Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Excellent casting and realization
 from Sacramento, CA,  Nov 26, 2012

This marvelous HBO miniseries faithfully captures the atmosphere and charm of these beloved mysteries. My family read the books after enjoying this series so much, and while some parts of the books are moved around (the excellent first book, in particular, since so many strong dramatic developments are packed into it), the feeling of the stories and the characters is fully preserved. The charm and beauty of Precious Ramotswe, the prickly efficiency of Mma Makutsi, and the solid goodness of Mr. J. L. B. Matakone are very well-realized here. I so wish a second series had been made, but this production was a labor of love for director/producer Anthony Minghella, and he passed away shortly after its completion. The warmth with which he regarded this effort suffuses the entire production.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive review title
 from san diego, ca,  Sep 6, 2012

After reading the books, the television series was excellent. I really, really enjoyed the dvd collection.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brilliant series!
 from innois,  Jan 4, 2012

Brilliant acting, great location, wish they would make more episodes. Wonderful entertainment for the whole family.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this series!
 from Michigan mitten,  Jun 30, 2011

I read the series of books by Alexander McCall Smith. So also did my husband and many of our friends after I raved about how enjoyable the story was and how well it was written. I was shopping the "O" and didn't even know that a series had been made (HBO). I ordered the DVDs and we were thrilled when we watched. It was like being right there in Africa. The only disappointment was that there wasn't more! We have loaned these DVDs out a dozen times and even people who had not read the books could follow the story and loved the filming! Several people, ourselves included, have watched many times. It's like going on vacation and visiting an old friend in a faraway place!

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Better
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Better
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ladies #1
 Aug 26, 2010

I had read all of the books about the 31 Ladies Detective Agency and enjoyed every one. Watching the stories on HBO was such a joyful experience. Most of the time, the book is better than the film, but not true on this one . You will want to watch this one over and over.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Finally, an engaging series without blood & gore
 from Colorado,  Jun 2, 2010

It's a rare thing to say a series (or movie) is as good as the book(s), but that is the case here. Although the pilot drags somewhat, the individual episodes are excellent. As in the book, the humor is both intelligent and gentle, the morality is strong but not overdone, and there is a distinct lack of murder and mayhem. In a time when most detective shows seem to think we need to see exactly how a decapitation takes place, having a detective roust out adulterers, illegal bars and exploitive "daddies" is a welcome change. I have been showing episodes to my at-risk high school students during in-school suspension, and to my great surprise, they like the series (once they got past the accents). They almost stayed late to find out how one episode ended! I can truly recommend this series to anyone.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
5 stars
 from Tonja M. Culver City, CA,  May 26, 2010

I saw a few episodes of this and Jill Scott and Anika is soooo good in this and I didnt want to pay $49.99 at best buy so I am glad that it was on sale here at $XX so worth the $49.99 but glad I got the sale

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from Bridgeport WV,  May 15, 2010

the movie was so good I just could not wait unitl I put the next DVD in look to buy the next season

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Priceless
 from Montgomery, AL,  Feb 26, 2010

I have been a fan of this series since day 1 but the price kept me from starting a collection. Overstock.com helped me. The quality of the DVDs are impeccable from the picture to the sound. Jill Scott looks wonderful (no glitches), it is just like watching HBO. The music is so smooth it makes you forget to hate Note. Highly Recommended even for new viewers who love mysteries!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
African Life
 from Lockwood, MO,  Jan 6, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed this set of DVDs. It reminded us so much of what life is like in Africa and brought us many fond memories. We would highly recommend this set just because it does show how things are in Africa and also because it's so entertaining. The characters are very well cast and you can rest assured that it's authentic. We can hardly wait for the next season to come out. These follow the books.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought