Various - Standing In The Shadows Of Motown (OST)

Today: $26.23
Out of stock
  • Enter your e-mail address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.

This deluxe edition of STANDING IN THE SHADOWS contains new live versions of classic hits sung by today's stars and backed by Motown's house band, the Funk Brothers. Included are four original, previously unreleased tracks from Motown's vaults and a bo...


ITEM#: 2247323

This deluxe edition of STANDING IN THE SHADOWS contains new live versions of classic hits sung by today's stars and backed by Motown's house band, the Funk Brothers. Included are four original, previously unreleased tracks from Motown's vaults and a bonus disc containing instrumental versions of the original hits. STANDING IN THE SHADOWS OF MOTOWN won the 2003 Grammy Award for Best Compilation Album For A Motion Picture Or Television. "What's Going On" (Chaka Khan) won the 2003 Grammy Award for Best Traditional R&B Vocal Performance. Personnel: Eddie Willis, Robert White , Joe Messina (guitar); Earl Van Dyke, Joe Hunter , Johnny Griffith (keyboards); Uriel Jones (vibraphone, percussion); Bob Babbitt, James Jamerson (bass guitar); Benny Benjamin, Richard "Pistol" Allen (drums); Eddie Brown (congas); The Funk Brothers. While there was certainly little to complain about on the original issue of the soundtrack for Standing in the Shadows of Motown, for those who truly sought the magic of the Funk Brothers, this deluxe edition is what they longed for all along. This two-disc collection contains the soundtrack of the Allan Slutsky/Harry Weinger film -- plus three bonus tracks -- from that historic night at the Royal Oak Music Theater just outside of Detroit. It pairs what was left of the original Motown session gang and their heirs with a host of vocalists, including Joan Osborne, Chaka Khan, Bootsy Collins, Montell Jordan, Me'Shell Ndeg‚Ocello, Ben Harper, and Gerald LeVert interpreting the classics. The extra soundtrack cuts feature John Lee Hooker, Jackie Wilson, and Dennis Coffey with the Detroit Guitar Band. But on disc two, the entire grail becomes attainable. Here are 15 musical tracks, the original instrumental sides from "the Snakepit" of the Motown studios, with little or no vocal accompaniment, remixed from the ground up. The producers broke down and mapped out each verse, bridge, chorus, and vamp on paper first. Phone calls were made to the living members a...


Dimensions 0
UPC 044006636528
Runtime 124 min.
Type Performer
Genre R&B
Sub Genre Motown
Number of Discs 2
Track Listing Disc 1
  • 1. Heat Wave, (Love Is Like A)
  • 2. You've Really Got a Hold on Me
  • 3. Do You Love Me
  • 4. Bernadette - (TRUE instrumental)
  • 5. Reach Out I'll Be There
  • 6. Ain't Too Proud to Beg
  • 7. Shotgun
  • 8. What Becomes of the Brokenhearted
  • 9. I Heard It Through the Grapevine
  • 10. You Keep Me Hanging On - (TRUE instrumental)
  • 11. Cool Jerk
  • 12. Cloud Nine
  • 13. What's Going On
  • 14. Band Introduction / Ain't No Mountain High Enough
  • 15. Flick, The
  • 16. Boom Boom - (Bonus Track)
  • 17. Higher and Higher, (Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) - (Bonus Track)
  • 18. Scorpio - (Bonus Track)
Disc 2
  • 1. Funk Brothers in the House!
  • 2. Standing in the Shadows of Love
  • 3. Dialogue: Joe Hunter
  • 4. One Who Really Loves You, The
  • 5. Pride and Joy
  • 6. Dialogue: Robert White
  • 7. My Girl
  • 8. Love Is Like an Itching in My Heart
  • 9. Don't Mess With Bill
  • 10. Hunter Gets Captured by the Game, The
  • 11. Dialogue: Eddie Willis, Uriel Jones & Jack Ashford
  • 12. I Second That Emotion
  • 13. I Was Made to Love Her
  • 14. Dialogue: Richard "Pistol" Allen
  • 15. I Heard It Through the Grapevine - (Gladys version)
  • 16. Home Cookin'
  • 17. For Once in My Life
  • 18. Dialogue: Jack Ashford
  • 19. I Can't Get Next to You
  • 20. It's a Shame
  • 21. Ain't No Mountain High Enough - (Ross version)
  • 22. Dialogue: Eddie Willis
  • 23. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
  • 24. Dialogue: Lamont Dozier
  • 25. You're My Everything - (Bonus Track)
Format Compact Disc
Spars Coding n/a
Artists Various

Product Reviews

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars
  • Standing In The Shadows Of Motown 2CDs

    If you love Motown, then you will love these CDs. You will also enjoy learning the mystery of the never seen musicians behind the famous music that came out of Motown. There isn't a bad song to be heard.

    Read More
  • Fantastic DVD - History, Love, Music - Loved It!

    My husband and I are 55 and 56 years old. Our high school cafeteria days were filled with the sounds of Motown in the 60's just before the hippie movement exploded. This documentary recreates the musical paths of the Funk Brothers who backed all the great Motown acts. It will teach your children something wonderful about the origins of American popular music and make you marvel at the superb talent of the men & women of soul as they journeyed along. All families, all ages, all races will love this movie. SEE IT! Let this music rock your Saturday night, and you'll be passing the DVD to friends ever after. A beautiful, soulful, rocking education that will have you dancing and singing even if you have no connection to this music!

    Read More

Questions & Answers

Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Get your product questions answered right here.

Shopping Guides

Shipping & Returns

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

* For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.