Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 413 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 21 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Perfect fit, classic look
 from North Carolina,  Dec 7, 2010

I read countless reviews of this dress before buying to decide what size to get. Here is a guide for any of you in the same situation. I ended up with the medium (in Black) and it fit perfectly. I am 5'7" 140 lbs, about a D-cup, full hips and thighs(I've learned to embrace that fact now). The upper portion of the dress fit like a glove and the bottom portion hid my hips and thighs with it's full skirt. Absolutely beautiful dress and I was comfortable in it all night. The length fell slightly above my toes with 3 inch heels on. I was able to wear a demi-cup bra and none of it showed, not even the back strap. When I ordered it I thought I might want to embellish it a little, but ended up only wearing pearl jewelry. Received many compliments, it was a very classic look. Hope this review helps.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Slimming Perfection
 from St. Augustine, FL,  Nov 10, 2010

I bought the sleeveless version of this dress (it's still here on O, just search the designer name) in ivory for my wedding dress last year. I took a chance because of the feedback.. I wish I could attach a photo from my wedding here for you. I swear I looked as if I'd dropped at least 15 lbs the moment I slipped it on. In person and in the photos, I will be honest- even though I sound so very Vain! This dress looks and feels, like I'd paid 5 times what it cost! Its simply perfect.. My one yr anniversary is coming up this month. I will be wearing this dress (w/ the 3/4 sleeve this time) in black for our special occasion and intend to wear it to many holiday functions. It is fully lined and very well made. It is as comfortable as PJ's! But simply stunning. The way the straps are, it perfectly allows for your favorite bra. Some friends called it a 'Goddess' style and I must say, I truly did feel like one. Now in the black, I suppose it will be even more slimming! This dress is true to size and though many say they had it hemmed, I allowed the little extra length. When I look at society photos and the red carpet ladies, their dresses flow and even puddle on the ground. it is an elegant look. (I should also mention, this dress travels well. Not a single wrinkle straight from the box. I would feel comfortable packing it for a cruise, etc. As it hangs in my closet now - & I've yet to send it out for laundering - it looks as new as the day wore it a year ago. I had the dress on for well over 10 hours. Its magical)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Flattering
 from New York City,  Oct 24, 2009

I wore this gown to my Neices evening wedding and I got alot of comments on how skinny I looked. For a size 14 that is music to our ears!! The Dress was so comfortable, all I had to do was hem about an inch and a half on bottom and I am only 5'3''. I ordered a large and the fit was perfect. The color Navy was very elegant with Silver accessories. I would highly recommend this Gown to all, I had a wonderful time and felt like a million bucks.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Big-girl Perfect!!!!
 from Mobile, Alabama,  Feb 17, 2011

I am a big girl, size 16. I bought the XL and am glad I did! This dress is beautiful and holds in all perfections! The other reviews won't tell you what you need to know. chest 38, WAISt 36, hips 40. This dress is awesome and am so glad I bought it for my Mardi Gras ball. I didn't want to buy plus size. I wanted a tight fitting, hold me in, goodlooking dress. If you are curvy...you will LOVE this dress! :D

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WOW!
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Nov 30, 2009

I ordered this dress for my June 2010 wedding in Las Vegas. It arrived within days of my ordering it, and due to the gorgeous, easy-care fabric, came out of the box ready to wear! I'm a mature bride, and this stunning, contemporary gown hides all the little flaws we older girls want to hide, and shows off everything that's still worth showing off! And the price can't be beat! My bridesmaids ordered the same dress in black with arm bands (mine has 3/4 sleeves) and their verdicts are the same: this dress is a stunner. And did I mention the price is right? I know I will be a beautiful, confident bride in this gorgeous gown; I wear a 38 C bra, and the size Large fits like it was custom-made. Comfort and style go together in ways they usually don't with this dress. Kudos to you, Overstock.com!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Big busted women...listen up! This dress is nice but if you want to wear this without a whole lot of cleavage showing you cannot wear it as intended but you still can wear it. You can cover the cleavage by pulling this up. If you take a D or DD cup the top will be too small if you wear the seam underneath your breast but if you pull the dress up and have the seam high up, the dress can be worn and it doesn't look bad or unintended to be this way. It will have a more ruched look at the breast but the seam doesn't look out of place as long as it is high like 5 or 6 inches above where it comes underneath the breast. I am 5'2" and wear a 16P and bought the XL. I am keeping this but wearing it high up. I will need to have this hemmed and may do it in a long tea length. The dress is comfortable and slimming.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this dress!
 from Lubbock, Texas,  Dec 15, 2009

I got my dress tonight. It fits perfectly and is beautiful. I love the way it feels and it makes me look thin! I am 5'8" and wear 12-14. I got a Large and it is the right size. The length is perfect. I highly recommend this dress.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE THIS!
 from Cincinnati,  Sep 29, 2009

8 days before my daughter's wedding my dress gets a huge snag in it... went to overstock.com to find a dress that I could order on line and KNOW that it would fit. I'm an 8 - ordered a MED. & it fits like a glove! I love it more than the first dress, it looks like it was made for me! I got it in black and it looks very elegant with my crystal jewelry! I feel wonderful in this dress and it is incredibly comfortable! The best part is that i know I will get more use out of it...And for a great price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

OMG I adore this dress. I needed a lovely dress for a "black tie" event but I am over 55 and I do not think it is appropriate to wear strapless or sleeveless dresses at that age (unless you have guns like Madonna). Everywhere I looked for an evening gown they only showed sleeveless, topless prom type dresses. This dress is perfect, you still look quite sexy with the "off the shoulder" upper but it covers the upper arms. Further, the dress has a beautiful drape to the skirt which covers any bottom issues a woman might be worried about. The waste hugs, holds, and flatters; the top gives you cleavage, what more can one ask for? I look ten years younger and ten pounds slimmer. Kudos to whomever designed this dress!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect dress
 from Indiana,  Mar 23, 2009

I purchased this dress for ballroom dancing and it is perfect!!! It is close fitting in the right places and the skirt is nice and full. Others at my dance studio have paid two to three times more for similar dresses.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fine if you are flat chested
 from Cleveland OH,  Sep 19, 2012

I ordered the dress because it was navy, had a nice neckline, straps so I could wear a regular bra, and had 3/4 sleeves. The dress was a soft polyester fabric, not expensive looking, and maybe heavier weight than I would have chosen, but it would have been fine. The top, however, was all wrong. I would have had to sew my bra straps to the dress to keep them invisible, and the bust area was AWFUL. I'm 5'9" and a 40C so not terribly out of proportion, but there was very little fabric between the under bust seam and the neckline. If I had pulled the seam below my bra where it belonged, half my bra would have been showing. There was just not enough to the upper bodice of the dress to cover the bust of someone who ordered an XL. I was disappointed, as everything else about the dress appealed to me for my daughter's wedding. Had to send it back.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true navy
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It was obviously not a $500 dress, but I didn't want to spend $500!
  • How accurate was the sizing? I ordered extra large, but there was NO room in the bust area for my 40C chest. If I had pulled the under bust seam below my bustline, I would have been hanging out like a Vegas showgirl.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great dress!
 from Texas,  Mar 10, 2011

I love this dress. It makes me feel very feminine. I purchased the blue one to wear to my son's wedding at the end of April, and I know that it will be perfect. I normally wear a size 8, sometimes a 10 depending on the style, and I ordered a medium. It fits like the proverbial glove. However, the straps that go over the shoulder sit closer to the outside of my shoulders than expected, and I will have to wear a strapless "undergarment" so that I don't have to worry about straps showing. That's a small price to pay for such a beautiful dress. I'm 5'7" and found that it does run long, even with heels, but I believe this adds even more to the overall look of the dress. It's not so long that I would hem it, though. I would definitely recommend buying this dress. I may even add a second one in a different color to my "collection"!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing dress!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 13, 2011

I love this dress! When I put it on and looked in the mirror, I couldn't believe how great it made me look. It fits beautifully and the top of the dress shows enough skin to be sexy and feminine without making me feel self-conscious. It stays up easily so I don't have to fuss with it. Buy this dress, you won't regret it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's a lovely dress
 from Los Angeles, Ca,  Nov 12, 2010

I was anxiously waiting for this dress as I had seen the reviews, well...it's exactly as described. Elegant, sexy and classy. I was originally looking at department stores and saw one almost alike for $280.00. Glad I stopped by overstock. I think I will get the cream for my 25th anniversary ceremony. It fits like a glove and trust me you don't need spanx!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this dress!
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Nov 7, 2009

I ordered the navy blue XL dress praying that it would fit my size 16, 40D figure. Finding a dress that is forgiving, never mind flattering, to my body type is hard to come by. So I was shocked and pleased to find that it fits like a glove. My friend told me I looked great and then asked if she could buy one in black. I feel comfortable in the dress at functions and I can move around without worrying if it is too tight or going to tear. The compliments I get while wearing it just make me excited for the next time I can wear it. I didn't give 'Fits true to size' a full five stars since I have trouble with the skirt length. I'm 5'6 and trip over the hem.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great dress
 Oct 10, 2009

I am a university professor and I wore this dress as one of my outfit changes when I co-hosted a modeling competition on campus. The modeling groups and the audience loved the dress. I was asked where I bought it. I was worried it would be too "stuffy" for the student crowd but they loved the elegance and drama of it. It fit beautifully. I am curvy and tall and it looked great! It was a great deal and I can wear it again and again - also VERY comfortable.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Dress
 from Indiana,  May 4, 2012

I ordered this for my daughters wedding....it feels like a wonderful dressy nightgown!!! Very classy, I will tack sleeves to straps as I do not like the bare shoulder look on myself. I am 5'7, 150lbs, 36b cup and md to large frame...the large fit very well. The Navy is a true navy but not black looking.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the sizing? Slightly small
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stretchier than I expected
 from North Carolina,  Jul 19, 2011

It's always a challenge to be all dressed up and comfortable at the same time. Trusting in the positive ratings I read, I decided to take a guess at which size to buy (I'm between an 8 & a 6) and go for it. At 5'6", 132 lbs. & 57 years of age, I went with the Medium, rather than the Small, because I didn't want to emphasize my flabby tummy. I probably could have gotten the Small, as I was able to slide this dress UP over my hips, but it was crazy comfy & I got lots & lots of compliments on it! I'm not sure why I couldn't manage to keep my bra straps under the dress straps, so I wore a strapless instead, and didn't have to worry about it. The arms are perfect for concealing that not-very-attractive under-arm flab that most women my age seem to have. I wore 3 inch silver heels, and inexpensive silver jewelry, and the dress made it look stunning. The event was my 40th high school reunion, and lots of women made the mistake of emphasizing the WRONG parts of themselves. Thanks to Overstock.com, I felt confident & relaxed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High medium quality.
  • How accurate was the sizing? It may run a tiny bit large.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great dress!
 from Westchester, NY,  Jul 1, 2011

This dress looks great on! I shortened it to a tea-length and wore it to a daytime winter wedding! It is fabulous dress which I will wear forever. It can be very dressy, or more casual just by selecting different accesories! There isnothing like a great black dress!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly correct!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice quality!
  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
you won't be disappointed
 from NJ,  Nov 23, 2010

I wore this dress in navy to my son's wedding. Because it's knit you don't have to worry about wrinkles or losing those few extra pounds to account for a zipper. The design is great for concealing flaws in the midriff. I did wear a Spanx underneath to help push things to the right places. Everyone told me how great I looked. My husband thought I was "HOT". It does show a little cleavage. The bridesmaids couldn't believe I bought the dress at Overstock. I never even went shopping. I wore a simple pearl necklace and earings with a white rose corsage and I was elegant.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 413 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 21 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top