Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Southern Belles ring louder with Help.
 from Elmont, NY,  Jul 1, 2011

This book has moved me to tears; laughs, shock, reflection, gratitude, and so much more. Though I'm almost to the end, I can't wait to pick it up, in a few years, to read again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Help Bookj
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Oct 2, 2012

This book was exactly as described. Great read--probably one of my favorite books of all time. Would highly recommend.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as described
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as described
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very enjoyable Read
 from San Francisco, CA,  Mar 15, 2012

I enjoyed the book. Gave just enough background to make things interesting and not become boring.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfectly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great product
 from canada,  Mar 14, 2012

this book from which the movie is based is a wonderful story and the product was in a very good condition

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good, new book
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVED this book!
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  Jan 28, 2012

I had to read this book for my bookclub... would never had thought about it otherwise. Loved the book. Now I want to see the movie. All went well ordering this through Overstock - took about 10 days for delivery - so order early.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on target
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. New - perfect condition
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Help -- Great
 from Birmingham,  Dec 30, 2011

I enjoyed this book so much. I am not sure what I was expecting but it had a beautiful story and a heart warming ending.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One of the best books I have read in a long time!
 from North Carolina,  Dec 26, 2011

If you haven't read this book you need to! It really opened my eyes. An excellent book!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really good book.
 from Tampa/St. Pete area,  Dec 21, 2011

Enjoyed the book. My praise joins others. Transports back in time.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very entertaining and educational book
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  Dec 7, 2011

I have been on the waiting list at the library forever to read this book! I couldn't wait any longer once the movie came out. I knew O.co would have it in stock and at a good price. Of course, they did and I purchased it. So glad I did! The Help is a page-turner. Very well-written. I am only halfway through it and intend to finish it before I see the movie. I wanted to read it because it reminds me of my Grandmother, who was a housekeeper and a nanny. In her later years, she cleaned houses and was paid a whopping $12 per day! Once a month, my Mom would allow me to miss a day of schooI so I could accompany and help my Grandmother, in order to spend time with her. After the work was all done, we would go to lunch. I thought it was all great fun. The Help shows me my Grandmother's work through her eyes. I will also purchase the hardcover version to keep in my library. When I am done reading my copy, I am going to let my own granddaughter read it. The Help is a look back at the history of our nation, her people; and I want her to know about this era.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality for the price
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Help
 from Atlanta, Ga.,  Dec 6, 2011

The book was a gift purchase for someone else. I'm sure the person I purchased the book for was surprised by the gift, because they had to place their name on a list at the library for this book and they were told it was a 3 1/2 weeks wait. Overstock came through by sending the book within a week of ordering.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Almost exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SLOW shipping
 from SLC, UT,  Nov 6, 2011

Great book, but it took over 3 weeks to arrive at my mom's home. If you're thinking of ordering this as a holiday gift this year, better order now or it won't arrive in time. It's late arrival missed my mom's trip.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Book
 from Northcentral MO,  Oct 31, 2011

Great story --- not quite finished yet, but can't wait for the end!!!! Definitely worth reading!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very touching store
 from Columbia, SC,  Oct 12, 2011

Read the book before you see the movie. It's a slice of southern life that will make you probably understand the grits culture down here.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? About right
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Correct
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hard to put down
 from northern NJ,  Sep 27, 2011

Aside from waiting over two weeks to receive it, I thoroughly enjoyed the book and could hardly put it down. It's sometimes hard to believe that this existed not too long ago.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Identical
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the Help
 from Tn,  Sep 24, 2011

Loved the book, I was born in this era, but never had 'help', I had friends that did, but they were not treated like the women written about here. This is a great novel, hard to put down.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. paperback in excellent condition
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Book came within specified timeframe and in excellent condition. Good value. As described and delivery service good

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from CA,  Sep 21, 2011

I heard about this book the same way everyone else probably did... as it was remade into a movie. Haven't seen the movie yet and I've only actually gotten through half the book so far, but it is excellent. The author writes from multiple points of views. She easily switches from one character to the next and beautifully captures the colloquialisms of the period in old Mississippi. This book is painfully honest in illustrating the harshness of people's mentality during those years, but leaves the reader hopeful that it doesn't have to be that way!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great product at a great price!!!
 from Peachtree City, GA,  Sep 21, 2011

A great deal on a book that is in stores for a much higher price!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect!!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Took awhile to get....
 from Seattle, WA,  Sep 20, 2011

The book was in great condition & my friend loves it. It took almost 2 weeks to receive it....never had something take that long from Overstock before.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great book, but it did take a week or so to get it
 from Boston, Ma,  Sep 14, 2011

Great book, but it did take a week or so to get it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top