Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Like the book, just not the book!
 from Orlando, Florida,  Feb 23, 2008

I probably didn't read the description properly. This book must have been a trade copy - tiny writing packing out the margins on every page. I couldn't read it. That was obviously why the book was cheaper than the others offered. Had to go to the book store and buy a different copy. The actual story is great - a very easy and enjoyable read.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Pillars of the Earth
 from Sylacauga,Al,  Dec 20, 2007

As an avid reader for over 50 years I can honestly say this is without a doubt the best novel I have ever read. I love history, this is the 12th century/Braveheart time. The characters come alive and the settings become real in a time when just to surivive was a miracle.the wars were far more violent than a person could ever imagine. The research on the 12th century must have taken an unbelievable amount of time. It is a long story, full of action, betrayal, and love in the 12th century--better than Braveheart. A must read, you will not be able to put it down.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Fine
 from Pensacola FL,  Jan 7, 2011

I bought this book for my 17 year old grandson. He just wrote to thank me and tell me he "loved it". I'm always pleased to know that an excellent writer is also prolific. There shall be many more opportunities for gifting.... knowing the recipient will be happy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BEST BOOK EVER
 from DC,  Nov 2, 2010

I've never met anyone who didn't love it. Epic story that appeals to history lovers and beyond.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pillars of the Earth
 from Reno, NV,  Aug 19, 2010

The book arrived within just a few days and in perfect condition! This is a great story- it's the second time I will be reading it! I also purchased World Without End, which follows this story but a couple hundred years later. I would reccomend this book to anyone!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good read
 from Pottstown, PA,  Aug 5, 2009

This book was a very good read. Based on actual history, it blends fiction with history wonderfully. I wish I had ordered the larger version of the story because it is so detailed. Also, a set of pages came out of the binding. I did not ever have this with the larger version of the follow up to this book. Definately would suggest this to anyone who likes history and fiction.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pillars of the Earth
 from Philadelphia, PA suburbs,  Sep 19, 2008

As with all Ken Follett novels there is a varied cast of characters. This story, set in mideval England chronicles the building of a cathedral and the lives of all levels of society. Anyone who enjoys period pieces of historical fiction will be caught up in the daily lives and intrigues of the characters. For a modern reader who is accoustomed to having a building project such as a shopping mall or office park go up seemingly overnight the slow pace of work on the cathedral is fascinating. You can appreciate why the Italians use the phrase, "Like building a cathedral" for any project that takes more than the ususal time to complete. Great story telling, as with most Ken Follett novels and a peek at our world almost 1000 years ago.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Recommend
 from Arizona,  May 30, 2008

A good friend of mine said I had to read this book. I started reading it right away and I haven't been able to put it down. It has mystery and sadness along with an interesting story line. I love it so far! I would definitely recommend. The author also has a sequel that was just released and I can't wait to buy it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Pillars of the earth
 from Naples, FL,  May 30, 2008

Excellent book. Definitely holds your interest and is hard to stop once started. Takes place in 12th century England and I am sure the historical part is well researched,

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pillar's of the Earth
 from Troy, ny,  May 26, 2008

Follet moves off the crime drama psy novel and delves deeply into all things english as far as religion goes. Well done!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great book!
 from Norfolk, VA,  Mar 30, 2008

Very good read which introduces you to a new culture you might not be familiar with, making the story all the more adventurous. An easy read, but not so easy you might as well be watching TV!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing Book!
 Feb 15, 2008

I could not put this book down. I read it in a matter of days because I had to know what happened to the characters I learned to loved as well as the ones I hated. A fabulous but violent story of love, religion and war. I highly recommend!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
"I LOVE THIS BOOK!"
 from Michigan,  Jan 24, 2008

I purchased this book for my husband to take on our vacation while doing a little poolside reading. He must have told me 20 times "I LOVE THIS BOOK!" and he isn't easy to entertain. Now he is looking into other books by the same author. The price is the best I have found anywhere for books.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
historic epic
 from Western Tennessee,  Jan 9, 2008

Combines storytelling and history in a long epic novel. This book is the story of a stone mason and his quest to build the best cathedral in the world. It spans generations and many rulers in a small English forrest hamlet. Be warned that some scenes in this book are surprisingly racy!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fantastic book
 from NY,  Jan 4, 2008

This book was a wonderful experience! It kept you enthralled through all 970+ pages. Highly recommended by me and Oprah.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pillars of the Earth
 from Montgomery, Texas,  Jan 4, 2008

I can't put this book down! The book pulls the reader in and just will not let go...excellent!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Book Epic Story!
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Jan 3, 2008

I have read Pillars of the Earth about a year ago and it became one of my alltime favorites. The characters are vivid and the story really draws you in. I ordered seven copies at a good price on Overstock and gave them out as holiday gifts. I have already received feedback from two people who said they could not put it down as well. Definitely a recommended cold weather read!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good read
 from St. Louis MO,  Dec 29, 2007

I am enjoying this book -- it is really exciting, and I find it hard to put down. It is so long, though, that it will take you awhile.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Story
 from Clermont Fl,  Dec 26, 2007

For a book that had close to 700 pages this was a magnificent read. The story puts the reader back into the time and Ken Follet is a master storyteller. I am definitely going to buy the sequel to this book at Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good!
 from Long Beach, CA,  Dec 18, 2007

This is completely different from Oprah's other choices...but a great one! The book came a little later than the others I ordered at the same time, but still in time for the holidays!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 28 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top