Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
The Winds of War (DVD)
 from North Carrolina,  Feb 23, 2012

I viewed the series and it was great up to the last disc.6 I have the same series on vcr tape and there is a big gap between War & Remembrance and The Winds of War

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It came with the 6 disc as ststed
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great gift for a war buff
 from Valdosta, GA,  Sep 6, 2011

Great mini-series for anyone who likes the war movies. We bought for my father-in-law who is a real war buff, and he couldn't turn it off! He loved it and watched the whole series in a matter of two days. Great actors, good script, and good quality.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? true
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? true
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Winds of War
 from Arlington, Va.,  Jul 8, 2011

Great purchase, great quality, very good shipping xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? excellant
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Winds of War
 from sunnyvale, CA,  Apr 11, 2008

Excellent movie for all over 14 years of age. The actual pictures from the war remind us of the times we do not want to relive. Excellent depiction of circumstances of how war can affect us all. Would highly recommend this and War & Rememberance

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Winds of War
 from MIDDLETOWN, NJ,  Apr 2, 2008

I bought this for my mother because she saw it on television and wondered why they never ran it again. I think it's a little slow and borders on being more of a soap opera than a historical movie. No bad language or on screen bed-hopping, so it's OK for the kids to see, but they'd probably be bored. By the way, it ends at Pearl Harbor, so if you are looking to see the USA's war involvement, you'll have to buy the sequels.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Winds are Brewing
 from Little Rock, Arkansas,  Mar 25, 2008

Would recommend this miniseries for anyone interested in history, jr high and high school students, and anyone who loves well-made movies in general. They did a good job with period detail. The story deals with one family's troubles set against the backdrop of the gathering winds of war. Events lead up to the bombing of Pearl Harbor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Winds of War
 from Fullerton, California,  Feb 28, 2008

As I am a retired Marine and instruct JROTC at a local high school, The Winds of War is both enlightening toward the subject taught and siutable for a class of 9-12th graders to watch and review as part of their instructional application. I first saw this series long ago and it still holds merit today, all these years later. I like the fact that this video was obtainable from your organization. It was delivered in a timely manner and somewhat reasonable in cost. Yes, I would recommend this service to others with favorable comments to follow.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Winds of War
 from Corvallis, Oregon,  Jan 12, 2008

I bought the Winds of War set as a Christmas present for my husband, who was thrilled. It is about fictional characters set in a historical context leading up to WWII. It is well-acted, exciting to watch, but several parts are not suitable to have children watch because of the violence and disturbing aspects of war. This is a keeper, not only for adults now, but to pass on to our children when they get older and need to understand this piece of history, so they don't repeat it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Story!
 from Arkansas,  Nov 30, 2007

I loved both books by Herman Wouk, "Winds of War" and "War and Rememberance" and this made for TV "Mini Series" is by the Book. Robert Mitchum is the perfect "Pug" and all the other Actors play their characters extremely well. I enjoyed the Fifth DVD which has interviews with Dan Curtis "Director and Producer", Herman Wouk, and the Actors. This also included how the Series was made and where. The Books and the Mini Series make you feel like you were really there in 1939 and into the mid 1940s.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Winds of War
 from MN,  Jun 6, 2007

GREAT movie based on a very detailed well written book by Herman Wouk taking place during the time of WWII. Commander Victor Henry, played by Robert Mitchum was outstanding as were the other cast members. I have watched it many times, enjoying it every time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Winds of War Blow Breezily
 from Raleigh, NC,  Oct 14, 2006

Grand-scale TV mini-series true to the novel almost to the page. Great scenery and settings appear quite authentic (mostly shot in the Balkans). Casting could have been a little more imaginative. Main character Pug Henry, a Navy officer in his fifties nearing the end of his career, is underplayed by an indifferent and passive Robert Mitchum who looks too old and pudgy for the part - mainly because he was in his mid-sixties when the film was made. Glenn Ford or a similar contemporary would have been more believable. Bad boy Jan Michael-Vincent is miscast as wayfaring youngest son Brian and was not very convincing as an erstwhile graduate student of art and history. In spite of that, the well-photographed film gives an interesting and believable perspective of world dynamics in the three years preceding the attack on Pearl Harbor. Topol does a superb job as always as the Jewish cousin in war-torn Poland, while Polly Bergen is perfect as the glamour-loving Navy wife and Ralph Bellamy gives an inspiring performance as FDR. Recommended as a good story of history for those generations that came of age after WWII (and didn┬┐t pay attention in history class).

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought