Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

 from Lynchburg, VA USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Will help your writing. Great tongue-in-cheek style in many of the examples. If you think you write well, you need this book!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best short writing style book
 from Tucson, AZ,  Feb 27, 2013

I buy multiples of this book to give to my students who are studying composition and English. A short, simple book on how to be a better writer. Truly a CLASSIC book. Price was fantastic on Overstock: I think I bought four.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Completely accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
for school
 from Carolina,  May 23, 2012

Helped me with my writing skills and I still use it from time to time

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very helpful
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great reference
 from Philadelphia, PA,  May 9, 2010

This reference book is a useful tool for effective writing. I started using it years ago for editing technical reports and letters. I just purchased numerous copies for my staff to help them brush up on their writing skills.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent resource
 from Fort Lauderdale, FL,  Feb 25, 2010

This book is an excellent resource to all types of writers. The book is straightforward and easy to use. I keep it handy in case I forget any rules of writing.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elements of Style
 from Rockmart, GA,  Feb 24, 2008

Great book for High School and College students. It has helped me a lot. My class also uses this book for essay help.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A classic that has some stong opinions
 from Indiana,  Jan 16, 2008

This classic tome on grammar and usage has been around for years. While some disagree with some stands the authors make, the overall lessons learned are essential to good language use.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elements of Style
 from California,  Jan 7, 2008

The book is very informative and useful if you are a writer, or just want to learn the elements of the English language. The shipping was extraordinarily fast. I literally got it the next day.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Book!
 from Rosedale, Virginia,  Sep 24, 2007

This is a very necessary companion if you are in college or simply need to brush up on your style of writing. Definitely recommend.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Strunk and White The Elements of Style
 from Virginia,  Apr 11, 2007

I have owned other Strunk and White Elements of Style in the past and I mistakingly expected this one to be up to par with the others. Unfortunately, that was not the case. There is much that is omitted from this edition that is pertinent and essential to those who are serious about writing. Perhaps if I had purchased one of the more expensive editions available on the site it would have been more conclusive. Thus, I need to remember the admonishment of my late father who always said, "You only get what you pay for." So, do yourself a favor and invest in the editions that are priced higher, but ensure they are a totally different edition than this one.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Elements of Style - Strunk & White
 from Chicago IL,  Aug 20, 2006

I have owned both the 2nd and 3rd editions of this fine reference. I recommend it for all who write, whether as novelists or for business communications "on the job." In fact, as part of an eight person department in a new job (and as witness to some frightful documents), I am buying a copy of the 4th edition for each of us. After I bought my first copy, this English language and grammar reference book has always been on my desk and used frequently.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from LA, CA,  Jan 30, 2006

Love this book! Love this website! Two thumbs up!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from auburn new york usa,  Jan 30, 2006

an excellent little book -- should be required for all college students and anyone else who writes

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Milwaukee, WI, USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Concise work about concise writing.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Los Angeles/CA,  Jan 30, 2006

Loved the book!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Boston/MA/US,  Jan 30, 2006

Smooth transaction. The book is also in a good condition.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top