Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 119 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very Basic Durable Handbag
 from Midwest Chicago-Milwarkee Megalopolis Corridor,  Feb 17, 2008

This purse is very utilitarian and the barrel shape holds plenty. That said, it is a "safe" handbag to give as a gift to teens or young adults. The leather is sturdy; the stitching is a noticeable, contrasting white. When I received it, I knew immediately, for the purse to be enjoyed and used by my "giftee" (coed), the bag needed "something." So I bought a few purse charms, and enclosed a new wallet with a few $$$ bills in it. And guess what ---- the bag is being used daily and is holding up well to college life. I am told that beer wipes off the leather well! Ahem... I would use this bag if I was on a (car) road trip as I wouldn't have to "worry" about keeping the bag pristine. This bag is described by Overstock as "classy" - it certainly does NOT fit that adjective. A good, sturdy, BASIC bag, yes, it is. I bought the bag in BLACK, the white stitching is very noticeable, yet well done - no loose strings or crooked/problem areas. With rugged use over the past month, the black dye is holding up well - there are no cracks or "naked" leather showing where the bag has been "bruised," And the zipper is still functioning well under trying conditions. For the price, it worked out quite well for my gifting use and I may order one for myself for the aforementioned travel use.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
TARDIS of handbags!
 from Maryland,  Dec 21, 2006

This is exactly what I needed-- compact on the outside and very roomy on the inside. I get everything in it, and yet it will fit into my tote bag when I only want to carry one bag. I'm so happy I got it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Faulty design
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jul 19, 2008

When I first got the brown handbag, I thought it was going to last me for a long time. It didn't. Each strap is two individual pieces stitched together. Lo and behold, one of the straps on my bag began to come apart within 3 months and the only thing holding it together inow s the white decorative stitching. The straps also do not hold up to normal daily use. The brown coloring has faded on the other strap. If you plan to use this handbag occasionally, you'll get a good product for the value. But, if you are planning to use it on a daily basis, I caution you to consider another handbag that will hold up.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I feel ripped off
 from Washington, DC,  Mar 24, 2008

My first impression of this bag upon opening the package was "rough & ready". I mean, the quality, workmanship and standard is very poor. The bag was not the same shape as pictured, the trims over the seams are not neatly done, and the leather is hard and horrible. I ordered this bag because I wanted an all-leather bag that would be as the name suggests, "classy", but what I got instead is "tacky". One lady wrote that she wasn't particularly impressed by the bag initially, but that she began to like it more and more as she used it. I thought that would be my experience and so I kept the bag. Unfortunately, within the first day I noticed that the corner of one of the trims was beginning to peal/strip. I used some black permanent marker to blend it back with the rest of the bag, however, within one week all the trims began to strip and now the bag is black with lots of white patches all over it. Need I say more? The decision is yours...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bargain!
 from Independence, MO,  Feb 4, 2008

I got this purse because I needed something with more room than my old one. I was very pleased! The bag holds a TON, but because of it's rectangular shape, it doesn't look huge. I've been using it everywhere, and it has taken quite a beating, but seems to be holding up wonderfully. I've had it for several months, and it still looks good as new. It's very cute too (I chose the dark brown one). I've gotten more complements on it than I can count. My mom (she's in her early 40's) loves it so much that I'm going to give it to her as soon as the new off-white purse I ordered from Overstock arrives. The purse is such a timeless style that women of any age can use it and look great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So wanted to love this
 from Los Angeles,  Apr 14, 2011

When I received this bag I was thrilled with it...for a half a second. Then I started to look closer. First thing I noticed is that the trim around all the edges is sloppy. The stitching is a bit off here and there and the edges are all unfinished. By this I mean that the trim is not folded under and stitched, rather is just laid flat and stitched so that the raw edge is just sticking out. Then next thing I noticed was that the lining on the inside is a little to large and so it's sort of sloppy and puckered. However, I loved the style of the purse so much and the leather actually is pretty good, so I was just going to overlook those things and keep the bag...until I took the paper of the buckles. They are PLASTIC. The buckles and the O-rings are plastic made to look like metal like a purse made for a little girl. And, the tongue of the buckles don't lay flat. They stick out because they're so flimsy. Omg, what a disappointment. There's no way I would ever carry this bag around. It's so sad because I love the style. Don't waste your time, seriously, it looks cute in the photo but you really don't want it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pahlease reduce price
 from Milford, CT,  Oct 19, 2007

This is really not that nice of a purse. I've owned much better for less money. The seams are not finished and they are not cut evenly. Also, the zippers are not very high quality and I don't forsee them working for much longer. The really annoying thing is that although it is leather, it isn't thick enough to stand up all nice like it does in the picture. It's floppy and does not have any structure. I think a better value would be $15.00 for this purse. I have found better deals on the streets in NYC.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This purse is exactly what I wanted
 from WV,  Sep 24, 2011

The purse is exactly what I wanted. Good quality and functionality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color matched perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the quality of the purse is top notch.
  • How accurate was the sizing? the sizing was exactly as described
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Thoughts on Purse
 from CA,  Mar 25, 2010

This is my first Overstock.com purchase and I am very disappointed with the purse. It looks very cheap, the leather is of poor quality. The white stitching cheapens the bag.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
works for me!
 from dc,  Jun 10, 2008

i read the comments before purchasing this handbag. while some were negative, i decided to take a chance. the bag is just as advertised. i needed a bag that had some length to it. this is perfect.. it appears to be well constructed and the color is just fine. I think i would have preferred that the stitching was the same color as the bag so it would not stand out so much, but that is a minor detail that you get used to. it is a fine bag.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handbag
 from Frederick, MD,  Mar 22, 2008

Excellent quick service. Would buy again. AAA+++ Quality item. Good workmenship.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Leather Handbag
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Mar 10, 2008

I have only had small handbags in the past. So this one looks small but it holds a ton!! I buy handbags in pairs so that I can switch back and forth if I need to but I really like this one so much I haven't even wanted to switch it out for a night. Going great from grocery shopping to a nite with the girls (not night club). Love the bag

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handbag
 from Chicago,IL,  Dec 16, 2007

The satchel bags are beautiful. They are well constructed and have plenty of room. I also like the texture of the leather, and the lightweight of the bags. I would truly recommend this bag to everyone. Especially, if you have problems carrying a heavy bag, due to arthritis,carpal tunnel, etc.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
leather handbag
 from Missouri,  Oct 4, 2007

Quaility is great. Love the soft leather and all the inside pockets. Is a little bigger (longer) than I like but am using the bag very comfortably

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great find!
 from AZ,  Aug 2, 2007

I love this purse! It is a great size, especially for traveling. I love the pockets on the outside for quick and easy access to cell phone. The other also fits my digital camera. The only thing is that the straps are a little short for me. The purse sits just under the arm pit and is hard to get on with one arm. Otherwise it's great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor stitching
 from New York,  Feb 25, 2007

The bag would have looked really good if the seams were sewn and not left raw. This makes the bag look cheap. I'm disappointed in Overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Alright but quality issues
 from Texas,  Jan 29, 2007

The bag looked great and was great value for the money. However, the edges were really badly done. The seams were raw and will probably fray in some way as time goes on and the points along the edge were the leather was connected was really badly done. I'm returning mine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CLASSY IS CORRECT
 from COLUMBUS, OH,  Jan 11, 2007

THIS BAG IS TERRIFIC! VERY DURABLE, AND UPSCALE. GREAT FOR TRAVELING. WELL DONE!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not what I was expecting
 from VA,  Dec 23, 2014

When I took it out of the box, it definitely looked "rougher" than the pictures on the site. But it didn't smell bad or anything. However, the seams felt rough and the leather was very stiff. The bag was probably too small for me to use every day, but the main reason I returned it was how hard it was. The stiff leather and rough seams made for some very "sharp" and uncomfortable corners, and just carrying it in the house to try it out, it hurt the back of my arm. Just wasn't worth it, so I sent it back.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ofreak
 from gloucester ma,  Dec 4, 2014

I wanted a leather satchel but not the 300 dollar 40 lb type and this is perfect. very light weight for leather. I ordered lava red and it is exactley as the color describes lava red with a hint of orange and yellow. perfect

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 119 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought