Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 74 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
The Complete Calvin and Hobbes
 Feb 4, 2008

Wonderful collection! It's a very handsome set and made the perfect gift to the love of my life. She was absolutely floored when I gave it to her. The perfect gift for any Calvin and Hobbes fan.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Huge Calvin and Hobbs
 from Auburn, Maine,  Feb 2, 2008

I could only grant three stars, as what information do we actually learn about anything from Calvin and Hobbs? My son, 25, received this as a Christmas gift and was overwhelmed by the size. It is huge. When they say the Complete Calvin and Hobbs, make no mistake, it is complete. Think it comes in at around 20 pounds. If you're a fan, you will again enjoy Calvin's insight on life, everything revolves around him. Hobbs through no fault of his own, is forced to go along. The various snowmen and the babysitter strips are favorites. Wholeheartedly recommend to anyone in need of a chuckle.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Spaceman Spiff to the rescue!
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jan 20, 2008

How can you not love Calvin and Hobbes? Somehow, Bill Waterston manages to make a six-year-old's imaginary conversations with his stuffed tiger have substance, erudition (far beyond a typical grade schooler), and a wry sense of humor! You know that most kids in the third grade wouldn't even recognize these words as English, but Bill makes us suspend that bit of logic and follow Calvin's logic through to its often-tragic end. But Waterston doesn't leave the duo without supervision: he also keeps us in touch with Calvin's long-suffering parents (who remain sane and functional because they also have good imaginations and respond with their own sometimes-sarcastic wit), his teacher (who seems oblivious to the fact that Calvin sees her as as space alien enemy of Spaceman Spiff), and even his poor pediatrician. I admit that the entire 10-year run of comics was the reason I purchased the set (3 hardback volumes in a matching case), but a pleasant surprise was the forward from the artist, explaining how Calvin came to be and the struggles of getting him and his tiger pal in our newspapers' comic pages. Reading his explanation of his standard of excellence for the strip -- and his eventual ending of it to preserve this standard -- made me forgive him for that painful (on my part) act and admire him even more. BUY THIS SET!!!! It's a great item and this is a FANTASTIC price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved by everyone
 from Gulf Coast,  Jan 19, 2008

I got this for my daughter and my husband. We have all been taking turns reading through the volumes. I am going to purchase this for my brother, too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Complete Calvin And Hobbes
 from columbia, sc,  Jan 12, 2008

I own many of the separate calvin and hobbes books and it's great to have a collection like this that gives the date for each strip. over 1200 pages of laughs. a must have for c&h fans.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Calvion and hobbes complete volume
 from Minnesota,  Jan 10, 2008

Good product and fast delivery! The books are new and superb. Thanks overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Washington DC,  Jan 4, 2008

I got this gift for my brother who's recently become a fan and he loves it! Great gift and the best value I could find anywhere.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Calvin and Hobbs
 from Virginia,  Jan 1, 2008

This collection of books came in excellent condition and right on time for the holidays. It was a present to my bf and he enjoys reading them over and over. I would definitely suggest this to any Calvin and Hobbs lover out there!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
classic funny paper fun
 from Arkanas,  Dec 30, 2007

The complete Calvin & Hobbes! Unlike the paperback editions that cherry picked and passed over some great panels, this three volume set covers all of Bill Waterston's classic comic strip. I have to give major kudos to the printer for the highest resolution printing I've yet to see from any collection like this. The B&W panels are crisp and clear and the Sunday panels have definition and colour that was lost in the newspapers and in the paperback editions. All are in heavy hardbound, sewn books, which in turn are in a heavy clothbound slipcase. If you are a C&H fan, don't pass this one up!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the Complete Calvin and Hobbes
 from ia,  Dec 28, 2007

Wonderful Colllection! The Books arrived very quickly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Calvin & Hobbs
 Dec 26, 2007

This set was ordered for my 10 yr. old grandson who fell over on the floor in a dramatic show of disbelief and pleasure.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Complete Calvin & Hobbes
 from Shelby Township, MI,  Dec 25, 2007

This was a Christmas gift for my Dad. He is a BIG Calvin & Hobbes fan. I received this set last Christmas, and my Dad wished he would have gotten one. Big surprise this Christmas for him. The price, speed of delivery, and the shape the book set was received was better than ever expected. As a matter of fact, I order a table from Overstock; can't wait till I receive it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very quick
 from WI,  Dec 22, 2007

The book set arrived much sooner than expected. Which was a good thing since it is a Christmas gift. Came boxed perfectly and no damage. couldn't be happier. Price was cheaper than anywhere else I could find.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hours of fun
 from Boulder, CO,  Dec 20, 2007

What an awesome collection. My 7 year old son and I bonded over these comics. It's advanced enough for me and silly enough for him to keep us both entertained. A great way to bond with father/son humor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
yay
 from MA,  Dec 19, 2007

I am very satisfied with this purchase. It was a gift, so I can't comment on the books themselves, but i do know that they are 20 pounds and that they were shipped very safely and in good condition so that I was not embarrssed to give as a gift.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
complete calvin and hobbes
 Dec 17, 2007

A nice buy for any Calvin and Hobbes fan. The boxed set is nicely done, and beautiful. It is heavier then it looks though a little too heavy too carry around but if you plan to read them at home, a good addition to the home library.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It could hardly be any better
 from West Memphis, Arkansas,  Dec 15, 2007

First, if you don't know Calvin & Hobbes, then you should. This consistently makes me laugh out loud like no other literary work I have ever had the pleasure to read. If you like Calvin & Hobbes, then you must have this set. Wonderfully constructed volumes are worth the dough, and every (yes, *every*) syndicated comic is present here in the nice, large format to which we fans have become accustomed. How could it be made better? 1) The volumes are *huge* and unwieldy. Women, have your significant other nearby if you want to manipulate these, definitely not fit for reading in bed. 2) The color introductions to the previous hardbound volumes are not included. They were of questionable humor value, but should have been included. 3) There *have* been a few textual edits of the original comics. I would have greatly preferred the original (and more humorous) wording in those few instances. Overall, these are *very* minor quibbles. Just having all the comics, dated and in order of appearance, is worth the price. Add to that the afore-mentioned excellent construction, and this is easily a bargain.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Huge, heavy, super nice quality set!
 from Tennessee,  Dec 14, 2007

I bought this set for my son for Christmas. He loves Calvin and Hobbes and this is the ultimate set to own. A really nice, high quality and very heavy set of books. Not as easy to carry around the house as the paperbacks we have but perfect for the collector as these beautifully bound books will last forever. This value is better then any other I've seen and the price imprinted on the box by the manufacturer says 150.00. You can not beat the price and overstock ships super quick. Highly recommend it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
calvin & hobbs
 from Hamilton, MT,  Dec 13, 2007

This product was in perfect condition and at the best price I found.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Complete Review
 from Wellington, CO,  Dec 9, 2007

This collection is for the true hard-core Calvin and Hobbes fans, as well as for those who are kids at heart. I remember reading these cartoons as a teenager, and now have a totally different perspective as a parent. I see the "qualities" of Calvin in my 6 year old son and my wife and I can understand Calvin's parents. My thanks to Overstock.com for offering this collection at a truly unbeatable price. Brick and mortar stores were overpriced by at least 2x the Overstock.com price. Thank you.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 74 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought