The Islanders (Paperback)

Today: $2.18
Out of stock
ITEM# 14183014

    Enter your e-mail address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.

Details

ITEM#: 14183014

Christopher Priest's novels have built him an inimitable dual reputation as a contemporary novelist and a leading figure in modern science fiction and fantasy. His novel The Prestige is unique in winning both a major literary prize, the James Tait Black Award, and a major genre prize, the World Fantasy Award. It was also made into a 2006 Academy Award–nominated film directed by Christopher Nolan. His other awards have included the Arthur C. Clarke Award and four Hugo nominations.
Reality is illusory and magical in the stunning new literary sci-fi novel from the multiple award-winning author of The Prestige—for fans of Haruki Murakami and David Mitchell
This is a tale of murder, artistic rivalry, and literary trickery; a Chinese puzzle of a novel where nothing is quite what it seems; with a narrator whose agenda is artful and subtle; and a narrative that pulls you in and plays an elegant game with you. The Dream Archipelago is a vast network of islands. The names of the islands are different depending on who you talk to, their very locations seem to twist and shift. Some islands have been sculpted into vast musical instruments, others are home to lethal creatures, others the playground for high society. Hot winds blow across the archipelago and a war fought between two distant continents is played out across its waters. The Islanders serves both as an untrustworthy but enticing guide to the islands; an intriguing, multilayered tale of a murder; and the suspect legacy of its appealing but definitely untrustworthy narrator. It shows Christopher Priest at the height of his powers and illustrates his undiminished power to dazzle.

Specs

ISBN 9780575088641
Genre FICTION / Science Fiction / General
Format Paperback
Pages 339
Publisher Date 2012-09-01 00:00:00.0
Publisher Victor Gollancz
Copyright Year 2012
Height 7.5 in
Wdth 5.0 in
Thickness 1.0 in
Unit weight 0.48 lb
Language English
Edition Detail Reprint
Audience General/trade
Authors Priest, Christopher

Product Reviews

Questions & Answers

Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Get your product questions answered right here.
Guidelines

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

* For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.