They Also Serve (Paperback)

The Rewards Program that Pays for Itself
  • EARN 5 to 40%
    Earn 5% in Club O Rewards on every order & up to 40% on select items.
  • FREE SHIPPING Every Order, Every Day*
    No matter how big or small, your order always ships for free.
  • VIP ACCESS
    Dedicated customer service and early access to exclusive deals.
  • RISK FREE
    Club O pays for itself, or we make up the difference
Today: $10.76
Very High Sellout Risk
ITEM# 14253642
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    They Also Serve (Paperback)
    CHOOSE A LIST
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later

    Details

    ITEM#: 14253642

    Bob Sharpe, who was born in 1902 and died in 1985, worked both in London and in several country houses. Tom Quinn is the editor of the Country Landowner's Magazine. He has spent the last 20 years interviewing people who worked in domestic service, and is the author of a number of books, including Eccentric London, Hidden Britain, London's Strangest Tales, and Tales of the Old Country Farmers.

    Told by a man who's seen it all firsthand and perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, this is a scandilous behind-the-scenes look at the real-life estate houses of England

    During more than 30 years in a variety of houses, Bob Sharpe managed to rise from garden boy to valet and finally to the feared and respected position of butler. As a boy he had to kill pheasant chicks, boil rabbits for the estate dogs, carry the wood up and down stairs every day for 30 fires, and sleep on the floor outside his master's room. He cleaned shoes, ironed underwear and socks, and once had to stand all night in the hall waiting for a late visitor to arrive. But as a butler he was the best paid servant in the house, waited on, feared, and respected by the other servants. Bob Sharpe knew the real world of upstairs/downstairs and the secrets of the landed gentry—even to the point of incest and attempted murder—and it's all included here in this captivating read.

    Specs

    ISBN 9781444735925
    Genre BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
    Format Paperback
    Pages 246
    Publisher Date 2012-10-10 00:00:00.0
    Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
    Copyright Year 2012
    Height 8.0 in
    Wdth 5.25 in
    Thickness 0.75 in
    Unit weight 0.35 lb
    Language English
    Audience General/trade
    Authors Sharpe, Bob

    Product Reviews

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
    Get your product questions answered right here.
    Guidelines

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    Shipping:

    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    * For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.