Various - Alligator Records 40th Anniversary Collection

Select an option before changing warranty
The Rewards Program that Pays for Itself
  • EARN 5 to 40%
    Earn 5% in Club O Rewards on every order & up to 40% on select items.
  • FREE SHIPPING Every Order, Every Day*
    No matter how big or small, your order always ships for free.
    Dedicated customer service and early access to exclusive deals.
    Club O pays for itself, or we make up the difference
Today: $15.37
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Various - Alligator Records 40th Anniversary Collection
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later

    Audio Mixers: Drew Vonderhaar; Ryan Lipman; Dan Prothero; David Axelbaum; David Farrell ; Freddy Breitberg; Gene Lawson; Ricky Barnes; Glenn Nishida; Roman Klun; Scott Brenton; Jay Newland; Jay Shilliday; Jeff Covert; Jim DeVito; Jim Tullio; John Hampt...


    ITEM#: 13370705

    Audio Mixers: Drew Vonderhaar; Ryan Lipman; Dan Prothero; David Axelbaum; David Farrell ; Freddy Breitberg; Gene Lawson; Ricky Barnes; Glenn Nishida; Roman Klun; Scott Brenton; Jay Newland; Jay Shilliday; Jeff Covert; Jim DeVito; Jim Tullio; John Hampton; Mike Iacopelli; Justin Niebank; Sam Siefiert; Jim Haines; Jerry Hoyson; Tony Terrebone; Kid Andersen; Larry Goetz; Mark Bingham; Neil Citron; Richard Mullen ; Richard Whittington; Ari Rios; Sam Fishkin; Shelly Yakus; Sterling Winfield; Stevie Mendell; Stu Black; Stuart Sullivan; Warren Riker; Ben Mumphrey; Roger Cole ; Blaise Barton; Bob Skye; Bonnie Hayes. Liner Note Author: Bruce Iglauer. Photographers: Dragan Tasic; Diane Allmen; Peter Amft; Tom Stio; Steve Kagan; Jef Jaisun; Clayton Call; Randi Anglin; Kent Lacin; Jeff Dunas; Stuart Brinin; Dan Monick; Mary Bruton; Paul Natkin; Ken Settle; Jerry Moran; James Bland; Stefan Falke; Frank Vigil; Michel Verlinden; Teresa Nelson; Flounoy Holmes; David Lucinker; Darren Jackinsky; Rebecca Sell. Starting with its 20th anniversary in 1991, every five years brings another double Alligator collection, and 2011 was no exception. While the 35th edition --released in 2006 -- logically featured 35 songs, the compilers couldn't quite squeeze 40 onto this 40th anniversary disc, even though owner Bruce Iglauer does admit to fading a few endings off prematurely in order to maximize the list, which hits 38 selections. The trick with these albums is to both pay tribute to the label's storied past while including enough recent acts to connect the dots between the house-rocking music Iglauer built his company on, and the more modern yet still roots-based sounds he's released during the last five years. He does an excellent job here, mixing not just old and new, but male and female musicians who have recorded for Alligator over the decades. Of course, no Alligator historical collection is going to exclude Hound Dog Taylor, Iglauer's first signing who remains the raucous, soulful blues-rocking standard who helped forge the label's musical direction. Newer artists such as JJ Grey & Mofro, Eric Lindell, Anders Osborne, and Janiva Magness share space with Johnny Winter, Son Seals, Koko Taylor, Albert Collins, Lonnie Brooks, Eddy "The Chief" Clearwater, and lots more. A 30-page book includes obscure information and anecdotes about each, providing a first-hand look at what attracted Iglauer to the artists. Even with 35 acts, dozens are left out, and they are listed individually at the end of the extensive and often fascinating notes. There are some predominantly acoustic performances from Mavis Staples, Saffire -- The Uppity Blues Women, Buddy Guy & Junior Wells, and Corey Harris, but the majority of the selections run to the high-energy, very plugged-in Chicago and Texas blues that Iglauer plainly loves. Between musicians such as Luther Allison, Roy Buchanan, Son Seals, and Koko Taylor, all of whom have created arguably their finest work while signed to Alligator (and that's saying plenty), there is an embarrassment of riches to choose from. While some of these names have also appeared on previous anniversary editions, no songs are repeated from those albums. Clearly, the intention of this and the previous sets is as loss leaders to sell more individual Alligator discs, but they play as perfectly enjoyable mash-ups of roots music, and a historical music lesson that anyone with an affinity for the genre will appreciate. ~ Hal Horowitz


    Dimensions 6.0x4.0x0.5
    UPC 014551252627
    Runtime 158 min.
    Type Collection
    Genre Blues
    Sub Genre Chicago Blues
    Label Alligator Records
    Producer Chris Vachon; Eric Lindell; Chris Goldsmith; Corey Harris; Dan Prothero; Dave Darling; Andy Kaslow; Derek O'Brien; Dick Shurman;
    Number of Discs 2
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. I'm a Woman - Koko Taylor
    • 2. I Ain't Drunk - Albert Collins
    • 3. Strange Feeling - Michael Burks
    • 4. Backup Plan - Tommy Castro
    • 5. Icicles in My Meatloaf - Lil' Ed & the Blues Imperials
    • 6. We the People - Guitar Shorty
    • 7. U B U - Rick Estrin and the Nightcats
    • 8. Party's Still Going On, The - Marcia Ball
    • 9. That's a Pretty Good Love - Roomful of Blues
    • 10. Have Blues, Will Travel - Smokin' Joe Kubek/Bnois King
    • 11. Going Home (Where Women Got Meat on Their Bones) - Son Seals
    • 12. Give Me My Coat and Shoes - Junior Wells/Buddy Guy
    • 13. Slipped, Tripped and Fell in Love - Janiva Magness
    • 14. Mojo Boogie - Johnny Winter
    • 15. Last Dirty Deal - Coco Montoya
    • 16. Fish Ain't Bitin' - Corey Harris
    • 17. All the King's Horses - Luther Allison
    • 18. Echoes of My Sins - Anders Osborne
    • 19. Double Whammy - Lonnie Mack/Stevie Ray Vaughan
    Disc 2
    • 1. T-Bone Shuffle - Johnny Copeland/Albert Collins/Robert Cray
    • 2. Don't Take Advantage of Me - Lonnie Brooks
    • 3. Good Leavin' Alone, A - Eddy Clearwater
    • 4. Sitting at Home Alone - Hound Dog Taylor
    • 5. Roll Your Moneymaker - Elvin Bishop/Little Smokey Smothers
    • 6. With the Quickness - James Cotton
    • 7. It's My Own Tears - Shemekia Copeland
    • 8. Red Beans - Professor Longhair
    • 9. Where Hwy 61 Runs - Charlie Musselwhite
    • 10. You Can't Judge a Book by the Cover - Delbert McClinton/Roy Buchanan
    • 11. Step into the Light - Mavis Staples
    • 12. Speak No Evil - Tinsley Ellis
    • 13. It's a Drag - Eric Lindell
    • 14. Going Down to the River - Saffire -- The Uppity Blues Women
    • 15. Feed My Soul - The Holmes Brothers
    • 16. Two-Fisted Mama - Katie Webster
    • 17. Daddy Pinocchio - William Clarke
    • 18. When the Levee Breaks - Buckwheat Zydeco
    • 19. Sun Is Shining Down, The - JJ Grey & Mofro
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Various

    Product Reviews

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
    Get your product questions answered right here.

    Shipping & Returns


    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    * For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.