The Islanders (Paperback)
 
Submit
Save for Later
Want to know when you'll get it? Go

What is “Estimated Delivery Date?”

This is an approximate delivery date and is not a guarantee. Delivery estimates are available only for select items to be delivered in the contiguous United States, excluding APO/FPO addresses and PO boxes. Your final shipping cost will be available at checkout.

OverstockTM Store Credit Card

6 or 12 Month Special
Financing Available
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›
o.

The Islanders (Paperback)

Today $12.35
Item #: 14183014
Very High Sellout Risk
    Reality is illusory and magical in the stunning new literary sci-fi novel from the multiple award-winning author of The Prestige—for fans of Haruki Murakami and David Mitchell
    This is a tale of murder, arti......more

People Who Viewed This Viewed

Sponsored Links What's This?

Reality is illusory and magical in the stunning new literary sci-fi novel from the multiple award-winning author of The Prestige—for fans of Haruki Murakami and David Mitchell
This is a tale of murder, artistic rivalry, and literary trickery; a Chinese puzzle of a novel where nothing is quite what it seems; with a narrator whose agenda is artful and subtle; and a narrative that pulls you in and plays an elegant game with you. The Dream Archipelago is a vast network of islands. The names of the islands are different depending on who you talk to, their very locations seem to twist and shift. Some islands have been sculpted into vast musical instruments, others are home to lethal creatures, others the playground for high society. Hot winds blow across the archipelago and a war fought between two distant continents is played out across its waters. The Islanders serves both as an untrustworthy but enticing guide to the islands; an intriguing, multilayered tale of a murder; and the suspect legacy of its appealing but definitely untrustworthy narrator. It shows Christopher Priest at the height of his powers and illustrates his undiminished power to dazzle.

Christopher Priest's novels have built him an inimitable dual reputation as a contemporary novelist and a leading figure in modern science fiction and fantasy. His novel The Prestige is unique in winning both a major literary prize, the James Tait Black Award, and a major genre prize, the World Fantasy Award. It was also made into a 2006 Academy Award–nominated film directed by Christopher Nolan. His other awards have included the Arthur C. Clarke Award and four Hugo nominations.

Author:
Priest, Christopher
Genre:
FICTION / Science Fiction / General
Audience:
General/trade
Edition Detail:
Reprint
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
339
Language:
English
Publisher:
Victor Gollancz
Publish Date:
09/01/2012
Copyright Year:
2012
ISBN:
9780575088641
Wdth:
5.0 in
Thickness:
1.0 in
Unit weight:
0.48 lb
Height:
7.5 in
Was this product information helpful?
Thank you for your feedback.
 
 
 
Thank you. Your feedback will help us create the best experience for our customers.

There are currently no product reviews for this product.

Be the first to write a review

Overstock.com values your opinion. Please take a moment and share what you like or don't like about a product.

Product Q&A

Ask a Question

Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Shipping:

This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

* For your safety, some orders go through our loss prevention department. If we select your order for this process, we will immediately notify you that there may be up to a 3-day delay on your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

Buy Now with Bitcoin Learn More