Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 67 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Set Not in Good Shape
 from Lowcountry, SC,  Sep 16, 2006

I had long wanted this collection but couldn't justify the price for something so seemingly silly. Found Overstock's lower price and had a discount code so I jumped on it. The slipcase was trashed! It was gouged and ripped and will soon be unserviceable as it gets worse any time a book is removed. I've tried to tape it to prevent this but it's a losing battle. The set looks as if it came from a used book seller. I was so disappointed. The books have something on the covers which may be mold or mildew. It doesn't wipe off. This particular item a huge disappointment for me. The only positive is that it's Calvin and Hobbes!! I wish Overstock had been a little more honest about the shape the collection would arrive in but perhaps mine is an aberration and they're not all like that. If so, I take exception with Overstock sending out something in that kind of shape.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Gift
 from Fl,  Jun 13, 2007

I bought this set as a gift for my husband. It arrived in perfect condition, and we are both enjoying it. Be aware, though, that this is the complete set of NEWSPAPER comics, not the books.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wow
 from Jesup, GA,  Dec 12, 2006

I admit a previous review gave me alot of concern. Given Overstock's return policy I thought I would give a it try anyway. My set was in mint condition with the sleeve also wrapped in shrink wrap. The books are huge and beautiful. The picture does not give it justice.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Calvin and Hobbes
 from Houston, TX,  May 21, 2008

I purchased this for my husband and he loves it! His only concern is that the books are glued together instead of sewn, so the pages can come out easier. However, it has all of the comic books, and is in a larger print, making it easier to read. I would have liked more information about the quality of the product. The pages look great and will hopefully stay that way. It was also great that it came as quickly as it did. Overstock really was the cheapest too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Calvin & Hobbes
 Apr 13, 2007

Over all it was a great value. There was some damage to the books, but I guess that's why I got such a good price.?.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
calvin and hobbes
 Dec 12, 2006

This is great. It makes a terrific Christmas gift.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great collection, would definitely recommend
 from Manhattan, NY,  Oct 3, 2014

Removing one star for the quality of Overstock.com packaging. The box it came in was ripped open in parts. There was not proper padding so the corners of the collectible sleeve were smashed in.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Calvin and Hobbes Compendium
 from Salt Lake City, Utah,  Aug 18, 2014

love the book, beautiful quality and nicely bound hardback. my only concern is that I ordered a CD at the same time and they both arrived loosely packed and in the same box. thankfully the album wasn't damaged and the book seemed to be in fine condition as well.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Always a good read, never gets old.
 from Jefferson, MD,  Jan 7, 2014

If you're a Calvin and Hobbes fan, this is a must! This was the best price around on the hardcover edition.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Must have
 from Ft hood, Tx,  Oct 13, 2013

Loved it perfect quality great color and quality. I have alway wanted it and at this price its a steal.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Calvin & Hobbes
 from Oh,  May 25, 2012

Most enjoyable! Printing and presentation is first class. Makes this old guy feel a bit youthful.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good.....for the money
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Steady service
 from Louisville, KY,  Mar 20, 2012

I loved that my husband reminded me to check online regarding prices of this collection. In the bookstore, it was about $40 more. O.co has really good prices. The delivery wasn't lightning speed, but it wasn't late. The box was a little beat up, but the product inside wasn't damaged. I would recommend more packing material, but again, I am VERY happy with my product, service and price. Thanks, O.co!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Just as pictured
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of delivered product is excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice set
 from NJ,  Jan 6, 2012

The graphics on outbox sleeve & the product quality appeared extremely nice; did not open the set as my husband(his gift) decided he wanted to return it; but had no issue with the way item was packaged or received; no smashed corners on the packaging that could be seen without being opened; can't comment on the quality of the book cover or pages of books.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. appeared extremely nice
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Complete Calvin and Hobbes
 from Nederland, Tx,  Jan 5, 2012

Bought this item as a Christmas gift. Was very well received!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfectly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? extremely
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great product
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bf loved it
 from CA,  Dec 16, 2011

Product arrived as described and it was birthday gift for my bf and he loved it!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. New
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Service.
 from Florida,  Nov 28, 2011

I got very good service. I had a question and called the phone support and was very satisfied with the response. The item shipped on time.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was the same.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's Calvin and Hobbs, need I say more?
 from Texas,  Oct 17, 2011

My husband asked for this collection and it has been a big hit. He uses his mind for high level work all day everyday and this is a great diversion for him to sit and relax for a few minutes. He has started with the first volume and working his way to the end. I'm sure he will start over when finished.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Calvin&Hobbes Complete
 from Albuquerque, NM,  Sep 28, 2011

Got this item for my husband who loves Calvin & Hobbes as a gift. It was exactly what I wanted. He absolutely loves the set. Not to mention that the price was way lower than anything I've seen for this same box set. It came brand new and still wrapped. For the Calvin & Hobbes fan, it's the ultimate collection. It also has a lot of the history of the strip and how it evolved in the beginning of the volumes, which is really interesting. I was very happy with the product & service that I received from Overstock.com

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Laughed till the tears ran!
 from Ct,  Apr 29, 2011

Calvin is stll a scream his imaginary world is amazing! Its fabulous to have them all. I'm in the midlle of Volume 1,and I'm taking my sweet time!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lowest price ANYWHERE
 from West Hartford, CT,  Apr 5, 2011

I bought this as a gift for my son. I looked everywhere, including bidding on a number of sets on Ebay. This was BY FAR the lowest price for this set. It came with the wrapping in tact and I got it very quickly. BEWARE the box is REALLY heavy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 67 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top