Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 288 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 15 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Best machine for the price!!
 from Rochester, NY,  Oct 19, 2006

I am having so much fun since purchasing this machine in September. Having sewn for 45 years on several machines, I can honestly say this is the easiest and best yet. When the box arrived I wasn't sure a machine was in it because it was so light. However, don't let that fool you. This is the first machine I have used that can go through several layers of heavy fabric with ease. I shortened heavy denim jeans, and it sailed right through without skipped stitches. And buttonholes - all you do is insert a button and sit back and watch the machine do all the work. The needle threader took some getting used to. I suggest you practice using a needle with a large eye. Once you get the hang of it you won't have trouble. The presser feet are easy to change. The LCD window tells you what foot to use for what stitch. It's an easy machine to use and so much fun.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Little Machine
 from Maine,  Nov 15, 2006

I sew almost every day. I bought my Brother as a portable/spare sewing machine and when it arrived (very promptly), I started sewing on it at home to get used to it. I haven't gone back to my more expensive model yet. It is user friendly, sews very smoothly and has a wonderful variety of stitches. Love it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Am enjoying learning to sew
 from Meadville, PA,  Oct 11, 2006

I bought this machine a few weeks ago, and have just loved it. So far, I have sewn curtains, a dress, and started a quilt. I have not sewn for 20 years since home ec, but this machine has made it very easy. All of the features are easy to use. It feels like the machine is doing all of the work for me.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
9 year old loves it
 from Lake Village IN,  Nov 11, 2006

My 9 year old daughter wanted a sewing machine for her birthday. She never sewed on a machine before this one. It is so easy. We read the directions only once on how to thread the bobbin and the machine and she does it all by herself now. Great machine. Even her Father is sewing on the machine too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A wonderful machine for all sewing projects
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Sep 13, 2006

This is the first machine i have purchased for myself after having used machines of friends and family over the years. I have to say this machine is simply fantastic, it is very easy to use, I love the drop in bobbin feature and the computerized stitching functions. The needle threader is a little tempermental, but is a nice feature to have. I would recommend this machine to anyone from beginers to pros.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine, Great Price!
 from NYC, NY,  Aug 19, 2006

I received this machine for my birthday, and it has been an amazing tool. The ease of use, the functionability and the design of the machine are outstanding for the price offered. I would recommend this machine to any beginners to intermediate sewers. I hope it is as durable as it is fun!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Machine for the next step in ability
 from San Diego, CA,  May 27, 2006

I just love this machine. It is light weight, EASY to use and does so many things. I consider myself an intermediate sewer and bought this for my next level of sewing. What a great choice! The quilting functions are great as well as the little embroidery stitches. It is lightweight which is quite the change from the 1951 Elna I had been using. It says reconditioned but you never would know, its great and works great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Second Time's the Charm
 from Michigan,  Sep 24, 2006

I'm a novice at sewing and my old machine would perform only basic functions. When it finally quit, I was thrilled to find a full function machine at an affordable price. The reviews seemed promising. When it arrived I loved the look of the machine and it was extremely quiet. The initial set-up was a breeze. However, I soon hit a roadblock. The thread kept jamming and the machine wouldn't go through even moderate weight fabric, let alone thick fabric. (I called over a friend who is an expert seamstress to double check everything just to make sure it was the machine and not me!) I was heartbroken when I called overstock.com. The gentleman I spoke with was extremely helpful and offered to exchange the machine. The new one has just arrived and is purring wonderfully, thick fabric and all!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Machine, Great Price
 from Atlantic County, NJ,  Sep 21, 2007

I am very pleased with my purchase. I did a lot of research before buying and knew what I wanted, and even went so far as to contact Brother to find out exactly how this machine compared to others offered by O. I did a live chat twice with O to ask these questions, but they couldn't answer anything that wasn't spelled out in the product description. The only drawback to purchasing this over retail is that it did not come with the walking foot or the quilting foot, both of which I was really hoping to get. But I knew that there was a risk that they wouldn't be included. Super fast shipping!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
what a headache
 from Romulus, NY,  May 13, 2006

Had to replace my 25 year old Singer, got this cause it looked like a great deal. Man, is this thing complicated. From threading the machine to filling and placing the bobbin. Never could get the foot controller to work. Ending up having to replace this with a Singer. I know this is a reconditioned machine, now I know why. No one wanted it. It is light weight, true. Not worth the money. Not recommended. Would be sent this monster back if I kept the shipping box.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MUST HAVE BEEN A DEFECT?
 from Orlando, Florida,  Jun 23, 2010

I purchased this machine basically on the reviews given on this site. I am a expert seamtress and have owned Brother's before (and other brands) so felt confident with my purchase. Needless to say terribly disapponted. The bobbin continued to jam up and "goobs" of thread in the seam. Repeatedly checked the bobbin threading as well as the top threading......it did not solve the issue. This machine did not want to sew two thin pieces of material together. I was beginning to think it was me....but I went to another "professional seamstress site" (Patternreview.com) and they had machine comparisons. I was shocked....out of approximately 12 reviews of this machine...THERE WAS NOT ONE GOOD ON THE SITE! I just wish I had checked out additional sites before I purchased....it has been returned...I don't think it was a defect...I just think it is not a good product of Brother.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So PLEASED!!
 from Camden, Mo.,  Nov 6, 2006

I'm an average seamstress who generally just does mending, and occasionally a straight seam for curtains or hems, nothing fancy or complicated. I have been using a 40+ year old machine that was my mother's. First off, this machine arrived really quickly and in perfect condition. It looks brand new! I was almost afraid to try it because it's computerized and I was afraid it would be too complicated. To my surprise, it is so easy to use. The instructions are very detailed so there's nothing hard about it at all! Best of all, I feel like a professional, because the machine does all the work! I've been playing with all the different stitches. It really is fun! It runs so quietly compared to my old one also. The automatic threader is the only thing that took several trys, but once I caught on, it's a breeze to use. I have had a very positive experience with Overstock.com, and recommend this machine to anyone.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent for the price
 from Midwest,  Sep 26, 2006

Ordered this machine in June so have some time to try it out. Does everything that it is supposed to do. Quite easy to use, have to use the book for a few things - it always takes awhile to get used to something new. It is VERY light weight which is great for my sewing table (I have the Sauder sewing cart so machine goes down and underneath when not in use) Can't beat it for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So smooth and quiet
 from Atlanta, GA,  Apr 10, 2009

I LOVE my new Brother CS6000i sewing machine! It was such a nice surprise to receive it so quickly...within just a couple of days! I have been sewing on a Singer for the past 6 years and I guess I just got used to how loud that machine is when it's running. The Brother is so quiet and smooth. I love the needle up/needle down feature...it's not even mentioned in the specs, but it is fabulous to have this option when you are sewing a lot of individual pieces. I am a doll artist and sewing around the curves in fingers and toes is a dream now! I would highly recommend this machine!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
brother CS 6000
 from Baltimore, Maryland,  Mar 15, 2008

Okay, Overstock has asked me about this and this is a review with no bull. They send you the walking foot and the darning foot and the table comes with it and is easy to put on. I think the major reason this was not popular is that the tension setting should be 0 most of the time when you are using the computerized stitching and most people have been taught that the tension must be 3. The bobbin winder and the needle threaders are not really functional. You thread the bobbin the old way except you don't have to pull the dial outwards to disengage the needle. Needle threader does not work at all BUT I did not buy a needle threader, I want a smoother machine that could handle a pieced quilting top, warm and natural batting and a backing. I was able to finish my queen sized quilt using the walking foot and the binding method. Everyone thinks it looks great, the other decrorative stitches are as advertised.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brother Sewing Machine--I'm not too sure
 from Southern, New Jersey,  Jan 5, 2008

I was so excited to get my Brother Sewing Machine--it is a refurbished model with a warranty--But after a couple "spins" through, the needle bent and the machine locked up. I took it to my local sewing machine store who also sell Brother. They said Brother is a good machine, but this particular model often has problems with the bobbin casing being too low and as a result, the thread becomes jammed and the needle also becomes bent. I am still working with this machine because I love the features--the self threading needle and all the great stitches. But I will persevere for a little to see if it has any problems. I am confident, because the refurbished models come with a warranty.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GOOD THINGS COME IN SMALL PACKAGES
 from California,  Jan 3, 2008

This machine is the best for a first time sewer or to have on hand to use for classes. It is light weight, functions very well, and is easy to use. I purchased this machine for my daughter to learn with. I highly recommend this machine. I have been sewing for over 30 years and I have confidence in this machine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
FYI
 from Mississippi Gulf Coast,  Dec 31, 2007

I am a professional seamstress of 40+ years. This is a wonderful LIGHT DUTY machine. Easy to operate, very un-complicated for a novice. Very quiet and smooth running. Be aware though, this machine doesn't have a big enough motor to replace zippers in jeans or do flat-fell seams in jeans. Great value for the money!!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dream Machine
 from Lebanon, Missouri,  Jun 30, 2007

I love this machine, it makes sewing a pleasure. I love being able to sew without using the foot pedal, just push a button. It sews beautifully over extra thick to very thin fabric. The fancy stitches are so easy, just punch in the number of the design you like and the machine does the rest, beautifully. I would expect to pay 3 times as much for a machine that does everything this one does. It is more like using a computer than a sewing machine. You choose the speed by pushing a button, not by how hard you push the foot pedal. No fabric bunching up, no thread clumping, I can't wait to start my next project. I highly recomend this machine to anyone who wants their projects to look professionally made.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great deal on a good machine
 from Los Angeles,  Jun 21, 2007

I thought that this sewing machine was such a great deal I told my best freind about it and she bought one too. The most exciting feature for me was the button-hole foot. I have never sewn such neat and even button-holes. I bought this as my extra machine but I like it so much I haven't used my old machine since I got this one. It is a lot of machine for the money!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 288 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 15 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought