The Islanders (Paperback)

Earn 2% in Rewards on this order
FREE with Club O Silver.

Rewards

SILVER

FREE

2% Rewards

Keep shopping on Overstock

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

GOLD

$19.95/yr.

5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

Free Shipping

Never pay extra

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Today: $12.03
Very High Sellout Risk
ITEM# 14183014
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    The Islanders (Paperback)
    CHOOSE A LIST
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later

    Details

    ITEM#: 14183014

    Christopher Priest's novels have built him an inimitable dual reputation as a contemporary novelist and a leading figure in modern science fiction and fantasy. His novel The Prestige is unique in winning both a major literary prize, the James Tait Black Award, and a major genre prize, the World Fantasy Award. It was also made into a 2006 Academy Award–nominated film directed by Christopher Nolan. His other awards have included the Arthur C. Clarke Award and four Hugo nominations.
    Reality is illusory and magical in the stunning new literary sci-fi novel from the multiple award-winning author of The Prestige—for fans of Haruki Murakami and David Mitchell
    This is a tale of murder, artistic rivalry, and literary trickery; a Chinese puzzle of a novel where nothing is quite what it seems; with a narrator whose agenda is artful and subtle; and a narrative that pulls you in and plays an elegant game with you. The Dream Archipelago is a vast network of islands. The names of the islands are different depending on who you talk to, their very locations seem to twist and shift. Some islands have been sculpted into vast musical instruments, others are home to lethal creatures, others the playground for high society. Hot winds blow across the archipelago and a war fought between two distant continents is played out across its waters. The Islanders serves both as an untrustworthy but enticing guide to the islands; an intriguing, multilayered tale of a murder; and the suspect legacy of its appealing but definitely untrustworthy narrator. It shows Christopher Priest at the height of his powers and illustrates his undiminished power to dazzle.

    Specs

    ISBN 9780575088641
    Genre FICTION / Science Fiction / General
    Format Paperback
    Pages 339
    Publisher Date 2012-09-01 00:00:00.0
    Publisher Victor Gollancz
    Copyright Year 2012
    Height 7.5 in
    Wdth 5.0 in
    Thickness 1.0 in
    Unit weight 0.48 lb
    Language English
    Edition Detail Reprint
    Audience General/trade
    Authors Priest, Christopher

    Product Reviews

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
    Get your product questions answered right here.
    Guidelines

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    Shipping:

    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    * For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.