Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 36 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Worked great for a short time
 from San Antonio, TX,  Aug 26, 2011

I got this for my daughters birthday thinking it would be a good way for her to do some basic sewing / learning. It worked well for about 6 in. worth of sewing. After that the machine started making huge loops on the back side of the stitches. There is no way to adjust anything so I'm glad I bought the platinum protection plan. At this point I really wish I'd just spent a little more & gotten a full sized, real sewing machine.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Image was good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? description was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. average to fair
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AWesome!
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Jun 23, 2011

I bought this machine for my 8 year old daughter that wanted to learn how to sew. She was very excited when we received the package yesterday. The machine looks sturdy for the price and size and stiches pretty good! She is currently sewing a drawstring bag and its coming out beautiful. I like the fact that it has a high and low stiching speed. the low is perfect for her as a beginner. There are a whole bunch of holes to thread the machine but hey its easy for her to see and learn. I will update the review if need be after a week or so but I think it will not give us any problems. LOVING this little machine!!! Plus there was FREE SHIPPING! Can't get better than that! :-)

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Perfectly!
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? On point.
  • How is the quality of the product? So far so good.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WONDERFUL!
 from Oklahoma,  Jul 30, 2009

I chose to send this to my 9yr old niece for her birthday. She loved it! This is perfect, it came with two projects and it kept her busy all day. She was able to make a purse that day and was so excited about this. Great way to help her be creative and have a new hobby.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sweet Toy
 from Broadview Heights, OH,  Dec 27, 2011

This sewing machine may be a toy, but it is a sweet toy. It actually sews very nicely and is simple to use. My 7 year granddaughter wanted a sewing machine for a Christmas gift, so I purchased it for her. I showed her how to use it and she does very well with it. She really enjoys making simple things right now. I told her she needs to sew under the supervision of myself, or of her parents until she gets to be a little older. The instructions are very simple and I like the fact that the manual states that you can buy replacement sewing machine needles at any craft store. I did some searching on toy sewing machines, and this one is the most well made machine--it is nice and solid. The foot pedal works well also; you can also plug into an outlet if you do not have batteries. My granddaughter and I are very pleased and would recommend this sweet sewing machine to anyone who is looking for a toy sewing machine, or as a simple "starter" sewing machine to learn how to sew.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as shown
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very quality--well made and is a "solid" little toy machine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to use for a first timer!
 from Colorado,  Jun 7, 2011

I bought this sewing machine because I wanted to learn how to sew pillows and other things. I like that it is small, has it's own case and very easy to use. I also like that I can show my daughter how to use this because it is so easy to set up and clean up.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MeeMa
 Mar 17, 2016

Bought this for my granddaughter but the quality was not what I expected.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A little too difficult
 Jan 2, 2016

As a seasoned sewer I found this machine not as kid-friendly for my 8 year old granddaughter as I'd thought it would be. Threading it was a frequent chore and sewing more than one straight line a challenge. I think I would've been ahead just buying an inexpensive adult Singer.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
child sewing machines, only toys
 Nov 27, 2015

These machines do not work at all. don't buy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Isn't worth the money...
 Nov 23, 2015

It kept jamming the first few times we attempted to use it so it has sat in a box for the last 10 months. .

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well made
 Nov 13, 2015

Nicely made but constantly snags and tangles thread. My granddaughter gets very frustrated.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointing
 Oct 5, 2015

I can well remember, as a child, how frustrating it was to try to use a toy sewing machine. How I wanted it to work. So, when it came time to purchase a sewing machine for my granddaughter, I did my research. I read many reviews from different sites. I have been sewing many, many years and I knew what I was looking for. I settled for the ALEX SEW FUN. From the late delivery to the return, it was all problems. (1) To start with it took forever to arrive. My granddaughter knew it was coming and could not wait. (2) The catch on the very cute carrying case was broke with two brads missing. (3) My daughter called to tell me that the bobbin thread kept breaking. I ask her to bring it to me. (4) Upon seeing it, I was disappointed in the quality of the product. It is worth about half of what it sells for....the BIG problem: The timing is off and it can't be fixed. It has not even make one stitch! Fast forward: I got online with Overstock.com about the problem. GREAT customer service. My problem was solved in one online conversation and all but $** returned in 3 days. I am now looking for another machine, not so much a toy but something that will sew for a beginner. I do not want her frustrated as I was. She has already been waiting long enough for a sewing machine. This was not it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Purchase a real one instead.
 Jun 17, 2015

This is a toy and does not work well at all for teaching real sewing. If you are able, purchase a real machine instead.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's ok
 May 4, 2015

daughter loved it for the fist few days then got bored

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
they love it
 Apr 21, 2015

my kids love this and have already made some fun things

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 Mar 10, 2015

Read reviews and thought that this would be a good starter machine for my granddaughter. She was very excited and could not wait to get started. Unfortunately we had problems right from the start. The top thread kept breaking & the bobbin thread kept bunching up. I have experience sewing & thought that I would be able to deal with this. After more than an hour I gave up because I could see how disappointed my granddaughter was. I kept the machine & after continuous attempts playing with the tension fixed the problem. I gave it back to her & we were able to complete the shoulder bag but with skipped stitches & bunched thread. When she attempted to make the skirt the same issues started all over again. She is so disappointed because she was looking forward to making doll clothes for her American doll. Do not recommend this machine. Definitely not worth the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My Daughter Loves This!
 from Boston, MA,  Dec 10, 2014

I bought this for my daughter for her birthday in November, and it is her favorite birthday present. She sews every day with it and is becoming a great little "seamstress" - It was a great gift for her!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very dissappointing
 from central Florida,  Oct 27, 2014

This little machine is cute - but it was upsetting for me to see my little granddaughter go from being so excited to so sad when at last we gave up trying to make it work and decided to send it back. The thread continually breaks no matter how the tension is adjusted - then when it does sew for a few seconds the thread all bunches up on the under side of the fabric. I did contact customer service and they were most congenial and helpful - sending me a return UPS label at no cost to me. I read numerous reviews of all different brands of small sewing machine that are made for a child - they all seem to have the same problems - with the tension etc.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Children seeing machine
 from Pa,  Apr 15, 2014

My daughter likes this sewing machine. It is a little hard for her to use alone but I think in time and practice she will be ok with it

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This product is a real tool of the trade.
 from new jersey .n.j,  Jan 9, 2014

This product was a christmas gifts for my granddaughters , they love it .It met the product expectations and worth the price. I purchased two of the sewing machinies much price reasonable than other online sites.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sewing Machine
 from Oregon,  Jan 8, 2014

This has got to be one of the worst things I have ever bought for the price. I read the reviews and thought they looked pretty good, but boy were they wrong! This was a Christmas gift for my four year old grand daughter that went BAD! She was so excited on Christmas when she got her machine and then....It would not work! What a disappointment.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 36 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought