Van Morrison - Still On Top- The Greatest Hits

Today: $16.66
Out of stock
ITEM# 11065124

    Enter your e-mail address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.


ITEM#: 11065124

Audio Mixers: Jim Stern; Alastair McMillan; Mick Glossop; Walter Samuel; Brian Masterson. There are 21 cuts on this Hip-O collection of Van Morrison's Greatest Hits. The interesting thing is that of these 21 cuts, only about half of them will be recognizable to the casual Van Morrison fan, as they come from his Bang sides and the far more popular Warner Brothers singles of the early '70s. As it should be, although there is one glaring omission: "Tupelo Honey" is absent from the song list. The rest may not have been greatest hits in America, but they do represent a fine -- if arguable -- selection of the material from the late '70s, '80s, and '90s. "Dweller on the Threshold" is here (though it sounds like an alternate take!) There is a bona fide alternate take of "The Healing Game" that sounds more like a well-executed demo and has plenty of Celtic soul. "Someone Like You" is here, as is "Wavelength," and some tunes that deserved far better than they got: "Tore Down … la Rimbaud," "Real Real Gone," "Bright Side of the Road," "Days Like This," and "Stranded." The early tunes are immediately recognizable, from "Brown Eyed Girl," "Gloria," "Here Comes the Night," "Domino," "Moondance," "Wild Night," and "Jackie Wilson Said (I'm In Heaven)." In sum, as far as the many repackaged greatest hits, this is one of the better ones as it is cross-licensed and contains a true evolutionary portrait of the artist on a journey that certainly winds and turns back on itself even as it moves forward. This is a good one with fine sound. [Polydor's 2007 Canadian edition added 16 tracks across its two-CD set.] ~ Thom Jurek


Dimensions 1.0x1.0x1.0
UPC 602517474833
Runtime 156 min.
Type Performer
Genre Rock & Pop
Sub Genre Folk Rock
Producer Dick Rowe; Paddy Moloney; Robbie Robertson; Ted Templeman; Van Morrison; Bert Berns
Number of Discs 2
Track Listing Disc 1
  • 1. Jackie Wilson Said (I'm in Heaven When You Smile)
  • 2. Dweller on the Threshold
  • 3. Whenever God Shines His Light
  • 4. Moondance
  • 5. Bright Side of the Road
  • 6. Brown Eyed Girl
  • 7. Wavelength
  • 8. Crazy Love
  • 9. Someone Like You
  • 10. When Will I Ever Learn to Live in God?
  • 11. Tore Down … la Rimbaud
  • 12. Wild Night
  • 13. Gloria
  • 14. Real Real Gone
  • 15. Into the Mystic
  • 16. In the Garden
  • 17. Saint Dominic's Preview
  • 18. Stranded
Disc 2
  • 1. Precious Time
  • 2. Domino
  • 3. Here Comes the Night
  • 4. Little Village
  • 5. And It Stoned Me
  • 6. Days Like This
  • 7. Have I Told You Lately
  • 8. Cleaning Windows
  • 9. Baby Please Don't Go
  • 10. Back on Top
  • 11. Vanlose Stairway
  • 12. Celtic New Year
  • 13. Irish Heartbeat
  • 14. Healing Game, The
  • 15. Full Force Gale
  • 16. Warm Love
  • 17. Did Ye Get Healed?
  • 18. Tupelo Honey
  • 19. Wonderful Remark
Format Compact Disc
Spars Coding n/a
Artists Morrison, Van

Product Reviews

Questions & Answers

Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Get your product questions answered right here.

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

* For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.