Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Power of Now
 from Huntington, WV,  Sep 8, 2006

Enables an entirely refreshing view of self. We are bombarded with philosophical, religious and moral assertions leaving one to wonder if anything can be discerned on one's own.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Here and Now
 Jan 28, 2009

After reading happiness books like "Finding Happiness in a Frustrating World", I felt like I had a good handle on what science had uncovered about how to live a happy life and have to say that I am MUCH happier for having read them. But, while the field of positive psychology has made some great contributions to my happiness levels, it's books like "The Power of Now" that come along and let you know there's STILL more you can learn...........A key concept of the book (if I'm explaining it right) is that you will start to experience a certain kind of enlightenment when you learn to leave your analytical mind behind. In other words, instead of "thinking" try just "observing your thinking." And when you do this, you also need to realize that all this "thinking noise" that goes on in your head all day long is not really who you are- an enlightening concept indeed!..........To that end, the book is set up in a question and answer format to help you get to understand these kinds of concepts. While it might seem ridiculous to some, it really isn't. Case in point, we all talk to ourselves or have witnessed others talking to themselves at times (maybe during a sporting event perhaps). If you ask someone who they are talking to, they will usually say "I'm talking to myself." And this, by definition, means that there have to be two "selves", an "I" talking to "myself"- and so justifies the idea of two selves (a "you" and a "thinking you" in the book)..........Well, if these seem to be the kind of concepts you're ready to explore, this is your book. It raises some good questions and certainly brings up one that you can't argue with: all we have is the here and now. As the book so astutely points out, "Nothing ever happened in the past; it happened in the Now. Nothing ever happened in the future, it will happen in the Now." And learning to live in the now IS the point of the whole book.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Here and Now
 Jan 20, 2009

After reading happiness books like "Finding Happiness in a Frustrating World", I felt like I had a good handle on what science had uncovered about how to live a happy life and have to say that I am MUCH happier for having read them. But, while the field of positive psychology has made some great contributions to my happiness levels, it's books like "The Power of Now" that come along and let you know there's STILL more you can learn...........A key concept of the book (if I'm explaining it right) is that you will start to experience a certain kind of enlightenment when you learn to leave your analytical mind behind. In other words, instead of "thinking" try just "observing your thinking." And when you do this, you also need to realize that all this "thinking noise" that goes on in your head all day long is not really who you are- an enlightening concept indeed!..........To that end, the book is set up in a question and answer format to help you get to understand these kinds of concepts. While it might seem ridiculous to some, it really isn't. Case in point, we all talk to ourselves or have witnessed others talking to themselves at times (maybe during a sporting event perhaps). If you ask someone who they are talking to, they will usually say "I'm talking to myself." And this, by definition, means that there have to be two "selves", an "I" talking to "myself"- and so justifies the idea of two selves (a "you" and a "thinking you" in the book)..........Well, if these seem to be the kind of concepts you're ready to explore, this is your book. It raises some good questions and certainly brings up one that you can't argue with: all we have is the here and now. As the book so astutely points out, "Nothing ever happened in the past; it happened in the Now. Nothing ever happened in the future, it will happen in the Now." And learning to live in the now IS the point of the whole book.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Life Changing
 from Yonkers, NY,  Jun 2, 2008

I purchased this book because it was recommended along with another book that I had previosly purchased and I was purchasing again as a gift. Well, I have already purchased 4 additional copies of A New Earth to give to very dear friends. I wish it was translated into Spanish so that I can give it to some of my relatives. Anyway, I have to say that the book has transformed my life in the sense that it has brought peace to my life. The book helped me become conscience about the importance of the present moment and it's content, which I did not have before. In addition, I have always struggled with understanding what forgiveness is about. I have said that I've forgiven people who hurt me but really haven't felt forgiveness. The book tought me that it's OK to not feel something that we are conditioned to "feel." It thought me that in fact, when I am ready the feeling will come. It kind of explained to me that I am normal while relieving from the guilt that I was feeling for not being able to feel the things I said. The most important take for me is that it's OK to be who I am now, yet giving me the hope that I will evolve into what ever I want to evolve to when I'm ready. Therefore, I should enjoy, and appreciate now for what it is: "the only thing I truly have, which is the present moment."

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Goos start
 from Omaha, NE,  May 12, 2008

This is a really good start for people asking questions, i personally prefer things written in a little heavier matter, but appreciate the directions that the writer takes, very basic honest thought behind it all. I was somewhat underwhelmed by the topics and discussion, but impressed with the simplicity of the thought behind it, i prefer another writers method on similar subjects, but if you enjoy this writer's method, you will not be let down in the amount of other works that he has done, enjoy

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ready to change your life?
 from Stroudsburg,Pa.,  Apr 21, 2008

Opening this book is like opening the mind to a life changing way of seeing yourself , and anyone in your life ,in a different way.This book is not the kind you put on a shelf to gather dust.This book should be at arms reach at all times,and used as a reference and guide to read over and over again.It has changed my life and it will change yours.If you feel despair,resentment,anger,fear,if you wonder what purpose you serve in the whole scheme of things,then this book is for you! Invest in yourself.You will find all the answers you will need between the covers of this book..And don't forget to pick up Eckhart Tolle's other book..A New Earth.Oprah's not doing the Worldwide Web event for this book every Monday night throughout the world for nothing!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
An exceptional experience
 from Rifle, Co,  Mar 27, 2008

This book is beyond 5 star. I gave it no entertainment value because it is a learning tool and has nothing to do with entertainment. If you are seeking an answer to who and what you are and want to explore your own spirituality....buy it NOW. If you have a desire to live a richer, fuller, meaningful life filled with joy.....buy it NOW. This book has opened not just a door but all the windows as well exposing a beautiful world.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Book for those who are lost !
 from New York, NYC,  Oct 22, 2007

I starting reading this book cos I am in my mid 30's and kind of going through a clean up of friends and wondering what the rest of the possible 30 years are going to bring. This book even though i've only read half way through has already relaxed me and really taught me to live in the moment and not worry about people or situations. Let it be and just ride the day !!! So, i'm more free, don't worry so much and really am just living the moment. Great book. Highly recommend it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just do it NOW
 from San Francisco,  Sep 8, 2007

This was recommended to me by a friend and I cannot put it down. A must have for anyone who is a procrastinator or needs additional insight into you life!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive Review Title=Arrived in great condition.
 from Trenton, NJ,  Aug 14, 2014

This book arrived really fast. That's why I ALWAYS buy books from this site. I got what I expected....nothing less than great business. = )

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Save the money and buy something else
 from The Great Northwest,  Feb 6, 2012

Save your money; others have said it better, more clearly, and with better insight.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Interesting Read
 from Central Texas,  Aug 5, 2009

The book arrived in excellent condition and very promptly. I have not finished reading it but so far it has held my attention and my curiosity. Would recommend!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT BOOK 'NOW'
 from Sequim, Wa,  Jan 30, 2009

THE BOOK GOT HERE QUICKLY ....IN EXCELLENT CONDITION....AND I AM ENJOYING READING IT...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Good Companion to "A New Earth"
 from New York, NY,  May 28, 2008

I'd Read Tolle's "A New Earth" and decided to read this book, "Power of Now" which is an earlier work of his. It is similar, but different, more question and answer. It gives a different perspective and just keeps me active 'on the path', peaceful. Which is where I want to be, but I have to keep practicing it...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Power of Now
 from Wisconsin,  May 26, 2008

Very thought provoking, somewhat difficult to understand at times.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Power of Now
 from Encino, CA,  May 11, 2008

A great addition for anyone on a spiritual path which focuses on being in the present moment and fully aware. I love it immensely.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
An Excellent Guide for LIfe
 from NY,  Apr 25, 2008

Readers wil rejoice in the wisdom found within these pages. The Power of Now is a riveting message that grabs the reader, shakes them around a bit, and says "Wake up!" "Wake up!", wake up to life, the the power of the present moment and the infinite possibilities that lie therein. It addresses the individual at any level, social, religious, cultural, etc and provides the clear Truth that exists above thought and beyond existence.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
THE POWER OF NOW
 from NASHVILLE, TN,  Mar 2, 2008

WHAT A GREAT BOOK! VERY INSPIRATIONAL HELPING ANYBODY TO UNDERSTAND THE IMPORTANCE OF STAYING IN THE MOMENT OF NOW INSTEAD OF STRESSING ABOUT THE PAST AND THE FUTURE.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Power of Now
 from Houston, TX,  Aug 16, 2007

Great book. Makes you see life different. I loved it so much and the price was so good that I ordered 2 more books for my closest friends.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought