Tom Petty - Mojo

Select an option before changing warranty
The Rewards Program that Pays for Itself
  • EARN 5 to 40%
    Earn 5% in Club O Rewards on every order & up to 40% on select items.
  • FREE SHIPPING Every Order, Every Day*
    No matter how big or small, your order always ships for free.
    Dedicated customer service and early access to exclusive deals.
    Club O pays for itself, or we make up the difference
Today: $11.14
ITEM# 12742351
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Tom Petty - Mojo
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later

    Personnel: Tom Petty (vocals, guitar); Scott Thurston (guitar, harmonica); Mike Campbell (guitar); Benmont Tench (piano, organ); Steve Ferrone (drums, percussion). Audio Mixer: Ryan Ulyate. Recording information: The Clubhouse, Los Angeles (04/28/2009-...


    ITEM#: 12742351

    Personnel: Tom Petty (vocals, guitar); Scott Thurston (guitar, harmonica); Mike Campbell (guitar); Benmont Tench (piano, organ); Steve Ferrone (drums, percussion). Audio Mixer: Ryan Ulyate. Recording information: The Clubhouse, Los Angeles (04/28/2009-01/11/2010). Photographer: Sam Jones . Tom Petty has been fronting the Heartbreakers off and on (mostly on) for over 30 years now, and he and his band have been delivering a high level of no-frills, classy, and reconstituted American garage rock through all of it. Petty often gets lumped in with artists like Bruce Springsteen, whose careful and worked over lyrics carry a kind of instant nostalgia, but Petty's songwriting at its best cleverly bounces off of romance clich‚s, often with a desperate, lustful drawl and sneer, and he's usually more concerned with the here and now than he is about musing about what's been abused and lost in contemporary America. Petty has always been more immediate than that -- until now, that is. Mojo is Petty's umpteenth album, and technically, the first he's done with the Heartbreakers since 2002's sly The Last DJ. This time out, he's tackling the blues, trying to graft the Heartbreakers' (Mike Campbell on guitar, Scott Thurston on guitar and harmonica, Benmont Tench on keyboards, Ron Blair on bass, and Steve Ferrone on drums) patented '60s garage sound to the Chicago blues sound of Chess Records in the '50s. Sonically it certainly works, mostly because this is a wonderful band, but it seems a little tired, worn, and exhausted in spots, and there's a regretful and meditative tone to so many tracks here, which is not what one expects from a band as vital as this one. But the playing is solid, especially Campbell's clear and precise slide guitar leads, and if things don't always gel to the level of either the classic old Chess sides or this band's own impressive legacy, the good news is that the group will tour it, and this is as good a rock band as there is in the land. ~ Steve Leggett


    UPC 093624966807
    Runtime 64 min.
    Type Performer
    Genre Rock & Pop
    Label Reprise Records
    Producer Ryan Ulyate; Mike Campbell; Tom Petty
    Number of Discs 1
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. Jefferson Jericho Blues
    • 2. First Flash of Freedom
    • 3. Running Man's Bible
    • 4. Trip to Pirate's Cove, The
    • 5. Candy
    • 6. No Reason to Cry
    • 7. I Should Have Known It
    • 8. U.S. 41
    • 9. Takin' My Time
    • 10. Let Yourself Go
    • 11. Don't Pull Me Over
    • 12. Lover's Touch
    • 13. High in the Morning
    • 14. Something Good Coming
    • 15. Good Enough
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Petty, Tom

    Product Reviews

    5 Stars
    4 Stars
    3 Stars
    2 Stars
    1 Stars
    • Tom Petty/Mojo

      Great CD! Give it a listen. Arrived promptly and in excellent condition. Would buy from this seller again.

      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
    Get your product questions answered right here.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns


    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.


    This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii. More details

    * For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.