Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

I was very pleased to find "The Story of a Lifetime" on Overstock.com after first discovering this do-it-yourself memoir on another website. I ordered 2 copies on Nov. 30th as I was planning to give one each to my grandmother and to my father for the holidays. Around Dec 11th, I began to wonder why I had not received the two copies of the book. I contacted Overstock.com's customer service via the online chat feature and was helped by a customer service representative (CSR) who checked on the status of my order.I was advised by the CSR that all books from Overstock.com are shipped via USPS MEDIA MAIL and have an estimated delivery timeframe of up to 15 BUSINESS DAYS from the shipping date. I was not aware of this when I placed my order. Luckily, I received my order on Dec 18th which was 14 Business Days from the ship date. I am pleased with this product, but not with Overstock.com's description of their shipping methods. Please be sure to check the shipping method if you decide to purchase this book to ensure that you will receive it when you need it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A LIFE REMEMBERED
 from Louisville, KY,  Dec 16, 2010

This gift was purchased for my cousin and her mother who is my Mom's older sister. Our goal is to compare the book that my Mom completed with the one that my Aunt will complete with the help of her daughter. My Mom is 85 and my Aunt will be 91 next month. My entire family will have the opportunity to read about the life my Mom and my Aunt led. It is a wonderful gift and a wonderful way to remember the lives of loved ones. I hope that the grandkids will enjoy reading about their grandparents.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Highly Recommend Keepsake Memory Book
 from Austin, TX,  Jan 7, 2008

I purchased this book for my father-in-law so we can learn more about his childhood, middle years, and the present. The book's hardback binding is beautiful, making the book a durable, yet whimsical keepsake. Inside, the book is divided into sections based on age (childhood, older years, etc) and major events (marriage, children, etc). Questions in the book help prompt the recipient to reminisce (which is helpful for someone who is not a prolific writer). I highly recommend this book and will be buying one for myself also!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This book is a great gift idea!
 from North East, MD,  Jan 17, 2012

I am very happy with this book. The quality is good, the questions are thought provoking, and overall it's just a good product. I can't wait to read what my loved ones will write about their lives!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the story of a life time
 from Abu Dhabi UAE,  Sep 28, 2011

I bought this gift for my mother inlaw in abu dhabi , the delivery was fast and the prduct is great . i would recomend this to people who really want to find out who they are and to pass on a lifetime of memories for the new generation of their family .

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? looks the same, good colours
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. brilliant ,great quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for Family Histories
 from delaware,  Aug 10, 2011

Gave this to my mother-in-law and we filled it out together. It was a great way to learn about her and her childhood experiences,. Was nice for both of us; we had a great time filling in all the information and the book brings up things that may be overlooked otherwise. I have been married 32 years and still learned a great deal about my husband's family and traditions. You will not be disappointed.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Beautiful workmanship
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEST GIFT I EVER GAVE
 from PA,  Jul 2, 2011

I gave this as a gift to my Dad on Father's Day. He couldn't be more THRILLED with this book. He is a terrible man to buy gifts for as he has everything he could posibly want or need. He still can't stop thanking me for this book. He works on it as he sits by the pool & tells me all about it. It has been a source of "bonding" for us, as he is constantly telling me stories pertaining to thoughts provoked by this book. It is such a joy for m knowing that he really appreciates this & someday I will get to read it & learn more about the wonderful man I call "Dad".

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured, though the book is very elegant and classical. Not sure the picture does it justice.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice gift idea
 from Michigan,  Jun 7, 2008

I gave this gift to my mother with the instructions to her that it will be a gift she will "re-gift" to my daughters. There are MANY different categories for her to fill in - which could be overwhelming I guess for someone not interested in filling it out. She and I both thought it was great and once filled in will offer so many memories/things about my mom- some that I didn't even know until we went through the book together. It also sparked many great conversations.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great book
 from nj,  Dec 28, 2007

your able to put a lot of details about your family, and questions make it easy for you to fill in and keep track of your family history. the book is hard cover, big and beautiful covered green with some gold designs. it's worth it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top