For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Love this cookbook!
 from New York,  Dec 6, 2012

I bought 2, one for myself, and another as a gift. I don't use any other cookbook! I'm a banker, and I love all the explanations the recipes come with. Also makes a great gift for those left brain thinkers!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love, Love, LOVE This Cookbook!!!
 from FL,  Jun 12, 2012

I have several of the cookbooks in the Best Recipe series. This one is great! I've made many of the recipes and every one of them was terrific. Highly recommend this cookbook!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Cookbook
 from Chicago, IL,  Feb 16, 2012

This is a very detailed, easy to follow cookbook. Additionally, the receipes I have made have come out great. Love it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great browsing
 from NC,  Jan 4, 2012

Great for beginners or cooks of vast experience. The magazine tests all methods of making a specific dish and then recommends the easiest for your needs. I have already purchased two copies for gifts and then got one for my husband and myself from Overstock. There are line drawings but no photos in case you prefer pictures of your dishes.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great book! Great reading!
 from Southwest USA,  Sep 22, 2011

This is a great book with more than you want to know about many classic dishes. It is fun for casual reading for people that love food and cooking and the recipes are great! I often like to find the "best recipe" for common dish. They try all the possibilities and then tell you what items and techniques are important and which ones you can eliminate. Nice timesaver! It isn't all fancy dishes, just good ones! This is a big thick book so not good for taking traveling but a great reference on the shelf!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Love this book!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WONDERFUL BOOK!!
 from North Carolina,  Jul 13, 2011

This is a great book. My husband & I are experienced cooks but we have learned many things from the book. Great for beginners as well as experienced cooks. We liked it so much we bought one for our daugther *& her husband.

  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? EXACT!!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. EXCELLENT!!!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The New Best Recipe: All-New Edition
 from Meadville, PA,  Jan 30, 2008

I bought this cookbook when first published in 1999. This edition is a must have, since it contains over 500 new recipes.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
New Best Recipe Book
 from Florida,  Jan 16, 2008

I have an older version of this book at my home in New York and now that we spend the winters in Florida I thought I could do without a copy down here. Wrong! This book has such wonderful recipes, but better than the recipes, it explains the enormous amount of experimenting the authors do to get the recipe just right.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The New Best Recipe Cookbook
 from Charlotte, N.C.,  Dec 31, 2007

This is one of the finest cookbooks ever. It explains why certain ingredients are used and how a particular recipe evolved. The recipes work and are excellent. The Seller sent the book as discribed and in a timely manner and packed properly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Book
 from Kansas City, KS,  Dec 15, 2007

This is one cookbook I would recommend to anyone. The recipes always are good.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Delicious Recipes! Excellent recipe descriptions
 from Vancouver, WA,  Nov 13, 2007

Every recipe tried has been the BEST. Even 'plain old' pot roast and stews come out the best I've ever had. German Chocolate Cake is to DIE for! Love the descriptions from the Test Kitchen on what ingredients were used, why certain ingredients excelled over others. Recipes are easy to follow, not too many ingredients, making for a most excellent dish on all occasions that I've tried. Best cookbook I've ever bought, and believe me, I've bought more than my share!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Everything You Ever Wanted to Know
 from Albany, New York,  Sep 22, 2007

An absolutely superb book that not only gives you the truly best recipe, but tells you why it's the best. CI has already tried all the variations on ingredients and methods, and reports the findings to you. This book has saved me days and weeks of trying out recipe variations, and if I want a slightly different end product, they've told me how to get it. I actually counted the number of times they prepared and tested one recipe: it was over 100!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
There is always something you can learn
 from Williamsburg,VA.,  Sep 6, 2007

I bought this cookbook, as requested, for my daughter. When it came and I started reading it, I was so impressed, I purchased 2 more, one as a shower gift and the other for myself. If you enjoy the magazine or the TV program, you will love this cookbook. It has every recipe imaginable as well as detailed information. I am married 32 years, love to cook and have many cookbooks. This one will be used over and over.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is my favorite
 from Stowe, Vermont,  Apr 1, 2007

I have huge cookbook collection and this is one of the most used books in it. I give this as a gift to anyone who wants to learn how to cook or anyone who knows how to cook for that matter. It is the new staple for young marrieds. I had a cooking school for kids and often used this book as a guideline. The price is much cheaper than ordering it from Cook's Illustrated.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I LOVE THIS COOKBOOK!
 from Indiana,  Sep 24, 2006

I'm just now learning how to cook so I'm VERY happy to have found this cookbook. It's a reference manual and cookbook all rolled in to one. Each recipie includes a detailed description of the various methods the test kitchens tried. More experienced cooks may think the details are over-kill, however, as a newbie cook, I NEED the details. For example, in the ins and outs of what makes the perfect pan-seared salmon, I found I needed to use a TINY bit of canola oil because: #1. salmon is already a fatty fish and doesn't need much extra oil, #2. the necessary high tempature causes butter to billow smoke, and #3. olive oil overwhelms the fish's flavor Since I didn't even have canola oil in my kitchen I would have just doused the pan in olive oil and then been thoroughly confused later at how greasy and disgusting the fish was. After reading WHY I needed canola oil, I went out bought some, and truly DID make the PERFECT pan-seared salmon ON MY FIRST TRY EVER AT COOKING FISH! WHOOPPPEEE!!! The sheer size of the book may turn some people off (it's over 1000 pages), but like I said, I NEED and enjoy all the extra info.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Recipe, Best Cookbook
 from Costa Mesa, CA,  Sep 11, 2006

I love this cookbook and had to buy it for two of my friends. I intend to buy more copies for Christmas presents for other cooks in my family. Fantastic value and recipes turn out every time. Love the Cook's Illustrated series and this is the best of the bunch.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great cookbook
 from San Diego,  Sep 8, 2006

I don't have experience cooking and I sure don't know much about cooking technique. I have personally made all the recipes my family has enjoyed from this book with "technical" help from my wife. When my wife has made "new" recipes from other sources, we don't know what the final product will be like. With this book, not only do they tell you what the final product should be like, it most likely will turn out that way. I've watched America's Test Kitchen and thought that I could make some of the recipes they prepared. I like how detailed the nstructions are on the show and the book is even more detailed. I've seen Cook's Illustrated magazine in the book store and this book is similar though slightly condensed (explanations of the testing they did and why the final recipe is the way it is). While they have incredible detail on how and why, they do have to assume you have some rudimentary knowledge of cooking technique. So, when I tried the brownie recipe and it told me to "fold" the flour into the batter, I was clueless - fortunately, my wife supervises. They purposely change their recipe from "classic" recipes to make it more likely the average home kitchen has the tools required along with the ingredients being available at your supermarket. The brownies are incredible - the difference between out of the box brownies and the "classic" brownies is why people make food from scratch. Light and fluffy pancakes came out just the way they describe it...not the dense version I usually generate from packaged mixes (my wife had to give me a lesson on flipping pancakes - that's how inept I am in the kitchen). BBQ spare ribs with the BBQ dry rub - just like the ribs I had at "Smokey Bones" in the Atlanta area (the book tells you how to cook grill recipes for charcoal and gas grills). Cheese Straws drew rave reviews at a party (although not as pretty because my daughter and I couldn't get the twists described in the recipe so we just laid it out flat - the guests didn't care). Fallen chocolate cake (molten lava cake) was better than the local Chili's. Every recipe I've made has come out they way they said it would. As a totally novice cook, if I can get good results, then anyone should be able to do the same. As a novice cook, I do run into problems when timing is important when making a recipe the first time - like frozen dough becoming too warm because I took too long with something else before getting to the dough. They assume the average cook can get something done in X minutes while someone like me takes double the time. Fortunately, from America's Test Kitchen, I knew to just throw the dough back into the freezer when it got too warm. On my wife's advice, I am writing all over the book with my own notes on each recipe I make with any adjustments on spices or time allotments so each recipe will be MY Best Recipes. It's a great book.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A great book!
 Sep 1, 2006

I love this book. It is great as a source of recipes, but is also interesting for anyone who cares about the details of food preparation, and why some things work and others don't. There are also helpful product reviews, with explanations of why some are favored over others. It would also be useful solely as a cookbook. I have enjoyed using this book, and have given it as a gift to friends who like cooking and food.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Greatest Book Ever
 Aug 3, 2006

Not only is The Best Recipe the best cookbook ever, it's one of my alltime favorite books! It is fun to sit down and read about how the staff went in pursuit of the ultimate muffin or pop-over. Buy the book and make the french toast, it will change your life!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top