn!!! I will list a few fabrics that I have sewn with on this machine and any difficulties that I encountered with that fabric. 100% Cotton Broadcloth - easy to sew on machine. "Flag weight" Nylon using Nylon thread - no problems with weight of fabric were experienced. Craft felt - I used felt to make a roll for our jeep soft top windows. I was able to sew through 5 layers of felt! Granted it was one of the first things that I made and I probably wouldn't recommend putting your own machine through such a vigorous workout...but IT DID IT!!! Denim - I have used several medium weight denims. Upholstery materials - never had a problem. Eyelet - no problem. Georgette - no problems at all. I have made tons of dress and bloomer sets for my niece and the children of some friends and family, Jeep accessories, reupholster couch cushions, pillows, and purses. I highly recommend this machine!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AMAZING!
 from Hollady, UT,  Dec 31, 2007

I got this as a gift for Christmas read the cover to cover and then took it for a test drive. This machine is SO easy to use I could not tell you one place that it needs improvement. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone from beginner to experienced sewer.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Instruction Manual Lacking
 from Van Wyck, SC,  Nov 7, 2007

The instruction manual leaves a lot to be desired. An experienced sewer may not need better instructions, but an experienced sewer would probably not purchase this machine. Brother should review the contents of its manual and update illustrations and index to be better aligned with an intermediate level sewer. Bobbin winding results are less than desirable. No tension setting for thread spool.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT SEWING MACHINE
 from Louisville, KY,  Nov 7, 2007

I have enjoyed my "new" sewing machine. Having used a Singer for 35+ years the new technology is a wonderful thing! Very pleased with my purchase from Overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It!
 from Missouri,  Nov 7, 2007

This machine works wonderful. I love all the different options on it. I love the setting it is programmed with where the needle automatically goes down. I really enjoy not having to use the foot peddle. Very comtemporary apperance. It makes sewing even more enjoyable for me with the automatic needle threader.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SHUT UPPPP!
 from TAMPA. FL,  Oct 9, 2007

WOW! WHAT A GREAT FEATURE, THIS AUTOMATIC THREADER!! THE EASE OF USE OF THIS MACHINE IN EVERY WAY MAKES ME SO HAPPY I DECIDED TO BUY IT. THE DELIVERY WAS SUPER FAST THOUGH I DID NOT PAY ANYTHING EXTRA FOR IT. THE QUALITY OF THE PRODUCT, WONDERFUL. THE PRICE, SUPERLATIVE! I LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT. AND THE BUYING EXPERIENCE WITH THIS COMPANY, SO FAR, SO GOOD. NO COMPLAINTS HERE. JUST A HAPPY CAMPER.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MargoFlan
 from Michigan,  Sep 22, 2007

Since my previous sewing machine (a different brand) sewed it's last stitch I had been researching different Brother sewing machines. I was so very desperate to start sewing again I just bought this one on a whim. I couldn't be happier. I have only used it moderately since I received it a few weeks ago, I am still learning about it. I love the ease, the flexibility, and options. This is a great machine!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
horrible machine
 from michigan,  Aug 27, 2007

I have been sewing for over 30 years. My mother and each bought one of these machines. Mine froze up and the motor shot in 3 days. My mother's was never quite right. Both machines were returned. Overstock was good about the returns, but had to pay restocking charges. Please do not waste your money on this machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine.
 Feb 5, 2016

This was the first purchase from Overstock. The sewing machine has worked very well. I do not sew daily, but when I need it is always there ready to work. Particularly the auto needle threader is amazing. It took a little practice but won't do without it now.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Okay
 Apr 21, 2015

I had some difficulty with the machine, but that may be because I was attempting to learn to sew, not because of the machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased
 from Washington DC,  May 31, 2011

I will preface this with the fact that I haven't sewn anything more than a straight line as I just haven't had the time since it came in. It just came in a plane box as it's refurbished but other than that it looks brand new. It came with all the things it should have and the owner's manual was very helpful. I can't wait to use some of the special features it has. I'll come back in a few months and update how well it is working then.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent so far
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Machine and IT THREADS ITSELF!!!
 from Old Fort, NC,  May 19, 2011

I was worried about this being a refurbished machine even though I have never had an issue before. This machine is extremely easy to use and I learned how to maneuver it pretty well in the course of one day. The automatic threading is amazing. When I first learned how to sew on my mom's old Singer it took me ages to get the needle threaded! I have sewn about a million things with it since it arrived and have had only a couple of issues but they were my fault for not changing the needle for a thicker fabric. I have made: two duvet covers, 6 throw pillows, 5 sets of curtains, embellished a vallance with ribbon, made pillowcases and put buttonholes in several things. The button hole foot and feature is fantastic! Overall I am amazed at the features this machine offers and highly recommend it!

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sewing machine
 from Knoxville, TN,  Nov 30, 2010

I absolutely love this machine! I purchased the same one about 2 years ago and my daughter and I have been having to share. Just by chance I looked at overstock for something comparable and there was the same machine available. I had such good results with my first one I ordered another. Everything is exactly the same. The only difference is some of the accessories I got with the first machine are not with this one (cover, bobbins), but the machine itself works exactly the same. The price, as always with Overstock, was excellent. I priced a used machine at a local sewing store with the same features and it was way more expensive. This is a great buy for basic sewing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought