Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Omnivores Dilemna
 from Seattle,  Feb 26, 2009

Excellent book, everyone should read if they are at all concerned about our food supply. Informative, well written, entertaining.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great book!
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Jun 1, 2007

This is another terrific book by Michael Pollan - fascinating information on how food gets to us and all the in between scenes details. Highly recommended.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Fantastic Read!
 from Minneapolis, MN,  May 1, 2007

This book is filled with tons of information for anyone interested in ecology, nutrition, and animal rights. Michael Pollan certainly does not preach but instead gives us the tools necessary to make conscious decisions about what we put in our bodies as well as an understanding of how choosing the foods we eat can affect the environment, our health, and even government policies.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Smart, Great details on the food chain
 from Austin,TX,  May 1, 2007

Wow, this easy read is packed with facts that will make you think twice on your next trip to the supermarket. Great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So interesting!
 from Orlando, FL,  Apr 6, 2007

What a terrific book! Starts out a little technical, but moves into things I never knew about the way we grow, over-produce, manufacture and consume food!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What a read!
 from Albuquerque, New Mexico,  Mar 28, 2007

This is the best book I read in 2006. Clear and compelling writing style. Information for all to learn. Great information about where our food comes from and how it gets to us. Will make anyone think about what they put into their mouth to eat. Gives a jumping off spot for action. I now belong to a CSA. Will always look for a way to eat locally. And hopefully organic.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I loved it so much I'm buying several for gifts!
 from Cincinnati OH,  Nov 2, 2006

I rarely buy books, being an avid library patron. I took the audio CDs of Ominvore's Delimma to the check out counter at my local branch and the head librarian raved about it. He was right, after I starting it I couldn't wait to get back into my car to listen to it. Now I amy ordering three to give as gifts! I had expected the author to bash the food we eat, but was pleasantly surpised to hear balanced views on the food we eat, how it is grown and aquired. It is the kind of book we all wish we had read as students, informative yet wonderfully entertaining. Not just facts and figures, but first hand experiences showing how things are in the food chain.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
important book
 from New York, NY,  Sep 18, 2006

We are what we eat, and that is a scary thought based on the description of our "food chain" in this book. The book follows the growth of heavily subsidized corn (up to 40% of the cost of production) that is fed massive amounts of chemical fertilizer derived from oil (again, up to 40% of the cost of production). The corn then is fed to cows in confined, unsanitary areas. Since cows are not adapted to eating corn or the unsanitary conditions, they must be fed antibiotics to keep them from dying before slaughter. So why feed them corn if it's not good for them? Because it's cheaper. Why is it cheaper? Because the corn is subsidized, to the tune of $4.6b in 2005 (source: NYT on September 16, 2006). That's about $12-15 of tax dollars from every American. So what to do? Try to find beef from cows that ate grass, probably at a farmers market or a farm.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought